We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent one nights stay at Marwell Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent one nights stay at Marwell Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Highly recommend staying at Marwell Hotel, lovely location in the woods, the reception was great, the rooms were spacious. Nice touch of leaving activity books on the kids beds. Dinner and breakfast were of a very good quality. The staff were very helpful and friendly, overall I can't fault our stay (even if it was for one night)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gusb4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear gusb4059,

Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you had a fantastic stay with us at Marwell Hotel.

We are pleased you took pleasure in our lovely woodland surroundings and enjoyed our location.

Here at Marwell Hotel we are very family orientated and we feel it is important to welcome children and offer a range of activities to make their stay enjoyable. It is wonderful to hear that the activity packs we provided were enjoyed.

We are delighted your dining experiences were pleasant and of good quality and that all the staff you encountered were friendly and helpful over your stay. High customer service is of great importance to us.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope you will revisit us very soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    415
    241
    105
    66
See reviews for
344
413
29
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having previously stayed in the hotel and really enjoyed it I decided to go for the executive suite for my wife's 50th birthday. The room was lovely with a big massive bed and just the place to relax and chill out after the stresses of the working week. The food at the bar and breakfast in the morning was really good. However I booked as an extra chocolates to be in the room for us on arrival but there was none, I spoke to the front desk when we went down to eat and he apologised and would sort it out for me. On arrival back to our room 6 chocolate balls were on the dressing table. My wife and I will certainly be going back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Dougie S,

Thank you for your lovely comments; we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Marwell Hotel.

We are pleased you chose one of our executive rooms as a special treat for your wife’s 50th birthday and found them very relaxing. They certainly are lovely rooms and we are proud of their modern finish and high quality luxuries within them.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a good dining experience with us, both at dinner and breakfast. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and we are lucky to receive fantastic comments about our breakfasts.

We apologise for the confusion with the chocolates but we are happy we could resolve this situation.

We are thrilled you will consider us for future stays and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

Thank you again

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely location,feels like your a million miles away,great room if you get the ones that arent standard,breakfast was nice,like that you can have it delivered to your room for a small fee ,would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi-lillyBlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Emi-lillyBlap,

Thank you for your lovely comments; we are pleased you had a relaxing stay with us here at Marwell Hotel.

We are glad you took pleasure in our tranquil woodland settings. We benefit from such a beautiful natural setting and feel it is important to highlight this in the personality of our hotel.

We are hoping to complete further stages of our renovation process soon, which will enable all our bedrooms to be refreshed to high standards like those of our executive rooms which have recently been completed.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and room service. We feel it is the perfect added touch to a relaxing stay to be able to take breakfast in the comfort of your own room.

It is fantastic to hear you would recommend us as a hotel and we would like to thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future for yet another lovely stay.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Went with my partner and baby. We brought extra tickets with the Hotel to visit the Zoo but when we arrived at the hotel the reception staff didn't seem to have a clue. If your going with a baby there aren't enough plug sockets in the room and it gets very stuffy very quickly.

The fire alarm went off twice in a space of an hour between 7-8pm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Alice C,

Thank you for your feedback, we very much appreciate this as an important way of helping us to improve our service to our guests.

Please accept our apologies for the confusion with the zoo tickets at reception. We can include tickets for the zoo to all our guests, for a supplement. We have checked your reservation and see that you booked via a third party and that the request did not come through to us for the zoo tickets. We are unsure as to why this happened but will check that the application to add zoo tickets is working correctly via this site. We do recommend that you contact the hotel directly regarding bookings as this way we can always ensure that any special requests or additions are dealt with most efficiently.

We are sorry to hear that you felt there were not enough plug sockets. Reception can provide a multi-plug to resolve this issue if it were to arise. If you stay with us again in the future, please do feel free to contact our team for anything that would make your stay more comfortable - we are always happy to help.

We offer eight bedrooms fitted with air conditioning so please feel free to request these for any future stays with us - we want your stay with us to always be a pleasure and are keen to ensure that our guests are always comfortable and have a good night's sleep.

We apologise for the fire alarm sounding. Unfortunately this was out of our control, however we hope we resolved the issue quickly and with minimal disturbance.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will return to us for a future stay to regain confidence in our service here at Marwell Hotel.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

booked this hotel for a night away and catch with a friend. when we arrived we had a pleasant chap who was very professinal. the room i think it was in the giraffe wing was at the back. the room was modern with a caftiere and also home made brownie and fruit . we had dinner there with a nice bottle of red. the food was i thought very nice. It was nice to wake up in the morning and here the woodpeckers. We went for a swim in the small pool and had a very nice help yourself buffet breakfast. People have commented that it is tired . Our room was very modern , the hotel had a quirky feel to it andI would deffinately reconmend it to a friend. also visited the zoo worth a visit too

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltsworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear wiltsworker,

Thank you for your positive comments, we are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Marwell Hotel.

We are pleased to hear all of our staff were pleasant and professional - our staff are huge assets to the service you receive.

We believe you stayed in one of our 10 executive rooms, which have recently been renovated to a high standard. These rooms are lovely, modern bedrooms benefiting from lovely extra touches. We are hoping to complete all of our bedrooms to this standard in the near future.

We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experiences, and had a nice breakfast. We pride ourselves on the standard of food we offer, which is locally sourced, where possible.

It was great you were able to indulge our leisure facilities.

We are fortunate in our location with the organic woodland surrounding and wildlife. We are delighted this was highlighted over your stay and that you could enjoy the Zoo as your daytime activity.

We thank you again for your kind words and we wish to welcome you back in the near future to Marwell Hotel.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Cobwebs everywhere. Stains on bedding. Package deal which was for valentines weekend. Evening meal very poor as portion size was that of a child. Room service better. Breakfast terrible with substandard hot options. Scrambled egg was more like runny baby sick. All in all very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear fjg76,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Marwell Hotel.

We are very sorry to hear your stay with us was less than satisfactory.

It is an embarrassment there were stains on your bedding. Regular bedroom spot checks are carried out to ensure thorough cleanliness and service throughout the hotel, so we are unsure why these had not been noticed on this spot check. Please be assured your comments have been passed to our housekeeping department and we apologise again for the inconvenience.

It is a great shame your dining experience was less than great. We receive many positive comments usually and we are unsure why consistency was not present, especially as we had so many positive comments from those who attended our Valentine's dinner, however we are investigating with our head chef further.

Again, we are sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, however we hope you will revisit in the near future to regain faith in our service.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

There are some pretty unimpressed reviews on trip advisor, but I took my girlfriend on a valentines weekend to Marwell Hotel hoping that they were just written by people who will never be impressed by anything.

I was right. Hotel was brilliant, comfy, clean, pretty good size, and brilliant location for the zoo. We took advantage of their valentine's package deal with the special meal, which was unbelievable. The food was incredible, and the staff were so kind.

The glass corridors, that many seem to dislike, were actually a great touch. The grounds weren't best shape when we went, simply because it was winter, but in the summer this would have been a great view.

Again, the staff are brilliant. Had many good chats with the bar staff in the later hours, which made it a perfect way to relax after a day at the zoo.

Would really recommend this Hotel. We had no issues at all, but I had an overwhelming suspicion that if we had, it would have been sorted instantly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RobinJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear RobinJ6,

Thank you for your great feedback! We are so pleased that you had a thoroughly enjoyable Valentine’s weekend with us.

Trip Advisor reviews are very important to us and we appreciate everyone’s comments as they help us to improve our service. We also believe many of our guests rely on previous reviews as assurance before they book.

We are glad that you felt our hotel was comfortable and all our staff made you feel welcome. Our staffs are all great assets to our hotel and we pride ourselves on offering friendly customer service excellence.

Furthermore, we are pleased that you found your dining experiences incredible. Food is very important to us so we are delighted by your comments.

We benefit from organic surroundings, and we are looking forward to all the wild flowers blooming in the next few months. We hope you will return to enjoy them as the summer months are beautiful. We are also very lucky with our location and many of our guests take advantage of the zoo as it is great day out.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we do hope we will be welcoming you back in the near future to Marwell Hotel.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
5.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing