We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and golf”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel and golf”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Recently stayed at Marwell hotel with a couple of mates for a golf break. The hotel and golf were fantastic...

Excellent food and service in the restaurant plus a very comfortable bar where we spent a little too much time.

A fantastic time was had by all and we will be back.

Many thanks,
James

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    428
    254
    111
    66
See reviews for
359
424
31
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Understaffed, broken fridges in all three rooms, hairdryer last PAT tested in '93 and crap, chairs in reception are v dirty and worn. My bathroom was old and smelled of sewage. Nephew was stuck in his bathroom, staff had no clue how to deal with it, made us feel like we were being unreasonable in insisting they try to get him out.

Sauna didn't work and jacuzzi had a sharp, broken tile, so I nearly cut my foot.

Only good factor was good food but rooms are RIDICULOUSLY overpriced!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppyrhino2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Easrbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Good size well maintained rooms and public areas.Well described whe booking was made.The restaurant offered excellent food and the kitchen was willing and able to cater for a wide amount of changes. The restaurant staff were very helpful and gave superior service.

Room Tip: Do not demand just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My wife and I were visiting Marwell for a family wedding to be held nearby. We had gotten a great 2 B&B night deal at £90 in total for the whole weekend, via the hotel mailing list! Bargain! We checked in late to our room, and found the staff and service to be excellent throughout. A night cap was ordered via room service, which was both prompt and polite.

The room itself was a bit of a mixture. Whilst the room was large, it was a bit stuffy. Old fashioned cane furniture did seem a little out of place, and not really the sort of furniture I would expect in a room. The lovely patterned upholstered furniture to be found in the bar area, or in the communal areas would be far more appropriate. Secondly the room did need a coat of new paint and a general refurbishment, especially the bathroom. The shower was not up to scratch and clearly had not been cleaned in some time. The water flow was poor and the temperature hard to control. The room, and the hotel as a whole appeared to have taken the 'On Safari' theme a bit far, and now appeared tired and dated. The faux animal print style curtains and zebra pattern style bathroom tiles are examples of this. Also, the view from our room was disappointing, which appeared to be some ill kept grounds, a staff car park, the laundry room and a shipping container. On a more positive note, the bedroom was comfortable, and the bed was excellent. The TV had all the basic terrestrial channels and a few free-view channels, but I didn't watch much TV except for the news and Match of the Day. Apart from a bit of noise from a wedding party, I slept like a log on both nights. The room also benefited from a reasonably strong free wi-fi broadband signal, a real must in this day and age. To pay extra for this would have been a bit galling, and I was surprised by the speed and reliable connection. Being a bit techy, I noticed that there were BT wireless routers dotted around the hotel complex, which fed signal to the safari lodge style pavilions and rooms rooms. Great Stuff!

On to the restaurant. We didn't eat in the evening so I cannot comment on the evening menu. We ate breakfast, which was a self service buffet. A good range of cereals, muesli and concentrated fruit juices are available. I'd prefer fresh but you can't have everything. The cooked breakfast was OK, with the usual fare. The sausages were excellent but the bacon and scrambled eggs were below par. On the second day I opted for poached eggs, available upon request and cooked freshly. These were excellent. The coffee and tea was also very good. Again, the service was very good, with polite, helpful and well turned out staff. On a slightly negative note, the breakfast room was a bit tatty, with the ever present cane furniture and a well worn carpet that has seen better days.

Next the leisure facilities. I am a keen swimmer and often swim early in the day so I thought I would use the pool. The changing rooms were small and cold, with no shower facilities. There was only one male toilet and this needed some serious refurbishment...the loo would not flush at all. Unhygienic and embarrassing. I quickly changed. The pool was small and no more than 12 metres at it's widest point. It was not of a shape that made it good for strong swimmers to enjoy, only for casual swimming or children. Still it was very clean and at a pleasant temperature, and as I was the only swimmer...as still as a mill pond. Lovely. There was a spa bath, which was half empty and appeared to contain green water, so I avoided it. I did not use the Sauna, but this appeared to be in good working order. The gym consisted of a tiny side room with two tired looking treadmills. Disappointing. The only showers were of the standard communal push button type, so I showered later on in my room.

Overall we enjoyed a pleasant stay and slept well, which when you have had a busy day is all you can ask for. The hotel was great value at the deal price, but not at the full price of £140 a night. Some of the budget hotel chains would be cleaner and more modern, but with less character and worse service. We would probably stay again as it is comfortable and so close to family and friends. Sadly we didn't have time to visit the Marwell Wildlife Park, but I would do so on another occasion. Most reasonable people would enjoy a stay there, but you will have to live with the fact that it does need some refurbishment throughout.

Room Tip: Sign up for the mailing list and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielbilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed at the Marwell as part of a package playing the courses at nearby East Horton golf club.
The hotel seems to be a prefabricated structure with a lot of wood. It fitted in well with the surroundings. Public rooms bar and restaurant were smart and comfortable. Bedrooms were a little more dated. Coloured bathroom suites. Showers were difficult to adjust to the right temperature. That said, each room had a balcony and a staircase down into the grounds. It was reasonably spacious. The bedrooms and grounds could do with sprucing up a bit.
A good buffet breakfast was included, Fried eggs and Marmite did not seem to be offered. Tea was in generous sized pots.
Evening meal offered a choice of three items as part of our package. These items did not change over the course of the weekend Sea bass, pork, or vegetarian option. A la carte was available at extra cost. That said, both the bass and pork were very tasty as was the Summer pudding. A very good English cheese board was available. Extra vegetables were expensive. Chips were in a tiny container - insufficient for one person in all honesty.
Bar offered a pint of lager at £3.50 which was reasonable. You are not within walking distance of a pub at the hotel
When we stayed there lots of families with pre school children and a wedding party on the Saturday night. Marwell is not near anything much, apart from the zoo. You would need a car. Though we passed bus stops on the way in, I did not actually see a bus during our stay.
Golfers may be interested to know that there was sufficient variety in the two courses and par three course. One of the courses is hard walking - a buggy would be useful. The other is flat with a lot of ditchs. All were in good condition though play may be slow depending on who is in front of you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TisPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
673 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,163 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I visited the hotel restaurant as non-residents, impressed by the sample menu shown on the hotel web-site. The restaurant is a large, modern and airy room. The decoration is white and pinewood, with cane furniture. The Maitre D' was welcoming and friendly, as were all the waiting staff. We were offered a choice of home-made breads and opted for a splendid walnut bread, freshly baked and still warm. The table linen was crisp and of high quality. We both started with a dish of New Forest wild mushrooms, goat's cheese, pine nuts and red pepper sauce (£5.25). The wild mushrooms were full of flavour and served between two portobello mushrooms. It was an intriguing dish to eat and very enjoyable. We continued with Gressingham duck, served with apple mashed potato, shredded cabbage in a cream sauce, a half-pear, and a red jus (£14.95). We had asked for this to be served pink and the Maitre D' had ensured with the chef that this would be the case. The duck was unusually tender, not particularly flavourful for this type of meat, but still very tasty. We both enjoyed the course. To drink, we ordered 250ml glasses of Chilean sauvignon blanc (£5.85). The wine waiter asked if we would like it to be served in one go or in two halves, one for each course. We opted for the second alternative and this proved to be the right choice because the wine was very generously poured on both occasions. All in all, we greatly enjoyed our first visit to the hotel that stands alongside the famous Marwell Zoo park. As far as their restaurant is concerned, we are very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Very good service starting with the welcome smile, polite and friendly reception and courtesy. The room was excellent. Just what we needed after a rather bad (noisy) experience the previous night in another hotel. The beds were very comforatable and all the services one would expect were there.It was so quiet, we slept like logs.
Good breakfast in the morning and my gluten free diet adequately catered for. Evening meal was delicious. We didn't have time to see the zoo but will make sure we have time for that on our next visit. The only slight negative was the need in some places for a touch of paint but hey ho, who cares with such good service, good food and very good prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,711 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing