We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marwell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Giffard House(Winchester)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,347)
Filter reviews
1,347 results
Traveller rating
378
474
296
123
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
474
296
123
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari lodgeglass corridorszoo ticketssky tvswimming poolunusual hotelgroupon dealpatio doorsbar menuleisure facilitiessuperior roomtravel cotfunction roomwedding venuedouble bedcourse mealstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,347 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent a night at Marwell in March, with two kids under 3. We arrived late at night with two sleepy children and the staff were most helpful in assisting us at check in. The executive room was of good standard, a huge, very comfy bed plus additional single bed, with room for our travel cot. Good quality black out curtains. So nice to open to curtains in the morning to woodland, our three year old was so excited to see the birds and squirrels. The breakfast had a wide variety of continental and hot plate options. It was really nice to have breakfast at the hotel where the toast was hot and the pastries were served freshly warmed. Service was efficient and the staff very pleasant. We had a lovely walk around the woods and play area in the morning and found the hotel perfectly located for a trip to Marwell Zoo. Based on the level of customer service and the standard of decor throughout the hotel we thought it was a four star. We'd happily recommend the hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch7njh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear ch7njh,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel. We are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us!

It is pleasing to hear all the staff you encountered during your visit were helpful and friendly. Our staff are great assets to the business and efficient in offering a high level of customer service.

We are delighted you enjoyed one of our executive rooms, these have recently been refurbished to a high standard and we are proud to offer such beautiful rooms.

It is lovely to hear that your child was excited to see the wildlife in our stunning woodlands, we are very lucky to have such wonderful surroundings!

We are pleased that you enjoyed the variety of selection at breakfast. We receive fantastic comments regarding our breakfast and it is very important to us to offer a high standard within our dining experience.

Thank you again for a fantastic review - we appreciate your positive feedback and hope to welcome your family back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The room was a good size, the bed enormous and comfortable,but the bathroom door would not shut. The nature of the hotel layout means that it can be a long walk and some stairs to get to your room and the connecting corridors do not seem to be heated. The breakfast was reasonable, but the cooked part took a long time to come. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Richard S,

We are pleased to hear your stay with us here at Marwell Hotel was pleasant, but it is a shame there were a couple of issues which spoiled your experience, which we would like to apologise for.

We are glad you enjoyed your bedroom and found the room comfortable. In regards to the bathroom door; our maintenance manager has been made aware to ensure this has now been fixed and he apologises for the inconvenience.

The unique architecture of the hotel does mean a short walk to bedrooms via the corridors but many find this a pleasant walk to benefit from the beautiful surroundings.

It is regretful that you had to wait some time for your breakfast. We are currently in the stages of developing our breakfast experience to ensure it is more efficient for our guests; thank you for your feedback which will help us to improve this.

Thank you again for your comments; we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We took our two children here for two nights and went to Marwell Zoo. The hotel is clean and reasonably modern. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is fine but the food wasn't amazing and was quite expensive for the portions received. There were weddings at the hotel both nights we stayed (we were not advised of this when we booked) hence our two nights sleep were not really classed as sleep! The breakfast I have to say was dreadful. The eggs were cold, the streaky bacon was back bacon cut in half (!), the sausages were covered in white congealed fat, the pancakes were bought ones and just tasted rubbery, and the member of staff we complained to (nice complaint rather than a stroppy one) just passed the buck to the chef. Not at all impressed and did complain to the main desk. I wouldn't stay here again, but only stayed as we wanted to take the children to Marwell Zoo and make a weekend of it. The swimming pool is small, but clean and ideal for the kids to play in (as long as they can swim as there isn't a shallow end for young children).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Sam288,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel.

It is a great shame your stay with us was only satisfying, but we appreciate your feedback as it is important to help us improve our standards.

We are glad that the reception staff were helpful and friendly. As the face of the company it is important that they deliver a high customer service to our guests to make you feel welcome during your stay.

We are extremely sorry that your sleep was disturbed by our wedding parties in-house. Our bedroom blocks are separate from the main part of the hotel, and therefore distanced from any weddings taking place, so we are very sorry that on this occasion you were affected.

We are sorry to hear of the issues you occurred when dining with us. It is a great shame that breakfast was disappointing as we usually received great comments about this, but I have spoken to our executive chef and he is truly sorry for your experience.

We are very lucky to have such a fantastic attraction on our doorstep to keep all the family entertained and we are pleased you were able to visit the zoo.

Many thanks again for your feedback. Please be assured the issues you have raised are being investigated and we do hope you would reconsider returning to Marwell Hotel if you were visiting the area and allow us the chance to regain your confidence.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

On arrival the hotel looks quirky & well presented then as soon as you leave reception it is a downhill slide, the corridors are freezing and dirty and just feels as if the place needs a cheer up, the room we had was far enough away from the entrance but sadly the meeting room up above appeared to be hosting steel booted elephants walking about, a call to reception eventually stopped this but then we were hit by the wedding function in the evening, had we had been told this was on we would never have booked that night, so much for a quiet stay, after another complaint at 11:00pm we were moved to another room, granted it was a much better one but the upheaval of moving everything already unpacked was enough to spoil the stay completely, the last kick came in the morning when the bath took too long to fill and was cold and the shower cold hardly muster a trickle, the whole experience was a massive disappointment, it could have been and should have been so much better.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if you want a peaceful stay
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJHSwaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear GJHSwaine,

We are so sorry that your stay was less than satisfying and that a number of issues occurred during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. Your comments are taken into account to help us improve our standards and offer high customer service.

In relation to the corridors, we do find the weather is a huge factor on the corridor's appearance. It looks completely different on a summer's day when the sun is shining and the flowers have bloomed as compared to when the weather is dull. The glass corridors are designed so that our guests may appreciate our natural surroundings and plenty of natural daylight. We only wish that all our guests may experience this on a beautiful summer's day, when it really does look spectacular.

It is with deep regret that the wedding party caused disturbance to your stay and we understand your frustration with moving late at night but we are glad the new bedroom was better suited for you.

Furthermore, in regards to the water issue, our maintenance manager has been asked to investigate this issue further and we do hope you can accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope you may consider us for a future stay at Marwell Hotel to regain your confidence in our services within the near future.

Thank you again

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Two nights away to recover from a busy term. Room good, excellent black out curtains so slept really well. Breakfast good but service slow. Jacuzzi and sauna not working on first night but fixed by the second. Asked for room away from children which they said would do, however the adventure playground was right out side my window! Rather defeated the object of being away from children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gee4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear gee4me,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel. We appreciate your comments; we find these extremely helpful in improving our service to a high level.

We are glad you enjoyed your bedroom and found our blackout curtains very useful for a good night’s sleep. We are very lucky to be in a remote and peaceful location.

It is a shame to hear breakfast was only satisfying, we usually receive great feedback from other guests' experiences, so we are sorry to hear the service was slow on this occasion.

We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused when our spa pool and sauna stopped working; we were glad we could get the problem fixed quickly and you were able to enjoy it on your second day.

It is regretful we were unable to meet your requests on this occasion regarding a bedroom away from children. We do always do our utmost to meet guests' requests, though we cannot always guarantee this. On this occasion, it was a busy night with children and the bedroom we selected for you we believed to be the best option as it would provide you with a peaceful sleep away from bedrooms with children in. The play area tends to only be used during the day, so we do apologise if you were disturbed by children playing on this.

We hope you will still consider us for any future stays within the area and we hope to be welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel again soon.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews