We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

This is a very old and fascinating building in a lovely town. However I was disappointed in the size of the room, which was actually in a building over the road from the hotel itself. I am very slight so managed for two nights. A larger person or one with more than a very small suitcase would struggle in this room and in its tiny ensuite. You could barely turn around in the room or ensuite. Even though the room was clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast excellent I would not rate this as value for money in comparison to other similar places in England.

  • Liked — The breakfast and breakfast room
  • Disliked — The tiny size of the room and its access
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarianJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    188
    83
    40
    25
See reviews for
115
361
44
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
faversham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

My wife and I visited Winchester and chose the Wykeham Arms from recommendations in the Good Ber Guide, Good Pub Guide and from tripadvisor.
It is a beautiful ramshackled inn delivering a fantastic package of accommodation, food and a tremendous bar. Clearly popular with locals it was heaving on a Monday night.
Our room was pleasantly decorated although the bathroom was a litle shabby. The room was very noisy although we went to bed late and got up early. There were some nice touches but the lighting was dim and my wife struggled to read.
The bed, unexpectedly, was one of the most comfortable I've slept in.
We tried to eat downstairs in their highly regarded restaurant but we were told they stopped taking customers after 8.45pm.
We also took our dog with us ~ which they permitted.
Breakfast was in a lovely room with plenty of table linen and a fair selection of food. Adequate.
So why am I disatisfied? Well this is a three-star hotel above a pub and the room rate is £115.00 per night. That seems a excessive ~ especially when you pay extra to have the dog and extra to use the internet.
I could book into the 5* Grand Hotel in Brighton the same night for almost half the price (£63) AND get free wifi.
Wifi is free in McDonalds, Starbucks and a whole range of places. What kind of penny-pinching is this?
We were charged £7.50 for the dog. Okay. What did we get for that? Nothing. The Crown & Castle in Orford (good hotel) charge £10 but you get a dog towel, blanket and bed provided, a welcome letter and a bag of biscuits.
Can you see the diference?
The Wykeham Arms offers a 3* room worth about £80 for £115.00 (5* prices). To make it worth £115.00 some serious value needs to be added. Flowers, wifi, dog gifts, DVDs, a safe, trouser press ~ the list of what could be added, but wasn't there is huge.
I looked and I couldnt find it.
Maybe people have more money than sense in Hampshire.

  • Liked — the bed!
  • Disliked — the price!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mightybighands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

Shocking: the owners were rude, pompous and arrogant. The food is over-priced, the staff apparently underfed and the patrons a danger to themselves and others. Even upon alighting from my vehicle, I was leapt upon and subjected to a veritable tirade of accusations that I've scarce seen the likes of! It was some time before I'd sufficiently convinced them of my patronage to earn my parking space, and their treatment of my wife and I from then on was downright disdainful. Having once upon a time been a student of winchester college, I booked a room at the wickham for a nostalgic night near the bosom of my alma mata, only to be horrified by the experience. I would advise people from all walks of life give this abomnible establishment an extremely wide berth.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — The management
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert_rugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

Of all the B&B's I've stayed in, this was my favourite - firstly, it was the most homely, with very nicely decorated rooms and friendly staff. Second the breakfast was good and third there was nothing to fault

  • Liked — Friendly, homely, comfortable
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one night and would definitely go back again, the next time for longer. Fabulous room, clean and spacious with a huge bathroom. The teddy bear on the bed was a lovely touch. Considering we were in the middle of a city it was so tranquil. No traffic noise whatsoever. The main pub/restaurant has a few rooms above it but we stayed in the St Georges annex just across the road (only about 10 steps across the narrow road!!). Please bear in mind the building is extremely old so there is quite a bit of noise from creeking floorboards and you can hear other guests talking and flushing the loo etc but a lot quieter than a lot of other hotels I've stayed in with banging doors all night. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was absolutely delicious. The wine list is vast and the food all cooked to order to a very high standard. Its very very popular so you must book in advance. The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had and once again freshly cooked.
You do pay a little over the odds for the food but it really was worth it. All in all, we had a lovely stay and highly recommend it. A superb location if you want to be in the centre of Winchester if you're a tourist.

  • Liked — The spacious room and bathroom
  • Disliked — Noise from the other rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We are all entitled to our opinion, but I am amazed at some of the negative reviews of the Wykeham. It is a true pub for starters - an area for drinkers, and an area for diners, with very little overlapping. Unlike some "pubs" who more or less insist that you dine there.

We also like the bedrooms, breakfast room and above all the decor downstairs - unique! Former owner Graeme Jameson (now sadly no longer with us) was a visionary.

Yes it is expensive, but ever since we began staying there for mini breaks ten years ago, I have never found cause to grumble. The food is excellent, they don't allow the dreaded mobiles, and it's rare to hear swearing

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

Stayed here a while ago, heard it was now under (new) management. The garden in the back has been turned into a car park with a narrow bricked patio edge. How anyone can eat out there is astonishing. Food is good for a pub, but not to restaurant standard despite the price. Definitely less customers so people seem to be voting with their feet!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thughes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Property: The Wykeham Arms
Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing