We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family hotel”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for just one night. Clearly this is a wedding hotel, and it can be a little noisy at night (the music is quite loud as their soundproofing in the function room either needs improving, or as I think, some needs installing!).

As for a room furthest away from the function room, that should minimise the noise.

That said, overall I think this is a nice place to stay. The hotel is a little quirky (which I like), as it is laid out in an interesting way with a long glass corridor over the gardens that lead to gropings of rooms, that are trying to look "safari" like. The rooms are spacious, with ours having a good double bed and a twin bunk for the kids, and plenty of room so you don't get on top of each other. There is a swimming pool (sauna etc as well) which is a nice thing to have when you have kids. The pool is not massive, but good enough for a splash around and keep the kids happy.

We did not eat at night there, but the breakfast was excellent. A good choice buffet breakfast, with good quality bacon, sausage etc - no complaints there at all.

Good location, next to the Marwell park, and also for the wider area.

I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the function room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorktraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    422
    251
    109
    66
See reviews for
355
419
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Marwell for 3 nights from 3rd June. The room originally allocated was in serious need of refurbishment but we were moved to a much better one as soon as we asked. The hotel clearly depends heavily on its wedding trade - there were two whilst we were there - and this can create bottleneck issues. We were put into a "holding pattern" for breakfast on one morning because the restaurant was full. The staff worked hard to keep up but the service did suffer when there were so many people to look after and of course some priority was given to the wedding parties which resulted in a delayed, then incorrect, food order for my 8-year old daughter one evening. The staff seemed unaware of the discount arrangement for tickets for Marwell Wildlife too, as we discovered when we were told tickets could only be bought at the park but staff there said we were entitled to a residents' discount. The food was good enough though we saw a taster menu advertised for later this summer which we thought a little optimistic. Small but good swimming pool, committed staff and surroundings that ought to be a real plus but the outdoor areas were under-developed and barely used. With some imagination, and real investment, the Marwell could be very good indeed.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our Daughter and son in law were married and had their reception at this hotel. The staff were great offering every service availible readily. The only problem encountered was that the wedding was at 3pm and several guests could not have their rooms before this time. We managed by doubling up to get ready etc. I suggest that a few more chamber maids would make a huge difference. Having said this we all had a wonderful day and breakfast was a real social gathering too. The rooms are all much larger than usual and have a double and large single in each. Great for family groups. We all loved our stay at the hotel which although not pristine was clean and and had a great feel good factor. Would readily stay again.

Room Tip: If you have problem with one flight of stairs ask for ground floor as there were not lifts but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here late last year on business, what a lovely setting. If you require a quiet getaway this is it. Wasted on me on my own but the gardens were superb as was location. Quite a walk to the rooms but again you got to see exactl;y where you were staying. Quieter bar area updstairs which was nice. Food was of a good standard, slightly pricey but you get what you pay for. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Absolutely exceptional hotel. Stayed for 2 nights for a superb family wedding. Faultless - the room was superb, all the staff are VERY helpful & attentive - nothing is too much bother. The food was excellent & the Wedding itself amazing. ..... Look no further for a wonderful day. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfCityUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Have just returned from 3 nights at the hotel and after reading some reviews we nearly cancelled but am so glad we didn't. Room was lovely (101) and large and totally suited us as travellers with a young child. Pictures on this website of the bathroom totally didn't match up with what we had so please ignore them. Staff were very friendly and pool was lovely. Our only gripe would be that the hotel seems to cater more for weddings then hotel guests, there was wedding on two nights and although we were not affected by the noise of music, there were a few noisy guests outside our room, our main point would be that on returning to the hotel on one evening the wedding party had overspilled to the front of the hotel, with guests all on the entrance stairs making it intimidating for our little girl to walk through, then on entering the hotel we felt like we were gate crashing the wedding and didn't get a drink at the bar as this was full of wedding guests even though they have a bar in the function room...maybe management need to ensure wedding guests don't take over the public bar. Breakfast on all 3 days was great with plenty of choice. We stayed here as a base for Peppa pig world and is ideal distance, as for travelling distance to the zoo....2 minutes walk and you're there. Definitely worth a vist.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and check if your room has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

May 3rd we had a family wedding at the Marwell Hotel and it was wonderful. With unusual themed surroundings this hotel is tasteful and unique. It has an exotic feel to it which is not over done. The long glass corridors take you to the wooded chalet type rooms, all spacious and with a balcony and doors to the natural surroundings outside. Huge beds, clean bathrooms and plenty of space.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, from the room staff, to waiters and wedding staff.
The food was very nice although some portions were actually so small it made us laugh.
I would certainly stay here again, some of the décor is a little tired but its so friendly I would forgive it that!
No red tape of 'jobs-worths' here, just helpful REAL people.

Room Tip: If you are staying as a large group ask to all be in the same area, its great fun that way with link...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkEyedMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing