We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the welcome to the check out it was brilliant. The room was lovely and very comfortable, bathroom shower was really good, which is always a good sign of a hotel. Food was fantastic as was the service. The atmosphere in the pub was really good too. Cannot fault the Wykeham Arms at all. Would definitely go back. Only 2 mins walk from the centre of Winchester.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alixxx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    192
    87
    41
    28
See reviews for
123
379
47
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a good hour or so here for a drink in this lovely bar, which is full of character and history with lovely wooden panelled walls. It was amazing to see the old school desks being used as tables. Lots of photos, and pictures lining the walls and plenty of tankards hanging from the ceilings. Will definitely return for another visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JANICER26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nestled between the quaint, narrow streets of Winchester city-centre and a stone's throw from the beautiful Winchester Cathedral (if you haven't been, you must!), The Wykeham Arms is a surprisingly good pub with rooms, but with a boutique-hotel feel.

We arrived early to attend a friend's wedding later that afternoon, but staff went out of their way to make our room available 2 hours prior to check-in time while we enjoyed a light lunch in the pub, which we really appreciated. The pub itself serves delicious pub food (we had a steak sandwich and pulled pork sandwich with triple-cooked chips) and the service is very friendly - something that seems hard to come by lately.

The rooms are simply but beautifully decorated and the charming interior makes you feel as though you're staying in a cottage rather than a pub with rooms. The only drawback was the street noise, which was expected and anticipated. The pub closed at a reasonable hour, but we were woken a few times to the sounds of people talking/shouting loudly beneath our window (which was open because it was very hot that evening - a fan had been provided, but we wanted the fresh air) in the early hours of the morning. Not the hotel's fault, but just an unfortunate by-product of the location of the room.

We left Wykeham Arms feeling revived, rested, and very happy. I'd recommend it to anyone passing through for a short stay in Winchester.

Room Tip: The Street room, whilst beautiful, faces directly onto the street (hence the name!) so bear this in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angloyankophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finchdean
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Wykeham Arms is in a great central location to walk around the historic centre of Winchester,whilst you are there also take time for a stroll along the banks of the river Itchen where you can see the trout in the clear chalk water.The food was delicious,the menu using local produce.In the bar and restaurant are many "artifacts and oddities",a bishops mitre,Churchill's funeral programme,cartoons to name but a few.We thought ideal for couples that don't talk!!,we've all seen them!Our large room was across the road from the restaurant and had a lovely courtyard garden to sit and chill.We will be back.p.s the staff were fantastic too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royston_Yvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Dined here a couple of Sundays ago with a small group. Our meals were tasty - traditional roast Sunday lunch, fish and risotto - and we loved our small dining room crammed with memorabilia. Service was friendly and attentive. I liked the fact that dogs are allowed in the bar. The only drawback was the retro loo, suitable strictly for midgets or gymnasts. One of our party had difficulty negotiating the door and hurt her back when she fell on the iron cistern.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petal1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were looking for something close to the road north after coming off the ferry from Spain and the Wykeham Arms looked good and was reasonably priced. I am pleased to say we were not let down. Arriving late on the Sunday night and on booking in learned that the kitchen had just closed but the manager had it remain open for us which was very good of them.

While waiting for dinner we were shown to our room, the Redford which was really nice and clean and well furnished. Its supposed to have a ghost but he obliged by staying away!!.

The dining room is very nice with lots and lots of artefacts on the walls which provided plenty of talking points. We both had the steak which was very nice and well presented no complaints from either of us.

Back up to the room and watched the end of the World Cup final before falling asleep in the wonderful bed complete with very good pillows. Very good nights sleep for both of us. The shower is very unusual in that it is the first time I have had to kneel in the shower but fitting the bathroom into the room in a hotel of its age is a compromise and it didn't really give a problem.

We had the traditional English breakfast from the menu in the morning and it was really nice and set us up for the journey home. After breakfast we gave the dogs a walk in the Cathedral grounds 2 or 3 minutes away before a cheery check out and out to the car park for the drive home.

Having tried it out we shall certainly use the Wykeham Arms again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a bit biased -I worked here when I left school. It was a whim to return and have a night away.
I was made welcome and so comfortable that it was a wrench to leave. Breakfast was a pleasure, not too big, not too small, just right. The chap on the next table abandoned his healthy plans as a result of seeing it.
Jon and his staff are doing an excellent job in maintaining the reputation of the redoubtable Mr Jameson. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Penfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Property: The Wykeham Arms
Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing