We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, pricey drinks!”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I don't normally write reviews, but here goes!
We stayed here for a wedding (didn't go to the zoo). The hotel room was fully prepared for us and our 1 year old. There was a great cot set up (which we didn't use in the end as we did take our own just in case), activity set and a little bathroom set for him (bath, body, hair stuff and even a rubber duck!) which was great. wish we would've known as we wouldn't have packed it all! the children's menu was very tasty, but quite large for a 1 year old. They do do half portions but i was told it still cost the same. There also have Ella's kitchen food available, but my little one doesn't like packet/mushed up food, but i did think it was an excellent idea, especially for the littler ones.
It was very hot in our room (seemed to be hotter inside rather than outside). No aircon, but did have a fan. Expect air-con really.
Beds nice and comfy.
Breakfast nice (had to ask for fried eggs and porridge), but no full fat milk for the kids.
Hotel set up lovely- like being on a safari.
Hotel bar - really expensive for drinks. But i guess you find that with hotels that do weddings. The bar can get really full as its used by hotel guests and wedding guests.
All in all, i'd go back. The food was tasty, the kids facilities were really good and the room was a decent size. Just wish the food/drinks weren't so expensive and that there was air-con in the bedroom, and perhaps the bathroom was a bit more modern.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 2014explorer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear 2014explorer32,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Marwell Hotel.

We pride ourselves on being a family-friendly hotel, so it is great to read your comments regarding how child friendly you found us. We have put a lot of thought into the extra touches, such as the bath set and activity pack, so it’s great to know that both you and you little one enjoyed these.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the air conditioning. We have recently fit 8 of our bedrooms with air conditioning, following on from feedback. We are also completing a refurbishment of our bedrooms.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the food and drinks menu. We have recently taken a fantastic new head chef on board and are re-evaluating our menus at present – your feedback will be passed on.

Thank you again and we do very much hope to welcome you and your family back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
There are newer reviews for Marwell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was really hot day and couldn't open the doors to the bedroom as there was chickens outside the bedroom and they smelt really bad. Good was great, staff where amazing and facilities where lovely. Just a shame I wouldn't pay to stay there again because if the chickens.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazza0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Kazza0137,

Thank you for your kind words, it is a great shame our residential chickens upset your enjoyable stay. Our groundsman ensures our chicken have minimal impact on our guests. Please be assured your comments have been passed onto him to investigate.

It is pleasing to hear our staff provided a high level of customer service and you enjoyed our facilities on site.

We really hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our facilities and will return back to Marwell hotel again in the near future.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Arrived on June 26th late evening, greeted by the receptionist who booked us in an ran through all the hotel amenities. We then went to our room which was clean and tidy. I personally did not like the pillows a bit small for the bed. A good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. A very good English breakfast and also continental available. Staff were friendly and efficient. In all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Marwell Hotel!

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We take great pride in providing the extra little touches in our bedrooms to ensure the guests have a relaxing stay.

It is pleasing to know your breakfast experience was very good, we receive many great comments about out breakfast service, which is a delight to hear. All our staff are passionate in providing a high level of customer service and it is a pleasure to hear that you found them to be friendly and efficient throughout your stay.


Many thanks again Peter – we hope to welcome you back to Marwell hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked as a last minute night away with the kids after a day at Marwell Zoo. Yes, the hotel could do with some updating and yes the food is a little overpriced but it's very comfortable and the staff were some of the friendliest I've encountered anywhere. They couldn't have done more for us.

Bottom line, for its price bracket, it does just fine!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 995Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear 995Sara,

Thank you for your positive feedback, especially regarding our staff - what fantastic comments!

Please be assured we are in the process of renovating our hotel but this is an ongoing process - hopefully on your next visit you will see the improvements we are constantly making.

Many thanks again, we appreciate your comments and hope you will return back to Marwell Hotel very soon to enjoy all the great local attractions which we are lucky to have so close by.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when visiting peppa pig world (20 mins away)
I chose this hotel solely over any others because it had an indoor pool.
The pool is great, although as other reviewers have written it could do with some tlc.
The room (family room) we stayed in was very clean, I loved the activity pack and children's toiletries that we're put out for us. It was very dated and could do with upgrading. The bedding was very clean, bed comfy and new tv. So it suited us!
The actual main area of the hotel is well maintained. Breakfast was included and we thought it was very good.
For the money we paid - it was great value, but the rooms are in need of a revamp!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arraminta32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Arraminta32,

Many thanks for your feedback, it is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Marwell Hotel!

We are very lucky to have some fantastic attractions located nearby which attracts many guests to stay with us - we hope you had a wonderful time at Peppa Pig World.

It is pleasing to know you were able to enjoy our leisure facilities - your comments have been passed onto our Leisure club manager.

Thank you for your comments regarding your bedroom also. We take pride in being a family friendly hotel and offering families the extra touches to ensure our younger guests enjoy their stay just as much as the adults. We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms so hope that you may see the improvements we are making if you stay with us again.

It is lovely to know your breakfast was very good – our breakfast does receive many great comments and we are proud to offer a wide selection in the morning to guests.

Thank you again, it is pleasing to hear you found us great value for money and we hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you and your family back to Marwell hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked this hotel as it has the Zoo within easy walking distance. When I made my booking all the standard rooms had been taken so we paid the extra and booked the Superior rooms. These were only very average and in need of a little updating. There was however some mildew in the corner of the patio windows and walls which looked like it had been there for some time. The breakfast was very good and staff are all very polite and most helpful. Just a last mention on the Weddings as these tended to take over the hotel so do not expect to find much room in the lounge, reception or bar area at times or for a drink during the evening. Also we had some wedding guests returning late from the wedding reception who were less than considerate to those sleeping in nearby rooms. Parking can also be difficult as wedding guests attending the function tend to take up many of the hotel parking places available. However you can always park in the Zoo but this will mean a little trip back to the entrance of the hotel. I did not use the Fitness centre or the swimming pool so I am unable to comment on these.

Room Tip: Check to see if they are holding any Weddings etc. during your stay or be prepared for the problems...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Keith B,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to know you enjoyed your breakfast and you found our staff to be polite and efficient. Our staff are passionate in providing high level of customer service to ensure all guests have a comfortable stay.

We are sorry to hear that you encountered some disruption from a wedding party. We are currently working on putting procedures in place in order to eliminate this in the future - we take all feedback extremely seriously and would like to assure you that we are acting upon this feedback.

As you mentioned, we are located next door to Marwell Wildlife which we are very lucky to have on our door step – it is a top attraction ideal for all our family guests to visit.

It is a shame that you felt our bedrooms were dated - please be assured we are in the process of renovating our hotel and have recently completed 10 executive bedrooms to a high standard. This refurbishment is ongoing.

Many thanks again and we do hope we may welcome you back to Marwell Hotel again soon.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an unusual hotel themed as it is to the Marwell zoo. The safari lodge style accommodation units are very attractive but not very disabled-friendly from am access point of view - too many steps and no lifts.

Service and food however are high quality and the Reception Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: If you find stairs difficult mention this on booking - there may be rooms available which do not inv...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DRT944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear DRT944,

Thank you for your feedback – we appreciate all our guests comments and find them extremely useful in helping us deliver a high level of customer service.

Your comments regarding access for for disabled guests are appreciated and this is something we are currently looking into. Although we do have disabled access through much of the hotel, there are certain areas that we know we can improve on and we are currently looking to do so.

We are pleased to hear that your dining experience was excellent, our chef is passionate in delivering delicious dishes from local produce. It is also great to hear that our staff were helpful throughout your stay.

We do hope you will consider Marwell Hotel for your future stays in the area to regain your confidence in our facilities.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,795 reviews
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,092 reviews
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#11 of 13 in Winchester
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range: £72 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing