We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Marwell Zoo

Marwell Zoo
Ranked #13 of 71 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our 140-acre park is home to an incredible range of exotic and endangered species, in beautiful, landscaped surroundings. Just by visiting Marwell Zoo (owned and operated by conservation charity, Marwell Wildlife) you'll be making a big contribution to our projects to conserve species and habitats, both here in Hampshire and around the world. If you're loopy for lemurs, be sure to look out for Lemur Loop. A walkthrough exhibit opened summer 2017. Coming 2018 - At a cost of £7.8M, our new Tropical House will be the largest exhibit ever built at Marwell. Opening at Easter, guests will be free to share the habitat and enjoy views of new, colourful and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects whilst learning about the flow of energy through life. Keep an eye out for new arrivals throughout the year too! Our £15-19 adult entry fee varies across the year and includes a voluntary donation of around 10%. Please check our website for full ticket prices.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a lovely place to visit, it's of a nice big size with a hugggee variety of animals!

It's very, very expensive though and I kinda felt as though I had to do the extra and gift aid part of my entry so was just about £20!! For me only! I know pricing is seasonal but I do feel the difference I paid to this, £8 in December? bit of a rip. The dinosaurs are interestingly bad, not really sure what they have to do with anything the new wallaby walk though is AMAZING!!!! these cute lil' wallabies are just hopping along and you can get in there and hop along with them!? FANTASTIC!!! :') We actually had the best time with them, walk through avaries are nice but would be better with a few more varieties of birds (chessington actually has loads in there's).

Overall great place to visit with ya kids or friends etc, me and my friends had a great day and we're all 20 or thereabouts! Just a shame it's so expensive to get in!

1  Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Marwell Zoo seeing all of our interesting species of animals.

It’s disappointing for us to hear that you feel our entry prices are expensive. We constantly review our fees and ensure that we are comparable with similar attractions within the region and offer a great experience. As Marwell Wildlife is a charity, all the surplus we make gets put straight back into the hard work we do. We are so grateful to any guest that chooses to pay the donation on their admission as it goes a long way in helping us achieve our conservational objectives. With donation it’s £19.00 per adult during the summer holidays and in the winter it’s £14.00 per adult.

Our exciting event Rise of the Dinosaurs is a temporary exhibition within the zoo until 2nd September. Since the project opened in May our young guests have been enthralled by the animatronic dinosaurs – adding to our family friendly and fun attraction. The exhibition has been installed to attract new audiences to the zoo – thereby introducing them to our animals and the vital conservation work we do. The increased income, brought about by increased visitor numbers, will allow us to invest further in the park itself and our charitable objectives in conservation and education. There is a vital education message alongside our Dinosaur exhibition. Children enjoy finding the dinosaurs on the adventure trail, discovering their own dinosaur in our fossil dig as well as having the opportunity to learn more about Dinosaurs in our Dinosaur Outpost and at our TRex talk. Rise of the Dinosaurs gives our guests the chance to learn about the extinction of species and it links in nicely with why it is so important to support the endangered species we do have here.

It’s wonderful that you enjoyed the wallaby walk-through so much in our recent Fur, Feather and Scales exhibit. We like to give our birds a lot of space in their aviaries so they don’t feel overcrowded. In our main aviary, we have over 12 different species of birds.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"road train"
in 95 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 70 reviews
"big cats"
in 62 reviews
"tropical house"
in 57 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 44 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 38 reviews
"cafe graze"
in 36 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 33 reviews
"red panda"
in 30 reviews
"giraffe house"
in 29 reviews
"animals seem"
in 27 reviews
"tiger cubs"
in 24 reviews
"father christmas"
in 38 reviews
"lots of space"
in 28 reviews
"annual pass"
in 56 reviews
"christmas experience"
in 26 reviews
"great family day"
in 36 reviews
Filter

1,666 - 1,670 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This used to be a great day out for kids and adults alike, but on this trip I can't see us returning.

Many pens were empty and so were the same animals shelters. On questioning a member of staff I was told that many animal had been moved due to some building work this year, not sure about this but it made it a poor day.

A lot of money has been spent on not life size plastic dinosaurs, for what reason is lost on me as this is a zoo not a natural history museum, that they are not life size only makes it worse.

This is compounded by the heap of banners around the park telling me about what I have already come to see (waste of their money), a lack of paper maps (you can download one on your phone if you can get a signal) and sign posts that point in the wrong direction.

On the whole we saw very few animal, most at a distance .... I think my rating of 2 is a residue of what it used to be.

Very poor, not worth the visit.

3  Thank Hon3st_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review after your visit. We are glad that you have enjoyed days here during previous visits but we are disappointed that this visit did not meet your expectations.

We are very unhappy to hear that you found it difficult to spot our animals we have here. Most of our animals have more than one place where guests can view them from. We encourage our guests to look very carefully in enclosures as our animals have some places they could hide. If a guest cannot spot them it’s best to return later in the day when there is a good chance the animal will be in a different place, easy to view. We do give our animals a lot of space and freedom in their enclosures so naturally, sometimes they will be further away. 2015 sees the biggest ever development at the zoo with Wild Explorers, a £2.8m investment in new homes for our rhinos, Grevy’s zebra and scimitar horned oryx – all species we have special responsibility for in the wild as well as a new immersive experience for our guests. To prepare for this our Hartmann’s zebras and ostriches have been relocated to other areas in the zoo.

Our exciting event Rise of the Dinosaurs is a temporary exhibition within the zoo until 2nd September. Since the project opened in May our young guests have been enthralled by the animatronic dinosaurs – adding to our family friendly and fun attraction. The exhibition has been installed to attract new audiences to the zoo – thereby introducing them to our animals and the vital conservation work we do. The increased income, brought about by increased visitor numbers, will allow us to invest further in the park itself and our charitable objectives in conservation and education. There is a vital education message alongside our Dinosaur exhibition. Children enjoy finding the dinosaurs on the adventure trail, discovering their own dinosaur in our fossil dig as well as having the opportunity to learn more about Dinosaurs in our Dinosaur Outpost and at our TRex talk. Rise of the Dinosaurs gives our guests the chance to learn about the extinction of species and it links in nicely with why it is so important to support the endangered species we do have here.

We feel that our banners around the park help advertise what we have here and ensure that our guests do not miss out on anything exciting, making the most of their visit. The banners are also to help the guests find their way around the park.

We no longer give out paper maps but instead we have provided many boards around the park and interactive maps to assist guests with directions. Guests can download the map to their phones and the majority of mobile networks work well within the park. There is, however, the option of purchasing a guide book for £2.99 which is full of fun animal facts and also includes a map on the back page.

We do hope you will change your mind about visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good variety of animals, informative details of the various animals. Easy to walk round, everything well spaced out. Food and service at Graze Cafe was good. Dinosaur trail was a hit as it helped us follow a route and answer the questions as well as taking us past all the animals and the play areas. The four children (ages 4 - 8) thought it was great as well as Grandparents & Mum. All ended the day tired but happy.
Parking was easy and well organised.

Thank ImbiberBampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful comments after your visit. We are so pleased that the day was enjoyed by all in your family seeing our animals and having fun walking round our park. It’s great that you found the food and service at Café Graze good and brilliant to hear that the dinosaur trail was a big hit! We hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Marwell doesn't change it's the same year in year out! I tried very hard to ensure my 5yr old experience of a zoo was fantastic. He was bored within minutes as the majority of animals were hiding or too far away to get him to focus among the foliage etc etc! He was more interested in spotting the plastic dinosaurs around the zoo & obviously the gift shop! An expensive day out not to be repeated. Also night visits/parties need to be stopped, give the animals a break.

Thank Flex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your visit.

There is something different each year at Marwell Zoo for all to enjoy. After last year’s new Fur, Feather & Sclaes exhibit, new snow leopard cubs and successful Go Rhinos project, this year we have introduced Rise of the Dinosaurs and many other newborns to the park. Marwell is continuing to develop and improve each year with new enclosures and exhibits so we are disappointed to hear that you think it’s the same every year.

We are unhappy that your 5 year old son was less interested in our animals. Most young guests enjoy trying to seek out the animal in its environment as it adds to their fun and helps them to interact. We like to make the animals enclosures as close to their natural habitat as possible. This means that they have various objects to hide behind such as vegetation and climbing structures. However, most of our exhibits have numerous viewpoints and enable the guest to get a good look. We do advise that you look very carefully for the animal and return to it later in the day.

Our animatronic dinosaurs have proven to be very popular this year, especially with the children so we are pleased to hear that your son did enjoy these.

We consistently review our prices within the park to ensure that we are in line with other attractions of this type in the region. As Marwell Wildlife is a charity, all surplus gets put straight back into our hard work which helps us achieve our vital conservation objectives.

This year we have hosted 3 public events during the evening when, naturally, most of our animals are more active. Animal welfare is at the forefront of everything we do, including our Sunset Party in the Park events and Dream Night.

We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Marwell Wildlife is an amazing place! Its a huge wildlife park with Animals, Bird's and other creatures from all around the world! A few years ago it was called Marwell Zoo, but I am so glad they became more of a wildlife park because it makes the experience so much more amazing. I went with my family, back a few months ago after the winter, on the first nice day of the year, was a great day out (defo best in the sunshine or when it's not raining)! Was extremely happy to see such large spaces for animals!! I had noticed they had refurbished larges areas of the park with a great cafe and one of the largest Meerkat areas I've even seen in the UK! The free tractor ride is always fun and saves your legs if your their all day! Don't forget to see the marwell house & gardens too, nice quiet spot in the park for a picnic on a nice day! Thanks Marwell!

1  Thank DrakeNJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review following your visit.

We are very pleased that you had an amazing day with us seeing all of our wonderful animals in their spacious environments. It’s great that you enjoy our free road train rides and finding a nice, relaxing spot by Marwell Hall.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marwell Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Marwell Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing