We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room way too hot to sleep and no wifi”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Room way too hot to sleep and no wifi”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was far too hot for comfortable sleep and although they provided a fan it had little effect. The advertised wifi didn't work for some unknown reason. Rest of the room was okay. This hotel is more for families visiting the zoo next door

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank GDaddy-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear GDaddy-Scotland,

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear your stay was less comfortable than desired.

The abnormally warm weather has been difficult to maintain this summer; unfortunately not all of our bedrooms currently have air conditioning, however we are in the process of renovating our bedrooms and your feedback is very helpful.

We are always working towards the best WiFi connection, unfortunately our signal can drop due to our location,however our 24 hour IT support work efficiently to maintain our WiFi connection. I apologise for the inconvenience caused but please be assured this was an isolated issue.

Although our hotel is family friendly we welcome many other guests who enjoy our facilities. We do hope you will consider Marwell hotel for future visits within the area and we can regain your confidence in our service provided.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    435
    258
    113
    68
See reviews for
367
429
32
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A one night stay on business recently, friendly and efficient staff, large comfortable room. Food was delicious although a little pricey. I will put it on my list of places to return too! Perfect for a family visit to the zoo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Roy P,

Thank you for your feedback – it is delightful to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us when traveling on business!

All of our staff are passionate in delivering excellent customer service and it is always rewarding to hear feedback from our customers stating that the staff were friendly and efficiently - thank you

We are glad your dining experience was delicious. Our executive chef takes pride in producing delicious dishes from local produce, but we are sorry to hear that you felt the prices were a little high.

Like you mentioned, we do benefit from having Marwell Wildlife next door which is a great attraction for many guests especially families.

Many thanks again Roy, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future, whether for leisure or business.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent room. Singularly the best and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A fantastic night`s sleep. Unhurried breakfast with a wide choice of food.

All in all Great. When visiting relatives in Southampton, my wife and I will be staying with you.

If there is any chance that you could find out the maker of your matresses I would dearly like to know.

Regards.

Richard Brett

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it is fantastic to hear our beds were so comfortable and you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Marwell hotel!

We have taken a look for you and the mattress you slept on is made by Respa Beds, from the Pocket Spring collection. The bed also has a mattress topper, which is supplied from Out of Eden.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable breakfast experience, we receive many great comments and food is something we are particularly passionate about!

We are delighted by your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I don't normally write reviews, but here goes!
We stayed here for a wedding (didn't go to the zoo). The hotel room was fully prepared for us and our 1 year old. There was a great cot set up (which we didn't use in the end as we did take our own just in case), activity set and a little bathroom set for him (bath, body, hair stuff and even a rubber duck!) which was great. wish we would've known as we wouldn't have packed it all! the children's menu was very tasty, but quite large for a 1 year old. They do do half portions but i was told it still cost the same. There also have Ella's kitchen food available, but my little one doesn't like packet/mushed up food, but i did think it was an excellent idea, especially for the littler ones.
It was very hot in our room (seemed to be hotter inside rather than outside). No aircon, but did have a fan. Expect air-con really.
Beds nice and comfy.
Breakfast nice (had to ask for fried eggs and porridge), but no full fat milk for the kids.
Hotel set up lovely- like being on a safari.
Hotel bar - really expensive for drinks. But i guess you find that with hotels that do weddings. The bar can get really full as its used by hotel guests and wedding guests.
All in all, i'd go back. The food was tasty, the kids facilities were really good and the room was a decent size. Just wish the food/drinks weren't so expensive and that there was air-con in the bedroom, and perhaps the bathroom was a bit more modern.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 2014explorer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear 2014explorer32,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Marwell Hotel.

We pride ourselves on being a family-friendly hotel, so it is great to read your comments regarding how child friendly you found us. We have put a lot of thought into the extra touches, such as the bath set and activity pack, so it’s great to know that both you and you little one enjoyed these.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the air conditioning. We have recently fit 8 of our bedrooms with air conditioning, following on from feedback. We are also completing a refurbishment of our bedrooms.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the food and drinks menu. We have recently taken a fantastic new head chef on board and are re-evaluating our menus at present – your feedback will be passed on.

Thank you again and we do very much hope to welcome you and your family back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was really hot day and couldn't open the doors to the bedroom as there was chickens outside the bedroom and they smelt really bad. Good was great, staff where amazing and facilities where lovely. Just a shame I wouldn't pay to stay there again because if the chickens.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Kazza0137,

Thank you for your kind words, it is a great shame our residential chickens upset your enjoyable stay. Our groundsman ensures our chicken have minimal impact on our guests. Please be assured your comments have been passed onto him to investigate.

It is pleasing to hear our staff provided a high level of customer service and you enjoyed our facilities on site.

We really hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our facilities and will return back to Marwell hotel again in the near future.

Thank you again.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Arrived on June 26th late evening, greeted by the receptionist who booked us in an ran through all the hotel amenities. We then went to our room which was clean and tidy. I personally did not like the pillows a bit small for the bed. A good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. A very good English breakfast and also continental available. Staff were friendly and efficient. In all a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Marwell Hotel!

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We take great pride in providing the extra little touches in our bedrooms to ensure the guests have a relaxing stay.

It is pleasing to know your breakfast experience was very good, we receive many great comments about out breakfast service, which is a delight to hear. All our staff are passionate in providing a high level of customer service and it is a pleasure to hear that you found them to be friendly and efficient throughout your stay.


Many thanks again Peter – we hope to welcome you back to Marwell hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked as a last minute night away with the kids after a day at Marwell Zoo. Yes, the hotel could do with some updating and yes the food is a little overpriced but it's very comfortable and the staff were some of the friendliest I've encountered anywhere. They couldn't have done more for us.

Bottom line, for its price bracket, it does just fine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 995Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear 995Sara,

Thank you for your positive feedback, especially regarding our staff - what fantastic comments!

Please be assured we are in the process of renovating our hotel but this is an ongoing process - hopefully on your next visit you will see the improvements we are constantly making.

Many thanks again, we appreciate your comments and hope you will return back to Marwell Hotel very soon to enjoy all the great local attractions which we are lucky to have so close by.

With kindest regards

Marwell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,745 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing