We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quaint and "quirky" place to stay in Winchester.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint and "quirky" place to stay in Winchester.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for one night on a Sunday in the Post Box room in the annex over the road from the pub as we were visiting our daughter. The room is really lovely and spacious, light and airy and I fell in love with the teddy bear on the bed. However, it overlooks the street which was quiet on Sunday night but by Monday morning was a little noisy with the hussle and bustle of weekday life! The location of the pub makes this issue forgivable. We did not eat in the pub as our daughter had already booked a table for us at the Porterhouse Steakhouse. We did, however, have breakfast at the pub and would thoroughly recommend the full English breakfast as it was very well presented with excellent local produce and also a very well thoughtout help-your-self table of other breakfast fare! We didnt want to eat again until latger afternoon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindam296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    188
    83
    40
    24
See reviews for
115
361
44
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Spent a weekend at the Wykeham arms, Beaufort room (double). Very welcoming and relaxing, with very nice location (close to Cathedral close). Pub is atmospheric: busy, and with lots of artefacts on the walls. Breakfast was good (both buffet and cooked). Ate in the restaurant Friday night too: very good meal. Menu quite short for vegetarians, though the kitchen was flexible. The pub is in a quiet area but there was unfortunately some noise very late in the evenings (I think it was end of term at the nearby public school) - so we were woken up. Bed and linen were good. Decor of room and bathroom (separate slipper bath and shower) very nice. There is car parking at the back; when busy you will be double parked and likely have to move car or let them move it for you. This worked well.
Does not allow children under 14.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I booked a single room and was put in the Kelsey, a lovely big room, nice bathroom, ironing board, iron and hairdryer all in the wardrobe. Complementary drinks in the fridge and real milk...lovely breakfast..ideal location for Winchester and the city centre and bus station..I visited Chawton...over the last couple of years I have visited Edinburgh, Bath, Wadebridge, Exeter and London and this was by far the best hotel I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia5627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My mom and I stayed in Kelsey, a room in the former post office building across the street from the main inn. We had a clean, spacious room with a large bathroom (with shower-over-tub). Teddy bears on the beds are adoptable and I wanted to take one home! The stairs to the second level are quite narrow and steep, so pack accordingly. We didn't have any problems with noise as we were away from both the street and the pub. Breakfast in the morning was a cereal-and-pastry buffet with hot food cooked to order, and friendly staff. We had dinner in the pub, which, as other reviewers have noted, was a bit overpriced, but very tasty and well-prepared. It's in a great location for exploring the town--around the corner from the cathedral and the high street--but a little difficult to find (you have to wander through and around the cathedral grounds, make a couple of turns, go through the gate, make another turn . . . ) but once you find it you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My Husband and I stayed here as a mini honeymoon for a couple of nights and we were not disappointed. Excellent location, charming setting. We stayed in December and it was a perfect time of year to go. The restaurant and pub atmosphere is really cosy and inviting. Not too far away was the Xmas Market which made you feel really Christmasy! The food we couldn't fault, if anything I was overwhlemed with all the food i ate! We stayed in a lovely room, with a four poster bed. There were extra heaters in the room so we stayed warm and cosy. Just a really lovely stay. I would recommend anyone going to Winchester to stay here, or at the very least pop in for a drink!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitewine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were here only for lunch one day and found the Wykeham Arms to be very interesting and charming. Hundreds of pieces of memorabilia on the walls, etc. We could browse for hours. We have a very nice lunch; a little more expensive than you might expect elsewhere, but this place is unique.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just outside a cathedral gate, the hotel was an excellent location for exploring the town. Room was comfortable, although we were directly above the pub and could hear some noise - not a problem on a Sunday night but could be an issue on a weekend.

Speaking of the pub, it's seriously cool and I found myself wishing I had one just like it at home.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Property: The Wykeham Arms
Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing