We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday lunch in a pub of character”
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Dined here a couple of Sundays ago with a small group. Our meals were tasty - traditional roast Sunday lunch, fish and risotto - and we loved our small dining room crammed with memorabilia. Service was friendly and attentive. I liked the fact that dogs are allowed in the bar. The only drawback was the retro loo, suitable strictly for midgets or gymnasts. One of our party had difficulty negotiating the door and hurt her back when she fell on the iron cistern.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Petal1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were looking for something close to the road north after coming off the ferry from Spain and the Wykeham Arms looked good and was reasonably priced. I am pleased to say we were not let down. Arriving late on the Sunday night and on booking in learned that the kitchen had just closed but the manager had it remain open for us which was very good of them.

While waiting for dinner we were shown to our room, the Redford which was really nice and clean and well furnished. Its supposed to have a ghost but he obliged by staying away!!.

The dining room is very nice with lots and lots of artefacts on the walls which provided plenty of talking points. We both had the steak which was very nice and well presented no complaints from either of us.

Back up to the room and watched the end of the World Cup final before falling asleep in the wonderful bed complete with very good pillows. Very good nights sleep for both of us. The shower is very unusual in that it is the first time I have had to kneel in the shower but fitting the bathroom into the room in a hotel of its age is a compromise and it didn't really give a problem.

We had the traditional English breakfast from the menu in the morning and it was really nice and set us up for the journey home. After breakfast we gave the dogs a walk in the Cathedral grounds 2 or 3 minutes away before a cheery check out and out to the car park for the drive home.

Having tried it out we shall certainly use the Wykeham Arms again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlanMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm a bit biased -I worked here when I left school. It was a whim to return and have a night away.
I was made welcome and so comfortable that it was a wrench to leave. Breakfast was a pleasure, not too big, not too small, just right. The chap on the next table abandoned his healthy plans as a result of seeing it.
Jon and his staff are doing an excellent job in maintaining the reputation of the redoubtable Mr Jameson. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Penfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good start, friendly welcome, very nice room, then went down to dinner, didn't get acknowledged by the bar man at all (still waiting) he only seemed interested in chatting to the locals and watching tv. The young guy who had showed us to our room only a couple of hours earlier had already forgotten our name and which room we were staying in?!

Menu slightly over the top for the type of establishment maybe trying to be something they are not. Choose our wine to be advised to go for another one by the waiter(£10 more expensive fell for that one) offered bread and olives no surprise to be charged for them! Trout starter nice but small portion husbands soup delicious, good bowl full then came the main lamb rump with seasonal vegetables taste good but cold unlike my husbands steak that hot - had mine been left waiting? Mentioned it to the over friendly wine waiter who said he would mention it to the chef and offered me a free coffee - unfortunately I don't drink coffee - hey hoy.
Breakfast - same guy still couldn't remember our name or room? Eventually we were asked to order our cooked breakfast, smoked haddock and poached eggs x 2, toast? Brown or white - mixed pleased. Cooked breakfast came and guess what cold poached eggs - how? Why? Oh and my husbands came on white toast and mine or brown - mixed toast lol. Was enjoying my orange juice until waitress lent over to collect plates and her grubby looking wrist band attached to some kind of key fob dangled into my juice. Lovely mug of tea in pretty mugs but need to try harder else where for the prices charged.. Gave verbal feed back re. cold food when paying the bill to be told will pass onto the chef! Mandy N, Cumbria.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent meal as usual at the Wykeham last week but could not believe portion sizes of the starters. The scallops at £9.50 consisted of just two scallops! Aesthetically 3 would have looked so much better and not as mean

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Winchester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stopped here for a drink one sunny afternoon when touring Winchester - wow - love little old pubs like this that have kept their character and not tried to go all "gastropub"
Nice little outdoor seating area to the rear & beer was good, couldn't comment on anything else as was a flying visit - but will make a point of visiting again.
Bar staff also very friendly & great selection of beers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JPShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cannot rate this establishment highly enough. Staff are friendly and efficient.The Wykeham Arms has a laid back but professional ambiance. Outside terrace is pretty, breakfasts adorable, beautifully cooked food served on pretty china. We stayed in the Hamilton Room, which was very spacious, overlooking the street, slept like tops in the huge bed and had great fun in the gold coloured claw foot roll top bath. Didn't want to leave and my husband said the added bonus was that it was a Fuller's pub! Enjoyed an excellent meal, steak cooked perfectly, which is unusual in most restaurants we frequent. Beautiful Malbec completed the meal. Looking forward to returning to the WA - location is adjacent to the cathedral and College. Stunning .

Room Tip: Rooms steeped in history are part of the pub. Over the road are some beautiful contemporary rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
652 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £86 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing