We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star hotel 4 star price”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
London
1 review
“2 star hotel 4 star price”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Photos nothing like actual accomodation. Would have been better staying at premier inn. Bathroom from the 80's with stains from years of use. Had to phone for extra towel only one supplied. Then had the displeasure of having "service" added to bill without asking. Also no phone reception wifi would be good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    439
    265
    115
    68
See reviews for
375
432
33
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We have just returned from a stay at the Marwell Hotel and are very disappointed. The hotel says it is a safari themed 'bespoke' hotel. The only bit of safari theming was a giraffe-print chair in the bedroom.
The rooms are quite shabby, ours had a view of a large container and the bins, and was small and incredibly hot and stuffy.
The bathroom was tiny, with a mouldy shower curtain and nothing felt particularly clean.
The 'pool' is the size of a large bath and the 'gym' consists of a bike and rowing machine at the bottom end of the pool, meaning you walk around the pool area in your trainers - very unhygenic. There are also two treadmills in a room that could have been a loo in a previous life.

Breakfast was mediocre.

All in all this hotel is hideously overpriced, not at all 'safari themed' and very very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I love the fact that it is very clean, calm and relaxing with the hot indoor pool and jacuzzzi.
Plus when we left the reception desk had music on. Nice and close to the zoo this is a great holiday destination for families and couples. It gave the theme of a safari park being next to one. We went to the zoo as well with was fun!!
Breakfast next day wonderful and the ladies that served it were nice and kind as well.
All and all it was a very good stay. I didn't like that hot, stuffy rooms though.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WowGuy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

My partner and I stayed at this hotel as we were visiting the zoo and walking the pilgrims trail from Marlow to Winchester. I was a little disappointed by the rooms and the overall standard of the hotel... it looks quite shabby and in need of some updating. However, we had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant and breakfast was very good too. I do think this hotel is over priced and really wouldn't stay again unless the cost went down significantly. The woodland and area around the hotel were lovely and we very much enjoyed our walk and indeed our weekend at Marwell.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoShayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Don't believe the hype - this hotel is not boutique. We spent £85 for a double room that:

1. Was a "no smoking" room, but reeked of smoke - it was stale and musty smelling;
2. Had walls so thin that you could hear people in the hallway/next door talking;
3. Had a bathroom that smelled of urine;
4. Had a bathroom with scummy / mouldy taps.


Would not return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Despite some of the less favourable reviews on the Marwell, we booked a last minute break directly with the hotel, and received a welcome discount. We travelled with our five year old. We booked a Superior room as I had read that the rooms were tired, and we were certainly not disappointed. The room was very clean and spacious with a large double and a single bed. The bathroom was modern, with fresh towels and gels/shampoos etc. The idea of staying in an African themed hotel appealed to us, and that aspect of the hotel was appreciated by our child. We ate in the hotel on 2 nights, where we chose from the Bar Menu, and the Steaks were quite simply excellent and better than I have eaten in many more "fancy" restaurants.
There is also an excellent childrens menu, which is very reasonably priced, and was also very good quality. The main restaurant menu appeared quite expensive.
Breakfast was good, with a good choice of cereals, fruit etc, and a cooked breakfast cooked to order. Waitress service was very attentive at breakfast.
An all round very pleasant place to stay, especially for children.
One small criticism would be the addition of 5% servie charge to your bill, which transpires is completely optional, although it is added without first asking the guest.
On check-out however, this was pointed out to me by the receptionist, and it was then deleted without question, although it would be prudent to remember to ask for this to be deleted, rather than wait for it to be mentioned !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We booked as a late booking on tuesday this week. We had thought of going to the zoo for some time. some friends of ours said they had stayed in the hotel and were very pleased.
The hotel gives very little away from the outside, but once inside it is just delightful. The reception , receptionist was warm and inviting. The walk to the room is via a window lines 'tunnel' so you get the full effect of being surrounded by woodland. We were on the ground floor of the 'giraffe suites' The room was fabulous. The biggest bed i have seen. The bathroom was very clean and well presented. The The room was decorated very tastefully to fit in with the safari theme.
We decided to stay in the hotel for our evening meal and the food was fantastic. Panfried shetland king scallops with black pudding and creamed leeks for starters. Roast rump of lamp served with buttered savoy and pearl barley parcel (which was amazing) dauphinoise potatoes and rosemary jus. The lamb was cooked to perfection and soooo tasty. i asked if it would be possible at the beginning of the meal for a cheese board to be bought to room temperature and was delighted when the cheeses came out to find they were just right ( Lyburns aged wincehster, dorset blue vinny, somerset brie and rosary goates cheese with fruit chutney , rapes, clelery and biscuits.

There was nothing to fault with the whole stay. This hotel is only AA rated as 3 stars. having stayed in hotels that ocst three times as much and have been 4 stars, my opinion is that it is very under rated. And exceptional value!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaynorBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,763 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,071 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing