We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a drink!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for a drink!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This review is purely about The Wykeham Arms as a 'pub' as I have never eaten or stayed there. Pop in for a very quick drink early afternoon on a fairly regular basis when visiting Winchester. The welcome from the staff is always first-rate - they know what I usually drink and will talk to you if they are not too busy. The atmosphere is great and the open log fires are fantastic when the weather is cool/dull/raining! An excellent choice of wines … and whiskies, judging by the displays! Not cheap but probably fair for the quality. Excellent location too for historic centre of winchester but parking in the immediate area is horrendous and the WA's car park is only for its residents. Be warned … traffic wardens do patrol the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cidersplodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    190
    86
    40
    26
See reviews for
117
372
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I came here with my wife and a few friends for a few drinks, the beer garden is lovely on a sunny day. Classic British pub inside with a great selection of ales, I would happily come back. We didn't try the food but it smelt great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Fullers are a great family brewer bad owned of some beautiful pubs; The Wykeham Arms is not exception. It does however pretend to be a restaurant and fails every time deliver basic good food at reasonable prices. The Chesil Rectory is a little for more formal, but is a better bet if you want a great dinner and service experience. At the WA I had soggy, undercooked pan fried cod served on a cold slate (why!?#) , dry black pudding with poncy-tastes-like-air "bacon snow" - leave these touches to proper kitchens! Prices are outrageous, even if you can afford them, for what you actually get. Our waiter was friendly but more concerned about being performer than someone who cared about whether our food was good or not (I told him and he'd know chef would be disappointed that his exacting sand arcs weren't met, apparently.) not as disappointed as me I can tell you. Avoided coffee and pudding as £9 a hit just takes the p*ss out of people. Been a few times and honestly won't go back to eat - bit lovely for a drink.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fancyacuppatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
In response to your review, I am disappointed that you feel this way about the food side of The Wykeham Arms. I am encouraged by your continued support of the Wykeham as a pub, although I strongly disagree that we "Pretend" to be a restaurant. The 2 rosettes as awarded to us by the AA are not generally given out to pretenders. And also the menu is split into two sections, one of which, containing 6 of the twelve main courses on offer, is labelled - home comforts. In this section you will find simple and recogniseable dishes such as Mussells in white wine sauce, Belly pork and mash, the "wyk" cottage pie, Fish and chips, and all at very competitive prices for the area. So really, the choice is there.
I have taken your point on board about the puddings, and we have recently changed some items here to add more value to the customer. We constantly monitor the feedback we receive and always try and use it to positively influence the business.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Writing this after reading in our local paper how brilliant this place is. Unbelievable, even by local rag, grovelly standards. I was narked in particular by the reviewers reference to negative tripadvisor comments. Apparently such negative reviewers are 'idiots'. So, here is another idiot who definitely did not find his evening at The Wykeham Arms to be anything like excellent.
The place is well located, attractive and full of interesting local pictures and artefacts. The food was tasty and the beer good. Now for the downsides, and there are many.
- ludicrously expensive. Bill for a quiet evening out for 4 over £170. This is not a michelin starred london restaurant but a pub in Winchester
- appallingly pretentious (see above)
- tiny portions. Fine dining? No, just mean
- slow service

Let's sum up by telling you about just one aspect of a disappointing experience. Ordered the cheeseboard. Very expensive. Took forever to arrive. Served on a silly piece of slate. A few pieces of unimpressive cheese and five small (50p size) hard biscuits located in a silly little lidded box.
One of the party suggested stopping for chips on the way back. We were tempted!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear John R

My apologies for your feelings regarding the Review in the Hampshire Chronicle. The reviewer dined in March 2014, and you dined in October 2013. Can I suggest you give us another try, as we have come a long way in the 6 months since your visit, most notably with a new head chef, who joined us in November.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely old pub with good range of real ales and friendly staff. But ridiculously expensive. £14.50 for fish and chips is just a rip-off and a pint of bitter is a few pence off £4. They obviously target the tourists who only ever come once. Such a shame.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank davidreeves_104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We wanted a quick weekend away with good accommodation , great food and lots to explore. The Wykeham Arms is the place to go! We were delighted with the location as the hotel was at the back entrance to the Cathedral grounds. This meant lovely short walks through the grounds to the High street and the surrounding lanes and riverside. Delightful.

The building itself is extremely old with bags of character. Our twin room ( with beds joined) was large and nicely decorated with eclectic finds mixed with a modern décor. The bathroom in the 'Redman' room is very challenging for tall people as it is built in the eaves. The toiletries and bath sheets were excellent and in the room itself the sundries were very generous. Apart from the usual hot drinks and biscuits we found in the fridge 4 bottles of water and two bottles of Fullers beer. All complimentary. There was a hair dryer and ironing facilities provided.

The bar was amazing with a log fire and school desks mixed with church collection tables and a numerous mix of chairs. The beers and wines on offer were amazing and so was the food. The Restaurant was delightful and we dined on Scallops, Venison and Steak washed down with a great wine we had never heard of. The prices are quite high but if you choose well you can order Fish & Chips and still enjoy the ambience. Breakfast was served on gorgeous china and the menu included a wonderful smoked salmon prepared in Fullers beer! But the best thing about this inn was the staff! Very friendly and helpful from Reception to Restaurant! We will definitely return.
Top Tips
Arrive in between 11.30am -12.30pm to get a parking space in the limited car park.
Book your meal in the restaurant as it was very popular with the locals.

Room Tip: TOP TIPS Ask for a lower room if you have mobility problems as the stairs are ancient and very st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybilbee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Went in on the off chance because we were told to book,however got a table, and was not disappointed great food ,great wine candlelit tables and lovely friendly staff,had our meal and sat in the bar we had a fantastic night

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Casbat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Property: The Wykeham Arms
Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing