We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding day to remember”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wedding day to remember”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What can we say! Our wedding on Sunday 20th April was simply a superb event, made possible by the efficient and professional team at the Marwell Hotel.
From the planning through to the final dance of the night, we could not have wanted a better venue for our special day.
The wedding breakfast was excellent, and even when (as seems so often the case) the poor weather caused a significant delay in us sitting down, the kitchen and staff all moved things to fit in with us and the whole day flowed like clockwork.
Our family and friends who stayed over also commented on what a unique setting the hotel has, and how clean and spacious the rooms were, so thank you for taking that additional worry from us!
We would like to thank Oli, Kelly, Megan, Michael, David and all the others who helped make our day so special for us - nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
We would not hesitate to recommend others planning their special day to the Marwell Hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Geoff T,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it was a great joy to host your special day here with us at Marwell Hotel!

It is a pleasure to hear that our staff made your wedding day a superb event with their professionalism and efficiency. As you saw, our staff are real assets to the company and have a passion for providing high customer service to all our guests to ensure that they have a unique and enjoyable time during their stay.

We are glad your wedding breakfast was excellent and that the day ran smoothly.

It is fantastic that all your friends and family also had a pleasurable stay and that they found our hotel quirky with its location and organic design around the surrounding woodlands.

Thank you so much again Geoff for your excellent feedback, and we really do hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    422
    250
    109
    66
See reviews for
355
418
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were at Marwell to celebrate our daughter's wedding in April 2014. From start to finish we could not fault her wedding planner (Shelly) and the attention by staff throughout the day was great, always making sure everything was ok. The food was good and we were able to get into the function room the night before to set up. A huge bonus! The day was wonderful and just what we had hoped for, not too formal and a relaxed happy day. The bedrooms were large and yes, a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good & plentiful and the service was efficient. However, we ate breakfast early but other members of our party ate a little later and their experience was very different. All in all we had a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 44Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear 44Lesley,

Firstly may we say, it was a pleasure hosting your daughter’s wedding day here with us. We thank you for your feedback, we are so glad you all had an enjoyable time here at Marwell Hotel.

It is fantastic to hear all our staff were efficient and attentive during your time with us. Our staff are passionate in providing high customer service, ensuring all guests are welcomed and have a comfortable and pleasant time with us.

I am glad you were able to dress the room the night before (we do try and allow access as early as we can as we know this is a great help) and that the day was wonderful and enjoyed by all.

It is a shame there was mixed comments on the breakfast but it is assuring your breakfast was good and plentiful. Our breakfast received many positive comments and we are passionate in providing a high quality of food to our guests.

Many thanks again for your kind comments, and we hope to be welcoming you and your family back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very friendly staff. Room good and clean. Had a 15 minute wait for a table at breakfast time but once seated the staff were helpful and food reasonable. Had stayed before and felt the decor had been improved since our last stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DJS747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear DJS747,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your return visit with us here at Marwell Hotel.
It is delightful to hear all our staff were friendly and helpful during your stay. Our staff are true assets to the company and highlight our passion in delivering high customer service.

I am sorry to hear you had a little wait for breakfast in the morning; unfortunately this does sometimes occur on busy days, but we hope we were efficient once you were seated.

We are glad you appreciated our refurbishments; we have been busy improving our grounds and also refreshing many of the public and private areas of the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments, it was a pleasure welcoming you back and we hope you will visit again soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had our wedding at Marwell in September 2013. The wedding planner (Kelly) was lovely and so helpful through the whole process. The function room had been renovated a few months before so we had the ceremony and reception in there. It was stunning! We couldn't have been happier. My mum went up a few days before and provided our own potted plants in the outside area as we weren't convinced the hotel were going to do this for us.

The bridal suite was lovely...the other rooms were very dated and needed an extreme update. The surrounding area (woods, grassed areas) were beautiful and made a lovely back drop for our photos. The water tower out the front is quite ugly but that can't be helped as it's their water source but something that would ideally be changed asap.

The hotel reception and bar is very nice but the breakfast room again needs some updating.

The whole day was perfect, food was delicious, our wedding planner was there every step of the way. You couldn't fault it, it was without a doubt the day we had planned for.

Our problems arose when my husband had his debit card and drivers licence stolen out of his wallet on our wedding night and used the following day to withdraw a substantial amount of money. The first manager suggested to me that it was one of our guests!! the second manager was more helpful and looked on CCTV to see if there was anything they could notice. We called police and Olie (the 2nd manager we spoke to) kept in touch via email and liaised with police as required. However we never had any other follow up from the hotel...nothing! On return from honeymoon we expected an email, a note of apology for our experience, a bunch of flowers or an offer of a evening meal to make up for it?? Nothing. It was very disappointing considering we'd spent so much money with them and such an awful thing had happened at their venue.

The CCTV of the guy at the bank wasn't someone we recognised but we remain suspicious of one individual who was at the hotel (not in our wedding party!)

All i'd say is that as they never caught the person despite police appeals with photos of the guy I would be cautious of my property and be mindful of the potential for theft. It's awful thinking that on your wedding day you have to be mindful of the people who are staying in the hotel or work there.

It was such a shame that our day has been overshadowed by what happened and the fact that the management could have easily gone someway to make it up to us. I even emailed expressing my disappointment but still nothing was done. Shame really for them as I wouldn't be leaving this negative review if they had been better with their customer services.

As i've said, the wedding itself was beautiful and perfect. Kelly was amazing and most of the staff were great. Don't hesitate to have your wedding there...just be careful with your wallet!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the bridal suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatGirl2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Claire H,

Thank you for your feedback; your comments are appreciated.

It was a pleasure to host your wedding day and we are so glad that our lovely wedding coordinator was able to help with the planning and running of your special day. Oakwood is a beautiful venue for a wedding and the woodland surrounds do provide a lovely back drop for pictures.

It is pleasing to know your food was delicious and the day was perfectly planned and executed.

Please be assured we are in the process of renovating our bedrooms; and have recently completed 10 bedrooms to a high standard, which we are very proud to present. We are hoping to have completed the rest of our rooms in the near future to the same standard.

We are sorry to hear your disappointment and frustration in regards to the issue with the bank card. We certainly were not aiming to accuse your guests, merely looking at every possible avenue when trying to resolve the situation. Our general manager was liaising with the police and yourselves to rectify the situation and had believed the issue had been concluded. He had dedicated a large amount of time to the situation, watching hours of CCTV, providing the police with footage, providing statements and proactively contacting the police for a resolution. We are so sorry that you had not heard from the police any further as we believed that you had. We can reassure you our security is strictly monitored and this was an unfortunate incident.

It is a great shame this issue has ruined your confidence in Marwell Hotel and had a negative effect on your special day and we are deeply sorry this.

We do hope that you will consider returning to Marwell hotel in the future.

Thank you again Claire.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We found the staff helpful and friendly. Check in was smooth and our room was clean, spacious, with plenty of storage. It was quiet and set in lovely woodland. The breakfast was very good, offering a good vegetarian option, although the service was a little slow. The wi-fi was very intermittent and we had to stand on the landing outside our room to log in. The bed was a little on the soft side although very large with fresh white linen . The spa was a bonus with a nice size pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel is family friendly, with the added advantage of the zoo next door. We would happily recommend Marwell as a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GrandmaKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear GrandmaKR,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Marwell Hotel and appreciate your feedback.

We take great pride in our woodland location; we are very lucky to have such beautiful surroundings and it is lovely to hear that you thought highly of it. We are also blessed with the zoo being on our doorstep which is a fantastic benefit for all of our guests.

It is pleasing to hear that you had a good dining experience. Our breakfast receives great comments and we pride ourselves in offering high quality of food, but it is a shame our service was slow on this morning, we do apologise for this.

We are sorry to hear that the bed was a little on the soft side for your liking, we try to provide the best beds and linen as we are strong believers that a good night's sleep is essential.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our leisure centre and you were able to take advantage of these facilities on your stay.

Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First of All, I got greeted my very rude and unhappy looking staff, after checking in, I was left carrying my bags on my own without assistance, room was cold, smelt like a caravan and bed was hard. Food was cold and over prices, so annoyed because it cost a lot to stay and I didn't receive what I thought I would

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthawhite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Samanthawhite12,

I would like to thank you for your comments and apologise for the issues which arose during your stay. Your feedback is vital to us to help improve our customer service.

We are disappointed to hear that our staff came across as unwelcoming when greeting you to the hotel. This is a great let down for us as we apply a high customer service level all staff should follow and normally receive great feedback regarding our staff. We will be speaking to all members of our team to ensure their attitude always remains positive and attentive.

We are also sorry that you were not offered help in carrying your luggage to your room. This is usually a service we offer so we apologise you were not offered help on this occasion.

It is a great shame that you were not satisfied with your room and we have passed these comments onto our housekeeping team. We do have a range of bedrooms and if you are ever unhappy with your room, we urge you to speak to our team who will be happy to allocate you a room you are happy with, as long as we have the availability. We are sorry that you did not feel able to do so as we could then rectify any problems there and then and ensure that your stay with us is a comfortable one.

We apologise that you did not enjoy your dining experience and have spoken to our executive chef who is very apologetic over the situation.

We do hope you can reconsider your opinion on Marwell Hotel and consider us for future stays when in the area.

Thank you again

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winchester hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

When we arrived in our room it had a connecting door to the room next door. From experience from a previous stay two years ago, we know that noise can then travel easily between the rooms.

We asked to be moved as we did last time, when we arrived to the second room it also had a connecting door. We were told that they had no other rooms at the same rate without connecting doors. We therefore had to pay an extra £30 to upgrade to a room without a connecting door. This was bad customer service because it was their responsibility to let us know that the room had a connecting door, so they should not have had to pay to change to a suitable room .

(The young lady who helped us at reception offered and carried two light pieces of luggage.)

Room Tip: Check that your room does not have a connecting door before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simpleviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Simpleviva,

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to hear about this issue when you stayed with us at Marwell.

We do have a handful of bedrooms with interconnecting rooms, which are ideal for larger families or groups. The interconnecting door is securely locked when not in use or required and the key is not accessible to the rooms on either side, so please be assured that this door should not have affected you in any way and should not have affected the noise between the rooms as it is a solid wooden door. However, of course we endeavour to always meet our customers' requests, wherever possible and we are very sorry that on this occasion, this was not accomplished to a satisfactory conclusion.

As we were busy on the night of your stay, the only other rooms we had available were our executive bedrooms, so you were upgraded to an executive bedroom. These are our recently refurbished bedrooms and do carry a £30.00 supplement as they have some wonderful extras in the rooms, such as unlimited access to our 'pantry' (providing you with fresh milk, fresh homebaked cookies, and fruit), a cafetiere in your room with personalized Marwell coffee and luxurious Temple Spa toiletries and more...

We are pleased that you found our receptionist to be helpful with check in and that we were able to help you with your luggage to your room.

Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future to regain your confidence in our service and standards.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing