We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location ,great food”
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Had a lovely trip here.Stayed in one of the newer rooms opposite the pub which was nice and quiet but getting the luggage up all the stairs was a bit of a struggle but I am sure the staff would have helped if asked.It was nicely equipped and decorated.The bar is very quirky and enjoyed having a few drinks here before dining in the restaurant.The food was excellent.The car park was interesting but at least it has one.We didn't need to use our car during our stay as there is so much to do here.We loved being so close to the beautiful Cathedral and enjoyed a lovely concert there one evening.Look forward to returning here.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank DundeeDelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2006

This pub, as someone else on here said, is all English pubs should be like, but few nowadays are. It is ideal for foreign visitors who hope to have an authentic English experience. The rooms are split between over the bar and across the road; we had a room just above the bar. The room was perfect with a welcoming bear to greet us! It had a settee positioned nicely to relax and view the TV – which we did, snuggled up with hot chocolate and tea with real milk, provided in the mini bar. We had stayed in rather inferior accommodation in Bath the previous 2 nights and this was luxury! The bed was the best I have ever slept in beside my own.. lovely soft pillows, a duvet with crisp linen and a wonderful mattress.

On arrival we had lunch – doorstep hot turkey sarni’s – which were great. The beer is kept well and my husband was VERY pleased with the HSB. We had booked for dinner and weren’t disappointed – the food is excellent. Yes our room was a little noisy until the pub closed, but it didn't stop us sleeping like logs. The full English breakfast was the best I have had anywhere! Perfect poached eggs and great sausage. Staff were mostly pleasant and helpful. All in all, whilst not inexpensive, a great place stay.

The location was great, it was full of local people who came in for lunch and later people met for a drink after work and the place was buzzing.. a pub with reputation and character – I fully recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank screamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

Stayed at the Wykeham Arms in October. To say the experience was disappointing would be an understatement.

First of all, our double room was poky and unclean. There were stains on the walls, the doors, and even the ceiling (how? why?) The experience of being in such an unsavory environment makes one want to take a shower – unfortunately the ceiling in the shower is so low, you are unable to stand. Which means you are forced to bathe, not shower (as advertised). The bathroom floor becomes unavoidably wet and riddled with puddles after the aforementioned bath/shower. Unexpected grotty side effect of bathroom puddles… when cleaning them up, your white towel becomes black with floor dirt and grime.

As the inn is above a restaurant, you awake to the charming sounds of delivery vans in the wee hours of the morning. If you are lucky enough to be asleep, considering the walls are so paper thin you can hear every sound your neighboring guests make.

The restaurant is popular and seems quite nice. The staff, not so nice. We were treated poorly by the waitress, who was unaccommodating and chock full of attitude. We decided to leave, and had a lovely dinner instead on the High Street.

My advice for a wonderful stay in Westminster? Consider staying anywhere except the Wykeham Arms.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pwicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank moiramerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koratcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2006

7  Thank asinellobianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discosturules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
666 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,132 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £97 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing