We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marwell Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$138
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Giffard House(Winchester)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,349)
Filter reviews
1,349 results
Traveller rating
378
475
296
124
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
475
296
124
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari lodgeglass corridorszoo ticketssky tvswimming poolunusual hotelgroupon dealpatio doorsbar menuleisure facilitiessuperior roomtravel cotfunction roomwedding venuedouble bedcourse mealstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 1,349 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

On arrival the hotel looks quirky & well presented then as soon as you leave reception it is a downhill slide, the corridors are freezing and dirty and just feels as if the place needs a cheer up, the room we had was far enough away from the entrance but sadly the meeting room up above appeared to be hosting steel booted elephants walking about, a call to reception eventually stopped this but then we were hit by the wedding function in the evening, had we had been told this was on we would never have booked that night, so much for a quiet stay, after another complaint at 11:00pm we were moved to another room, granted it was a much better one but the upheaval of moving everything already unpacked was enough to spoil the stay completely, the last kick came in the morning when the bath took too long to fill and was cold and the shower cold hardly muster a trickle, the whole experience was a massive disappointment, it could have been and should have been so much better.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if you want a peaceful stay
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJHSwaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear GJHSwaine,

We are so sorry that your stay was less than satisfying and that a number of issues occurred during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. Your comments are taken into account to help us improve our standards and offer high customer service.

In relation to the corridors, we do find the weather is a huge factor on the corridor's appearance. It looks completely different on a summer's day when the sun is shining and the flowers have bloomed as compared to when the weather is dull. The glass corridors are designed so that our guests may appreciate our natural surroundings and plenty of natural daylight. We only wish that all our guests may experience this on a beautiful summer's day, when it really does look spectacular.

It is with deep regret that the wedding party caused disturbance to your stay and we understand your frustration with moving late at night but we are glad the new bedroom was better suited for you.

Furthermore, in regards to the water issue, our maintenance manager has been asked to investigate this issue further and we do hope you can accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope you may consider us for a future stay at Marwell Hotel to regain your confidence in our services within the near future.

Thank you again

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Two nights away to recover from a busy term. Room good, excellent black out curtains so slept really well. Breakfast good but service slow. Jacuzzi and sauna not working on first night but fixed by the second. Asked for room away from children which they said would do, however the adventure playground was right out side my window! Rather defeated the object of being away from children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gee4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear gee4me,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel. We appreciate your comments; we find these extremely helpful in improving our service to a high level.

We are glad you enjoyed your bedroom and found our blackout curtains very useful for a good night’s sleep. We are very lucky to be in a remote and peaceful location.

It is a shame to hear breakfast was only satisfying, we usually receive great feedback from other guests' experiences, so we are sorry to hear the service was slow on this occasion.

We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused when our spa pool and sauna stopped working; we were glad we could get the problem fixed quickly and you were able to enjoy it on your second day.

It is regretful we were unable to meet your requests on this occasion regarding a bedroom away from children. We do always do our utmost to meet guests' requests, though we cannot always guarantee this. On this occasion, it was a busy night with children and the bedroom we selected for you we believed to be the best option as it would provide you with a peaceful sleep away from bedrooms with children in. The play area tends to only be used during the day, so we do apologise if you were disturbed by children playing on this.

We hope you will still consider us for any future stays within the area and we hope to be welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel again soon.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A 2 storey 'log cabin' style hotel built on the side of a Zoo, with a pool and gym. What more do you want? Walking through the corridors with full length windows you feel like you're in the middle of a wooded area - which you are.

I only stayed for one night and didn't have time to use the facilities other than the bar for a drink and evening meal. Service was fab, the staff here are a real attribute to the hotel. My evening meal and breakfast were both excellent.

My only complaint would be the choice of background music in the bar it wasn't loud dance music, so have no fear reader you won't be blasted away - something a little more 'easy listening' would be better.

I am looking forward to returning to the area with a little more time to discover the delights the hotel has to offer and a visit to the zoo.

And another bonus, there are plenty of conference / banquet rooms here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canneloniwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Canneloniwhizz,

Thank you for your kind words on your recent stay, we are glad you had an enjoyable time with us here at Marwell Hotel.

We are pleased you liked our style of hotel. We benefit from fantastic surroundings which we enjoy highlighting throughout the hotel. The glass corridors allow our guests to admire the beautiful woodlands.

It is great to hear that all of our staff provided high customer service. They are true assets to the company and we take pride in offering friendly service to all our guests to make them feel welcomed.

I am delighted your dining experiences with us were also excellent. Our breakfast receives fantastic comments on a regular basis.

Thank you for your comment on our background music; this will be passed onto our general manager. We play a variety of music which encourages the holiday feel throughout the hotel, which gives it a lovely atmosphere.

We do benefit from having a great range of function rooms, ideal for any occasion or event.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future; and hopefully the next stay will be for a longer so you can enjoy all of our facilities!

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent dining experience and service. The room was comfortable and spacious although the walkway was a touch on the cool side. The service was excellent with all staff keen to help. We were slightly disappointed in the sauna, jacuzzi and pool which were just a bit small and tired.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Sarah A,

Thank you for your positive comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is wonderful to hear that you had an excellent dining experience during your stay. We are passionate in offering a high standard of quality food to our guests and our head chef is keen to highlight this.

We are glad you found your bedroom comfortable and spacious.

We are delighted our service was to a high standard, all of our staff are true assets to the company and pride themselves in offering excellent customer service to our guests.

It is a shame you felt our leisure area is disappointing. Our pool focuses on offering relaxation and boasts beautiful views of the surrounding woodland area. This is an extremely peaceful location and is usually found to be very relaxing.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have visited the Marwell Hotel 4-6 times a year over the last 3 years and 6 of us + a 2 year old went there this Sunday for a Mother's Day.
Dining room staff : lovely, 5 stars for friendly and helpful
Dining room : very nicely laid out with daffodils on each table. 4 stars - 1 reduced because we were in a dingy corner rather than the window that we had requested when we booked some time ago, but I guess someone had to be there!
Food : it was a reasonable deal for a set Mother's Day menu, 4 stars. The Marwell food from their normal menu is lovely as you would expect from 2 rosette restaurant so we were a bit disappointed with the quality and would rather have paid a bit more for nicer food.
Lastly : we ordered from the child menu for my 2 year old grandson and the main was fish fingers and chips. It looked lovely but for some reason he kept spitting it out (he normally eats everything in sight). When his mother looked, nearly every piece had bones in it!! We didn't have to pay for the meal but that wasn't the point, if he had swallowed the fish he could easily have ended up with a stuck fish bone. It was bought in not made on the premises but very very bad for a child menu with no warning of bones.
But I do love visiting Marwell Hotel and would have given 4 stars overall but for the fish bones.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Merlot2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Merlot2007,

It was lovely to welcome back your family this Sunday and we would firstly like to thank you for your regular custom.

We have checked your booking and see that you had originally requested a table by the window. We apologise that this was overlooked on the day.

We are so sorry to hear about the incident which occurred on Sunday with the fish fingers. This was discussed in our debrief after the Mothering Sunday lunch and please be assured we are investigating the problem with our head chef and suppliers to have the issue resolved.

On another note, we are glad that our staff were friendly and helpful on Sunday. We pride ourselves in providing high customer service to our guests and our staff are true assets to the company.

We are also pleased you enjoyed dining in Oakwood on Sunday. We decided this room would add the extra special touch for Mothering Sunday and the daffodils complemented the room nicely.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope you will return to Marwell Hotel and allow us to regain your confidence in our service.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews