We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 6 and 8 year old loved it”

Winchester Science Centre & Planetarium
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Winchester Science Centre & Planetarium is an interactive hands-on Science Centre with 100 hands-on science exhibits plus also the UK's largest capacity digital planetarium. Most of the exhibits have been made by the in-house Workshop Team, in conjunction with partners such as Universities and industry. Exhibits, shows and events all year round for adults and children. Open 7 days a week. Ticket options: day tickets for the Hands-on Exhibition and tickets for planetarium shows may be bought separately or as a bundle deal. Family saver offer for those visiting with children. Winchester Science Centre is an independent charity reliant on ticket income. All funds received are reinvested in the activities of the charity which includes construction of new exhibits and daily maintenance of the current exhibit stock, education visits and workshops, mobile planetarium and outreach, events for adults including singles nights - and upkeep of the building.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at 10 am...expecting to be there for an hour or so...but we were still there at 3 pm. The children absolutely loved it.

No idea where the people with the negative comments visited, but it didn'y sound like the place we visited. To be honest, the Planatarium part of teh visit, while enjoyable, was not the main event for us..the children prefering the exhibits, especially the sporty ones.

We ate in the cafe...and it was completely fine...not the best, but certainly not the worst.

1  Thank jillhomeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 601 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hands on learning fun for the whole family, for all ages, well worth a visit for an afternoon, rain or shine

Thank KJx_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Don't know where the negative commenting people had visited as we found plenty of interesting exhibits. I came with my Grandsons age 8 and 17 and found plenty to entertain us all. I like the idea that you can bring your own food and have somewhere to eat it. Pleased to say on one test that at the age of 71 my flexibility was off the scale (good old yoga!!). I live in Cornwall and it would be great to have something similar on our doorstep.

Thank Cornishmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at 10:00 am to check out the Science Centre and Planetarium before bringing our granddaughter - who's fascinated by all things 'space' - in a couple of weeks. What a disappointment! The Science Centre is small, and the exhibits reminded me of my school science demonstrations way back in the 60's. For example: there's a model of a human eye to show that the image is projected upside down (no surprise there); a beam balance; a tennis ball thrower, an optical bench, and possibly the dullest 'exploring the universe' exhibit imaginable - you shine a light on an area of a photograph of the sun (or galaxy, etc.) and you get an explanation on headphones. No videos of solar flares, animation, computer animations (BTW, I'm an astronomer) or anything fun.
Despite arriving at opening time we didn't get to see the planetarium at all (for an extra £2) because it was fully booked by school parties ("They book months ahead," said the man at the check-in desk) until mid-afternoon.
Avoid.

3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTECH_staff, Director at Winchester Science Centre & Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Thank you for visiting the Science Centre and also taking the time to write a Review. The planetarium is amazing and the staff's knowledge is as breathtaking. Just to let you know that since 2012 over 60% of the exhibits have either been built as new or renovated. New for this month is The Voice Trunk created by The University of Winchester and shorting new exhibits built with assistance from the University of Southampton will be finished in our own workshop. The Under the Sea Zone launched in April 2014 features a real ROV! There are over 20 free factsheets on our website to assist with visits. Schools book the morning planetarium shows weekdays in school term times - there are afternoon shows for the public on these days. Why not come back and see a planetariums show on a weekend or an evening? All show details and timings are listed on the website. Verena - Science Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Waste of time & money
Over half the exhibits broken or non working, staff rude and disinterested and leave the overpriced cafe alone...

2  Thank missxbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTECH_staff, Director at Winchester Science Centre & Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for the time to visit Winchester Science Centre and also for taking the time to post a review. At the start of the day of your visit 98% of the exhibits worked and repairs were carried out during the day by the Workshop Department. There are over 150,000 visitors to the Science Centre each year and therefore the most popular exhibits will be used at least 300,000 times a year. As you can imagine with wear-and-tear of course things will unexpectedly break. Many visitors download one of over 20 resource sheets that are free on our website before visiting to extend their learning. The charity works hard to match the expectations of customers and I am sorry that you did not wholly enjoy your visit. Verena - Science Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winchester Science Centre & Planetarium also viewed

 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Winchester Science Centre & Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing