We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We went for my sisters 50th birthday treat. We stayed on a Sunday night and were booked for the dining experience. my sister needed a disability room which was more than spacious. Bed was comfy and staff were lovely. The food was more than delicious - see review under restaurants. The only comment to make is that there were 4 of us and some of the double doors to the corridors to the rooms were push or pull and the door closers needed to be slowed to allow an independent wheelchair user to be able to pass through. Also the room had a shower in the bath which my sister was not able to step into. But all in all a great time was had by all - we had been before and would go again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Janet D,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback, it is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We are pleased that you found your bed to be comfortable and that all our staff were friendly during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our doors; this is a valid point and we will discuss this further to see if it is something we can evaluate.

It is pleasing to know you will consider Marwell Hotel for any further trips to the area and we will be delighted to welcome you and your family back soon.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
There are newer reviews for Marwell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

great nights stay, lovely big room,comfortable bed,super breakfast,very friendly staff,if we had to be picky the shower needs attention,maybe the plumbing.apart from that ....yes we would certainly recommend the marwell and we will stay again if we are in the area..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 186229Lepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear 186229Lepage,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation, we are thrilled that you had a great stay with us!

We are pleased you liked your bedroom, found the beds comfortable and that the breakfast was relished.

It is a pleasure to hear our staff were welcoming and friendly during your stay. Our staff are true assets to the company and deliver a high standard of customer service.

We are sorry to hear you had an issue with the shower; we have reported this to our maintenance manager who will investigate this issue further.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel very soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I arrived late one evening to be greeted by 2 very pleasant people with excellent manners. Perhaps this is why young Continetal Europeans are "taking our jobs" ? I had never stayed here before and was made feel very welcome. The Rooms are in little self-contained groups, with Corridors seemingly cutting through the floor of the woods. The corridors were chilly as they were really walkways but the room was nice and warm and huge. I unfortunately neglected to check the facilities beforehand as there looked to be a nice swimming pool, not bad for a 3 Star hotel! The restaurant opened at 7.00am , staff were very efficient but friendly. The menu is a little confusing in that the English or Continental Breakfast costs £ 7.50 but it is not possible to decline the set breakfast and having say the smoked salmon without paying extra. the Full English was excellent and one could have their fill of cereal, orange juice etc. My only gripe was that I had to rush my breakfast as I had an early appointment 6 miles away. so perhaps if the restaurant could open at 6.45am , there were a few of us waiting to get in at 7.00am

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NPTraveller241158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear NPTraveller241158,

Thank you for your feedback, we find it very useful to improve our standards delivered and ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

It is pleasing to know all the staff you encountered on your stay were polite and professional.

We do indeed have an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and running machines. This is a lovely space to relax in after a day's work. It is a shame you were unable to use our facilities on this occasion but we hope you can have the opportunity on your next visit.

We are glad you enjoyed breakfast; and thank you for your comments, they are valued to our early risers and we will see if this is a possible option of opening slightly earlier to allow all our guests to enjoy breakfast at their leisure.

Many thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Friendly, helpful staff especially in the Restaurant both at Dinner and Breakfast.
Food was to a high standard and the room was clean.
Can't ask for more on a one night business trip.
The only real "complaint" was an uncalled for early morning alarm call from a peacock in the Zoo

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Dan S,

Many thanks for your positive feedback; we appreciate your comments and are glad you had an enjoyable time with us here at Marwell Hotel.

It is a pleasure to offer a high standard of food to you and all our guests; it is a passion of ours to deliver local produce to a high quality.

It is also great to hear that all the staff you encountered during your stay were friendly and helpful.

It is a great shame the ‘peacock’ upset your night’s sleep and we apologise for his rude awakening!

We hope you will consider us again for your future business trips and hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My daughter and I took our grandchildren, aged 8 and 4, for a super day out at Marwell Zoo and decided to make it extra special by booking a night for us all at the Marwell Hotel. A short walk across the road from the Zoo brought us to the unusually designed hotel. From the start to the finish of our stay I cannot praise highly enough the pleasant, efficient and genuine staff we encountered. Our room (king double and bunk beds) was looking tired and in need of a re-furbish but was clean and the bedlinen spotless and crisp, as were the towels. The bathroom was in need of modernisation but the water was hot and the toiletries supplied generous. We ordered room service for our tired children which arrived promptly. We all enjoyed the spotless little pool for a swim before the excellent breakfast in dining room. We felt it was a great way to round off a long day at the brilliant Marwell Zoo. We will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Friendswelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Friendswelcome,

We are delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was so positive; it is great to know you had a superb visit with your family!

We are extremely lucky to have the zoo so close on our door step and it is fantastic you were able to benefit from this highlight with your grandchildren.

Our staff are true assets to the company and it is great to know they were delivering the high standard of customer service we set out to offer.

We would like to reassure you that we are in the stages of renovating all our bedrooms as they are at the point of needing refreshing. We have completed 10 executive rooms to a fantastic finish and we hope to complete the rest in due course. But we are glad that you found the room clean and comfortable.

We are glad that you enjoyed our leisure facilities, we find they are a great relaxer after a busy day at the zoo or a pleasant way to wake up, and we are pleased you were able to take pleasure in these.

Many thanks again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Marwell Hotel very soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A very smooth check in for our party of 9, very helpful & friendly staff & the children were greeted with personalised letters & bags of sweets! The rooms were yet again clean & tidy & proved spacious even with an extra bed added. The buffet breakfast offered a good choice of courses & the english breakfast was cooked to our individual requests with very little delay - the staff were very polite and attentive. The hotel is set in lovely peaceful woodlands. There was a big emphesis on children's entertainment this time with indoor games room, daily movie & kids club alongside the indoor leisure facilities. We very much look forward to our next future visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Dess L,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel!

It is a pleasure to hear that your whole family had a wonderful stay! As you mentioned, we take great pride in being a family friendly hotel; welcoming children by adding in some extra special touches to their stay and encouraging them to enjoy their time with us in our unique surroundings.

We are glad that check-in was smooth and that all of our staff were helpful, polite and friendly during your stay.

It is also great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast; our breakfast receives some great comments.

We very much look forward to welcoming your family back to Marwell Hotel soon and many thanks again for your kind words.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What can we say! Our wedding on Sunday 20th April was simply a superb event, made possible by the efficient and professional team at the Marwell Hotel.
From the planning through to the final dance of the night, we could not have wanted a better venue for our special day.
The wedding breakfast was excellent, and even when (as seems so often the case) the poor weather caused a significant delay in us sitting down, the kitchen and staff all moved things to fit in with us and the whole day flowed like clockwork.
Our family and friends who stayed over also commented on what a unique setting the hotel has, and how clean and spacious the rooms were, so thank you for taking that additional worry from us!
We would like to thank Oli, Kelly, Megan, Michael, David and all the others who helped make our day so special for us - nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
We would not hesitate to recommend others planning their special day to the Marwell Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Geoff T,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it was a great joy to host your special day here with us at Marwell Hotel!

It is a pleasure to hear that our staff made your wedding day a superb event with their professionalism and efficiency. As you saw, our staff are real assets to the company and have a passion for providing high customer service to all our guests to ensure that they have a unique and enjoyable time during their stay.

We are glad your wedding breakfast was excellent and that the day ran smoothly.

It is fantastic that all your friends and family also had a pleasurable stay and that they found our hotel quirky with its location and organic design around the surrounding woodlands.

Thank you so much again Geoff for your excellent feedback, and we really do hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,794 reviews
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,092 reviews
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#12 of 13 in Winchester
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing