We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stay.”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We do not believe that Keith N was actually staying here!!! We are writing this review from our clean and very comfortable room. We have had a fabulous day at the zoo, and a FANTASTICALLY DELICIOUS meal and EXCEPTIONAL PUDS. The staff are friendly and welcoming. the rooms are clean and comfortable, and we are hitting the pool tomorrow! Family friendly with an x-box and other games. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Katie U,

A big thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us! It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time, and you found our bedrooms clean and comfortable.

It is a pleasure to deliver a fantastic dining experience and a joy to hear that you found our desserts exceptional! We take great pride in offering a high standard of food and it is lovely to know it was enjoyed.

Our staff are true assets to the company and we are glad they were welcoming and friendly during your stay. We are a dedicated family orientated hotel and we love to offer great activities for the whole family.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Katie!

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    428
    254
    111
    66
See reviews for
359
424
31
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is like a lodge on safari the reception staff are not helpful don't try and check in before 3pm they will turn you away the housekeeping staff are so slow we eventually got to our room at 4pm and the lodge was like a tip with the dirty sheets and trays of food still laying around
The room was ok could do with a tidy up and a good clean but did it's job
The restaurant for dinner is way over priced with poor quality food
The local pub is better just up the road
Breakfast is as bad the staff haven't got a clue and the cook can't even cook fried eggs or even do a boiled egg and get there before 9 or join the very slow clue
The place is a great idea but the staff don't care one bit about the customers one bit
The pool and gym if 2running machines in a cubbard is a gym then it's ok
Would I stay here again not unless I needed to which is a great shame

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Keith N,

Thank you for your feedback, we value all comments made by our guests.

We are sorry to hear your stay was disappointing and not to our usual high standards. It is very disappointing to read your comments regarding our staff; and a great shame considering they are all trained to high standards of customer service. We normally receive fantastic feedback regarding our staff, so we are surprised by your comments.

As you state in your review, our check-in time is 3.00pm. Of course, we are more than happy to check guests into their room before this time if the room is ready, but we always state that we cannot guarantee this, in order to avoid disappointment. All of our literature states our check-in time as 3.00pm so we are sorry that you were not aware of this. We do have a lovely lounge and bar area which our guests can enjoy whilst waiting to check in and guests are also welcome to use our leisure facilities before checking in (a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and two running machines).

We apologise that you did not enjoy your dining experience – we have priced our menu at a competitive rate which we feel reflects the quality of the food delivered. We will be investigating the egg incident but apologise for the inconvenience caused. We can assure you that this was a one-off occasion (we do indeed offer eggs any style requested) but this is still no excuse that this arose.

We are glad you appreciated our ‘safari’ lodge style, we are very organic with our beautiful surrounding and take great pleasure in sharing this with our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider visiting us again and allow us to regain your confidence in Marwell Hotel.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We are a family of 4 with 2 children, aged 10 and 8. We all had a fabulous time, the staff were very helpful and the children loved the bunk beds and xbox. Food was exceptional and far exceeded our expectations. Only problem was flat soft drinks and room had a musty smell. Would return for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear lisalynk,

Thank you for your feedback following from your recent visit with us here at Marwell Hotel.

It is great to hear that you all had a fabulous time and that your children enjoyed the bunk beds and activities provided! We are proud to be a family orientated hotel, offering great amusements for all the family.

It is a pleasure to hear that your dining experiences exceeded your expectations; we take great pride in offering high quality local produce, cooked to perfection.

We are sorry to hear that the soft drinks were flat but please be assured this was a one off occurrence, and we have also spoken to our head housekeeper who would like to apologise for the issue with the bedroom and has assured us that all rooms are aired fully before check in but she will take extra vigilance in checking this to meet our high standards.

Many thanks again Lisa, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We chose the Marwell hotel as it was close to a wedding we were attending? Only one person on the desk so checking out took ages. The spa was great, but again, when I came down at 7.00 am for my swim, there was no- one on the desk so I had to wait about 5 minutes to get a towel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ethna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ethna H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Marwell Hotel. We are sorry to hear it was less than satisfying on a couple of points.

We apologise that check-out took a long time – we are in the process of implementing two receptionists on busy days to enable check-out runs smoothly. We do ensure there is always someone at reception and we will be investigating why there was no one attending the desk at the time that you mentioned.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences, but we do hope you will return to Marwell Hotel in the near future so that we may regain your confidence in the services offered.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is based on an African safari lodge the idea is great and works well
However the staff don't care one bit about you
We checked in at 2pm to be told the room was not ready so we sat in the bar area and had a sandwich from the very poor selection available at 3pm we asked again to check in and the room was still not ready when we eventually got in the room it was very dated and the house keeping team had not done a very good job bulbs blown and the extractor in the toilet had been cleaned for some considerable time
The pool and gym are small but just about do the job as dose the hot tub
The restaurant is over priced with small portions but on the brite side there is a harvester 3miles away
The breakfast service is a bet very slow the staff haven't got a clue and the top tip is to get in early or expect to Que.
Also don't expect a fried or boiled egg as the cook dosnt know how to cook them so even when asked for the answer is a big fat NO

This could be a really good hotel if the staff kept it clean and actually wanted to work rather than chat
It is a great concept and was such a shame the staff don't care

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Bunny N,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit with us here at Marwell Hotel. We are so sorry to hear that your visit was less than satisfying.

It is very disappointing to read your opinions of our staff, especially as this could not be further from the truth. We normally receive such positive feedback regarding our staff, who really do care about the hotel and our guests, so it is surprising to read that you did not receive the same impression. We are deeply sorry that this is the case.

Our check in time is 3.00pm. If the room is ready, of course we will gladly allow our guests to check in early, however, this is not always possible if we have had a full house the night before. All of our documentation clearly states the check-in time as 3.00pm so we are sorry that you did not realise this. You state that the room was still not ready at 3.00pm and we apologise for this as this is certainly rare that our rooms are not available by this time. You do not state the time at which the room was available but we hope that this was close to 3.00pm. We have also fed your comments regarding your room to our housekeeping team - we apologise that the lightbulb was blown, as these are normally checked before every arrival.

We are glad that you enjoyed the setting of our hotel - we are very lucky to be set in beautiful woodlands and the hotel is designed to be organic with these surroundings.

We are pleased you enjoyed our leisure facilities but are sorry that you felt they were a little on the small side. Our leisure club features a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and two top of the range running machines. We do not advertise this as a 'gym' as it would not be well suited to fitness fans - rather it is a calm and relaxing area to enjoy, alongside a relaxing break with us.

We are sorry to read that your dining experiences were disappointing. We usually receive good comments about our food and it is a pity this was not the case on your stay. We have fed your comments back to our Chef for consideration. Our restaurant can accommodate up to 70 guests, so is of a decent size, but if all our residents arrive for breakfast at the same time, there can be a short wait, however, our staff will do all they can to seat you as quickly and efficiently as possible. Our breakfast hours cover a three hour period in order to try to alleviate this.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will allow us to regain your confidence in us and visit again in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winchester hotels

1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel as a bridesmaid at my best friends wedding. The rooms were very disappointing for £109, very basic and not value for money.

Breakfast was nice and the location was really beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katielouiseltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Katielouiseltd,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast – we receive many great comments and pride ourselves in delivering a high standard of dining, based on quality local produce.

We are very lucky to have beautiful surroundings, and it is pleasing to know you enjoyed your best friend's special day in our lovely hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our bedrooms and felt they were overpriced. We are in the process of renovating our bedrooms and have completed 10 bedrooms to a high standard, which we are very proud of. We are hoping to complete the remaining bedrooms in the near future to the same standard. Based on your feedback, we would recommend you stay in one of our executive rooms, which we are sure you would love.

Many thanks again and we hope you will return to Marwell Hotel in the near future to experience our new bedrooms.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a friends wedding, at £109 a night the rooms were spacious but definitely in need of updating. However, had a peek at the bridal suite and it looked beautiful. Hotel reception, restaurants and bar are all very nice with a great atmosphere and a lovely place to relax

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWilbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear TheWilbos,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent visit to Marwell Hotel to celebrate your friend’s marriage.

We do benefit from having lovely spacious bedrooms throughout the hotel which we are currently in the process of refurbishing. We have recently completed 10 to a very high standard. We are hoping to complete the rest of our bedrooms in the near future to the same standard. We would recommend our guests staying in the executive rooms to benefit from the extra touches.

We are very proud of our bridal rooms as they have been beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, allowing our wedding couples to relax and end their perfect day in luxury.

We are so glad you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed our beautiful surroundings and facilities.

Many thanks again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel very soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing