We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Business stay for one night in a family room with 1 double and 1 single bed..overlooked the woods, thick heavy drapes suggested quality. Really comfy bed and duvet. Smallish flat screen tv offered decent selection of freeview channels including film 4 and full choice of radio stations. Shower controls little bit tricky but nice and hot and decent pressure. Quilted toilet paper and bio type toiletries supplied and towels were fine. Yes corridors are freezing but in your room there is an adjustable radiator and the bar/restaurant was adequately heated. Buffet style breakfast offered cereals/fruit juices/toast/nice bread and some pastries. Cooked breakfast orders were taken at your table and porridge was available. My coffee wasn't the best. Pleasant reception staff. Wouldn't hesitate to return when next in area . Although offered excellent value in February, I imagine rates creep up in the summer months due to the next door zoo.

Room Tip: Websites say wifi is £8 but it was free whilst I was there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    434
    258
    113
    66
See reviews for
366
428
31
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

For the money you are paying for the room, you would expect a few things to work. The rooms are very basic and outdated, the tv is tiny, there is no minibar, no aircon, no working safe and the heating doesn't work. We arrived late on the coldest night of the year and our central heating wasn't working and they had put a portable heater in our room which had been on so long that the plug socket had burned and melted. We were tired and it was late, so we didn't ask to move. The next morning we woke up shivering, freezing cold to breakfast in our room which was awful. The toast was cold, coffee warm, scrambled agg was powdered, half a raw tomato, the list goes on and on. The night before the only food room service could serve was a ham sandwich. To be fair when we compained they fixed the central heating. They also put a new portable heater in our room. If you were paying holiday inn prices, fair enough but for a 4* hotel, which isn't cheap, it is shocking. On a final note, we think the hotel is living on a reputation it may have had a long time ago. On the plus side, the zoo is close, right next door and there is free parking.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else with your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Thanks to all the staff at Marwell Hotel, we had the most amazing wedding day.

The staff were fantastic with 60 guests to feed, the food was amazing and hot. All our friends & family commented on how wonderful it was. The staff could not be more helpful and made us feel like VIP's all day. This made our day even more magical.

The Wedding Co-Ordinator, Kelly was amazing, as was the venue. All our family and friends loved the venue and enjoyed our special day which could not have been accomplished without the staff at the hotel.

The Bridal Room was lovely and we were glad we stayed in the Hotel. Many of our friends and family also stayed at the hotel and loved the rooms and first class breakfast in the morning.

I am looking forward to our first anniversary when we will be booking back into the hotel for evening meal and overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Visited in beggining of the new year. Second visit here on a discounted rate as the first visit was not uo to par. We had a great time. We booked the 2 night zoo package and it was great dinner and breakfast included with the children is best. Will return.

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AANYAA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

i've been meaning to write this review for forever!! we stayed there summer last year, i think it was £59 b&b fir two if us!! i cannot express enough how much you got for your money. yes room was spacious, bed comfy, bathroom clean, breakfast brilliant, and use of pool and jacuzzi!! dinner wasn't included, but i would recommend eating in the restaurant 10 times out of 10, the food was lovely!! its a short drive to winchester. we stayed there because of a wedding in andover. would def stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Arrived on a Saturday to find I had been booked in for Friday? this was quite embarrassing as this was suppose to be a nice get away for my partner and myself. The gentleman on reception was very professional and did manage to sort out our booking, we then went into the room, to find the bathroom was tired small, and grimy, the bed was lumpy and the room just was very dated and warn out.

When back to reception to explain this wasn’t the room I had though I would of got as I had booked a superior (Upgrade room) The Receptionist then informed me we were in the wrong room and we moved, this room was slightly better with a slightly more modern bathroom but the bed was awful, we both had the worst night sleep, The Bed doesn’t appear to have a proper mattress but more like a foam sponge, with a plastic protector sheet which meant you sunk into it, and stuck to the bed! We both came away with backache!

Dinner that evening we went into the dining room, the waitress are very nice and very attentive and service was quite efficient with not too much of a wait for food. There wasn’t a lot to choose from the menu unless of course you like Pheasant, Pigeon then you’re in your element. Food portions are also disappointing, I work in the industry so I know what to expect, but the food portions look more like tasting plates, My partner even had to go to the extremes of asking for more bread as he was still hungry! And the price definitely doesn’t reflect the amount you receive (Very Very Overpriced)

Breakfast the next day was much better then evening meal, more to choose from, and you could pick what you wanted – We both couldn’t fault breakfast!

We were also disappointed with the fact the leisure facilities were closed as were hoping to use these which was another reason why we booked.

Overall we both were very disappointed, this was meant to be a relaxing romantic break which we had been looking forward to, just a shame the expectations weren’t met!

Room Tip: Get a full description of the room before booking to avoid dissapointment as the pictures of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Original choice was based on price, Cheapest in the area.
Very nice surprise on arrival - Staff were great, Hotel has a pleasent atmosphere. Rooms are a bot dates and could do with decorating but other than that Fantastic. Would deffinately stay again.
Small Gym Pool and Sauna on site- which was welcome after a hard day.
Note - It's out in the sticks - Took about 15 Minutes to drive back toward the Airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribs160379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,738 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing