We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

the hotel is in lovely settings with open green relaxing areas all around.

The facilities are very good with helpful friendly staff. The pool and is situated high up looking out onto the trees very relaxing.

The rooms are a bit dated and the decor could do with being updated but they are clean.

The food was excellent well worth its 2 Rosset standard and cheap compared to similar places.

overall a great relaxing place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathanaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear nathanaj,

Thank you for your great comments and it is a delight to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us here at Marwell Hotel.

It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings – we are passionate in highlighting our woodland setting and being an organic hotel.

Please be assured we are in the process of renovating our bedrooms –we are aware some of our rooms are original décor and we have completed 10 executive rooms which we are proud to encourage guests to book. Our refurbishment is ongoing and is being completed in stages.

We are glad that you had an excellent dining experience and appreciate your comments – our executive chef is passionate in delivering local produce at a high quality at competitive prices for all our guests to enjoy!

Thank you again and we hope we will be welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel very soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    434
    258
    113
    66
See reviews for
366
428
31
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Marwell Hotel, Winchester. attending a wedding 7 June 2014. Had a bit of a problem with the time of the wedding, Thought it was 3pm, arrived at the hotel at about 1.30'and thought we would have a cup of coffee before checking in at 2pm . saw other guests leaving for the church, and was told that the wedding was at 2pm. Went to reception and was told the rooms would not be ready until 3pm, after explaining my delima, they could not be more helpful and pulled out all the stops and got us to our room. My thanks go to the reception staff for all they had done for us. To say a little more about the hotel itself. The hotel is opposite Marwell Zoo 2mins walk, The room was clean and comfortable, one of the best nights sleep we have had away from home. Would recommend this Hotel to anybody

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Skipper142,

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Marwell Hotel!

It is wonderful to hear that our reception staff were efficient in ensuring you were not late to the wedding ceremony you were attending and we are glad we could be of assistance. Our staff are very proud to offer a high level of customer service.

It is great to know you had one of the best night’s sleep in our rooms – our beds are regularly commented on as they are rather comfortable.

Thank you for your recommendation and fantastic review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel very soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

With a busy 3-day schedule, I elected to stay in the area and sought an individual hotel, where I'd feel relaxed and comfortable, rather than in the usual efficient-yet-souless hotel chains.
Set in a peaceful location, with the good access to the M3/M27, the hotel has a modern/retro decor style, and ample parking close to reception.
My room was spacious, spotless and elegantly appointed, overlooking the grounds, affording sight and sound of squirrels, chiff-chaffs - oh - and a little chicken house. (I gather they're a recent addition and as soon as they're settled in, will be providing the kitchen with fresh-laid eggs.)
I did have a few initial "niggles" with the room - no cafetiere, (I'm a DIVA for fresh coffee!) the TV didn't work at first and the shower head was"floppy" - I had to hold it over my head when taking my shower
However, I must stress, these problems were so cheerfully and graciously resolved, I soon forgot about them and settled in to relax.
I slept really well here and the curtains kept out the daylight until I was ready to face it on my terms!
The restaurant has a select menu, about 4 choices for each course - which is probably why they're able to execute the dishes to such a high standard. Sea-bass was great; the venison was memorable and even though there were a couple of large dining parties on both nights, the ambience was calm.
All that said - by far the biggest asset of this hotel is the staff - everyone I encountered with was helpful, friendly, confident and happy.
I will definitely return at the next opportunity and thoroughly recommend this haven of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherinethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Catherinethree,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are so glad that you opted to stay at Marwell Hotel on your recent business trip to the area; we are lucky to be set in a beautiful rural surrounding, yet close to two major highways, convenient for many traveling.

We are delighted to hear that you found your bedroom comfortable and spacious and enjoyed the natural surroundings of the wildlife. Our resident chickens do provide fresh produce which we are proud to use in the kitchen. We are sorry to hear that there was a couple of issues with the facilities within our room – we do apologise for the inconvenience but glad they were rectified quickly.

It is a delight to know you had an enjoyable dining experience- our executive chef is passionate in delivering delicious locally sourced produce in beautiful dishes.

It is a pleasure to know our staff were helpful, friendly, and confident. As you stated, they really are assets to the company and ensure all our guests are felt welcomed and enjoy their stay.

Many thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Wow. The best most efficient welcome at a hotel reception. Charlotte who manned the desk was brilliant. Fast efficient welcoming, friendly and a lovely smile to. Great sense of humour and a lovely manner in handling guest queries.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MaxCMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Chris B,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Marwell Hotel!

Charlotte was delighted with your comments, so we really appreciate you providing us with this feedback - it's always a great boost to staff!

Many thanks again Chris and we look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My son booked hotel for wedding, which was excellent. The hall was done out nicely as was the room for the after wedding meal. The food and service were also excellent. However I booked an Executive room for one night which included I was told a balcony and access to a larder. The balcony was just a galvanised walkway for all the rooms. The larder was a 3foot high cupboard at the end of the stairs when I eventually found it. It consisted of a jug of milk in the fridge, a small bowl of fruit and a biscuit tin with half a dozen biscuits in. Not quite what I was expecting. With regard to the room it was extremely hot and the duvet was the thickest I have every seen. We took it out of the cover and slept with the cover over us. In the morning, went for a shower but it didnt work. To their credit Marwell gave us a discount on the room. As I say wedding facilities superb, bedroom; perhaps I was just unlucky.

Room Tip: Probably not worth paying extra for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 393Les64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear 393Les64,

Thank you for your feedback; we are delighted to have hosted your son’s wedding here at Marwell Hotel and glad you found the wedding facilities superb. We are a very popular wedding venue and are proud to showcase our beautiful setting. It is pleasing to hear the food and service were excellent. Our staff are passionate in providing high customer service to our guests to ensure everyone is felt welcomed and well looked after.

We are sorry to hear that you felt our bedrooms facilities were disappointing. All of our bedrooms do benefit from balconies overlooking our woodlands but are not individual balconies unfortunately - we are sorry if this is what you were led to believe. It is disappointing you were not comfortable in your bedroom – our executive rooms do have the extra facilities, along with the larder for a quick midnight snack if guests would like to indulge. Again, we are sorry if this was not what you were expecting, but it is maintained and regularly stocked. We do supply a Dyson fan in the executive bedrooms to maintain a cool atmosphere and your comments regarding the duvet will be passed onto our head housekeeper to be investigated Please be assured our maintenance manager has fixed the shower, which was an unfortunate mishap.

Many thanks again for your comments and we hope you will return to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you're on business in the Southampton or Winchester area this is a great place to stay if you fancy a change from the usual "hotel in car park".

Located in a quiet back lane just inside the entrance to Marwell zoo this will appeal to countryside and nature lovers.

The hotel itself is a little quirky (in a good way) and is best describes as modern, clean and functional. The external style is along the lines of an African Safari lodge. Inside it is very 80's - which I liked.. being from Generation X myself.

There is a great pub just a short distance away called the Queens Head.

All of the staff was friendly and cheerful, which made the stay quite pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear SteveGas,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel!
It is great to hear your recommendations to the ‘corporate market’. We are an ideal location for business travellers looking for the peaceful location.

We are proud to highlight our beautiful woodland surrounding to guests throughout the hotel. It is great to know you enjoy our theme and we hope it suits our organic style. We are in the process of renovating the hotel but are ensuring our ‘uniqueness’ will stay.

It is a pleasure to have staff who enable guests to have a pleasant visit and we are glad you received this high level of customer service during your stay!

Many thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed one night had two rooms booked. Rooms looked nothing like on the website. Very very basic but clean. Bed not even made properly with valance not covering base of bed in both rooms. Bath had shower curtain which you don't expect to see anymore. Although towels white and clean. Duvet like a pancake. Restaurant was empty with stale smell coming from kitchen, we decided to just order a starter and one was not edible, scallops not cooked through although we were not charged for the food. I think if we had paid £60 it may have been worth that much but not £115. Staff were very friendly but sadly management need to update this very tired hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lepketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear lepketravel,

Thank you for your feedback; it is a great shame to hear that your stay was less than satisfying.

We are sorry to hear your bedroom was not to standard; your comments have been investigated and please be assured our executive housekeeper will be carrying out regular checks on all rooms before they are released for check-in, to prevent standards from slipping. Please accept our apologies and be assured this was a one-off occasion.

We are aware some of our bedrooms are due for refurbishment and we are in the process of renovating all our rooms to a high standard. Our 10 refurbished executive rooms are beautiful and we are sure you would be very impressed with these.

It is embarrassing to know our restaurant standards also slipped on this occasion – we have recently brought in a consultant chef who is bringing back the passion for delicious local produce to match our 2 AA rosette standards.

It is pleasure to hear that our staff were friendly and welcoming – they are true assets to the company and deliver our high customer service passionately.

We apologise again for the issues which arose on your recent visit and hope you can reconsider Marwell Hotel for a future stay and allow us to regain your confidence.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,739 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing