We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane Tully (Good Break )”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jane Tully (Good Break )”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have stayed here on a few occasions, this time took my friend here for a birthday treat. Rooms very good, no problems. Breakfast enjoyable. Swimming pool is a bonus, jacuzzi a bit iffy as brown stains on the bottom. This was the first time I ate in the restaurant, for what you get I thought it was too expensive, the quality was nothing special. Overall we has a good three days there. Of course Marwell Zoo is only a few yards away great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jane T,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your feedback as a frequent guest.

We are so glad that you had an enjoyable visit for your friend's birthday treat.

It is pleasing to hear that breakfast was enjoyable and that you were able to use our facilities in our leisure club. Please be assured I have spoken to our leisure manager who has guaranteed me the brown marks have been removed.

I am sorry to hear you felt our restaurant was expensive and the standard of the food was not of the excellence it should be. Our executive chef is in the process of developing our menus to ensure we are always producing local produce to a high standard.

Many thanks again Jane, we do hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    440
    267
    115
    68
See reviews for
377
433
33
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here before and would return again. Excellent service and facilities. I took my children who are 3 and 6 and they loved it. So that's a good review in itself! Plenty to do un the area. Easy parking and good range of food and drink.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear reynols,

Thank you for your repeat custom and your fantastic feedback from your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel.

It is wonderful to hear that your children have a great time with us, that the service is excellent and that you enjoy our facilities.

We benefit from a great location, with Marwell Zoo right on our door step, and other brilliant attractions close by.

We very much appreciate your positive comments and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Marwell Hotel again very soon.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After a day at peppa pig world with our 3 year old bouncing off the walls we arrived at Marwell to be greeted with a very welcoming smile and greeting from the very professional receptionist.

Unfortunately our 1 year old was unwell and the helpful receptionist once again provided relevant and informative information for any local doctors.

On arriving in our room it felt a little dark and cramped and on speaking with the receptionist again (i should have asked her name so i could name check her) she very kindly offered us a different room which was so much nicer.

The pool is a great area, not the shallowest but safe for children with armbands on.

Room service was served with professionalism and overall we couldn’t have been more welcomed than we were and cared for throughout our stay. Well done marwell hotel, we will return as our 3 year old has been asking on a daily basis for another visit to peppa pig world.

Well done to all staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Patrick S,

Many thanks for your kind feedback, we are sorry to hear your child was not very well on your visit but hope they are back to good health now.

It is pleasing to know our staff were all very welcoming and helpful during your stay, and our receptionist was able to assist in a professional manner. They are real assets to the company and we are pride to have a strong team.

We are pleased to hear that our receptionist was efficient in arranging a bedroom that you were happy with. It is important to us that all our guests have an enjoyable stay so we appreciate it that you communicated to us that you weren't entirely satisfied with your initial room - this enabled us to rectify the situation swiftly for you.

We are so pleased that your 3 year old enjoyed themselves at our hotel and we would love to welcome you and your family back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We went for my sisters 50th birthday treat. We stayed on a Sunday night and were booked for the dining experience. my sister needed a disability room which was more than spacious. Bed was comfy and staff were lovely. The food was more than delicious - see review under restaurants. The only comment to make is that there were 4 of us and some of the double doors to the corridors to the rooms were push or pull and the door closers needed to be slowed to allow an independent wheelchair user to be able to pass through. Also the room had a shower in the bath which my sister was not able to step into. But all in all a great time was had by all - we had been before and would go again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Janet D,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback, it is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We are pleased that you found your bed to be comfortable and that all our staff were friendly during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our doors; this is a valid point and we will discuss this further to see if it is something we can evaluate.

It is pleasing to know you will consider Marwell Hotel for any further trips to the area and we will be delighted to welcome you and your family back soon.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

great nights stay, lovely big room,comfortable bed,super breakfast,very friendly staff,if we had to be picky the shower needs attention,maybe the plumbing.apart from that ....yes we would certainly recommend the marwell and we will stay again if we are in the area..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 186229Lepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear 186229Lepage,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation, we are thrilled that you had a great stay with us!

We are pleased you liked your bedroom, found the beds comfortable and that the breakfast was relished.

It is a pleasure to hear our staff were welcoming and friendly during your stay. Our staff are true assets to the company and deliver a high standard of customer service.

We are sorry to hear you had an issue with the shower; we have reported this to our maintenance manager who will investigate this issue further.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel very soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I arrived late one evening to be greeted by 2 very pleasant people with excellent manners. Perhaps this is why young Continetal Europeans are "taking our jobs" ? I had never stayed here before and was made feel very welcome. The Rooms are in little self-contained groups, with Corridors seemingly cutting through the floor of the woods. The corridors were chilly as they were really walkways but the room was nice and warm and huge. I unfortunately neglected to check the facilities beforehand as there looked to be a nice swimming pool, not bad for a 3 Star hotel! The restaurant opened at 7.00am , staff were very efficient but friendly. The menu is a little confusing in that the English or Continental Breakfast costs £ 7.50 but it is not possible to decline the set breakfast and having say the smoked salmon without paying extra. the Full English was excellent and one could have their fill of cereal, orange juice etc. My only gripe was that I had to rush my breakfast as I had an early appointment 6 miles away. so perhaps if the restaurant could open at 6.45am , there were a few of us waiting to get in at 7.00am

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NPTraveller241158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear NPTraveller241158,

Thank you for your feedback, we find it very useful to improve our standards delivered and ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

It is pleasing to know all the staff you encountered on your stay were polite and professional.

We do indeed have an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and running machines. This is a lovely space to relax in after a day's work. It is a shame you were unable to use our facilities on this occasion but we hope you can have the opportunity on your next visit.

We are glad you enjoyed breakfast; and thank you for your comments, they are valued to our early risers and we will see if this is a possible option of opening slightly earlier to allow all our guests to enjoy breakfast at their leisure.

Many thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Friendly, helpful staff especially in the Restaurant both at Dinner and Breakfast.
Food was to a high standard and the room was clean.
Can't ask for more on a one night business trip.
The only real "complaint" was an uncalled for early morning alarm call from a peacock in the Zoo

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Dan S,

Many thanks for your positive feedback; we appreciate your comments and are glad you had an enjoyable time with us here at Marwell Hotel.

It is a pleasure to offer a high standard of food to you and all our guests; it is a passion of ours to deliver local produce to a high quality.

It is also great to hear that all the staff you encountered during your stay were friendly and helpful.

It is a great shame the ‘peacock’ upset your night’s sleep and we apologise for his rude awakening!

We hope you will consider us again for your future business trips and hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,763 reviews
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,073 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing