We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed so much for the better”
Review of Marwell Zoo

Marwell Zoo
Ranked #14 of 56 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our 140-acre park is home to an incredible range of exotic and endangered species, in beautiful, landscaped surroundings. Just by visiting Marwell Zoo (owned and operated by conservation charity, Marwell Wildlife) you'll be making a big contribution to our projects to conserve species and habitats, both here in Hampshire and around the world. If you're loopy for lemurs, be sure to explore our Walkthrough exhibit, Lemur Loop. Our new Tropical House opened in 2018 and is the largest exhibit ever built at Marwell. Spanning two levels with fantastic vantage points, guests can experience face-to-face encounters with a diversity of wildlife and exotic plants in a tropical climate, while learning about the flow of energy through life. Keep an eye out for new arrivals throughout the year too! Admissions fees and closing times vary across the seasons. Please check the Marwell website for full details.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Popped in as a chill day for my birthday an was pleasantly surprised at how much the place has changed.

The new tropical house was great an seeing the sloth was amazing. Also all the other exhibits were well presented an looked after.

My only quip, was the lower park of the park (around where the old tropical house used to be) needs a bit of TLC but from what I could gather, this was next to be done up an brought inline with the middle an top half of the park.

All in all a great few hours spent.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for your review, Luke T.

It's great to hear you think Marwell has made positive improvements over the years! Tropical House opened earlier this year and we are encouraging guests to consider this as a developing exhibit as we will continue to add species and the plants will continue to flourish, meaning every experience should be unique.

South Road, the road you mentioned, is the next section of the park we will be developing. This new area will be called Water and Wetlands and will re-develop the entire area. We are very excited about this project, so keep your eyes out for updates!

Thanks again for taking your time to leave feedback on your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tropical house"
in 131 reviews
"road train"
in 104 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 78 reviews
"big cats"
in 71 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 49 reviews
"cafe graze"
in 39 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 39 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 39 reviews
"red panda"
in 34 reviews
"giraffe house"
in 30 reviews
"animals seem"
in 30 reviews
"father christmas"
in 39 reviews
"lots of space"
in 33 reviews
"annual pass"
in 60 reviews
"great family day"
in 42 reviews
"christmas experience"
in 27 reviews
"gift shop"
in 105 reviews
Filter

54 - 58 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Great place to visit, friendly staff and wonderful animals to see. Reasonable priced food. Was able to get close to the animals. The Tropical House is fantastic. This place is well worth a visit

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ashfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for your five star review, Ashfordian.

We're pleased to hear you found Marwell was a great place to visit and that our warm and welcoming staff were able to make your day even better! It's great that you were able to stop for a bite to eat in our cafe, food is freshly prepared and locally sourced throughout the park which our catering team are very proud of.

Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to see you around the park again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

A bit of a flying visit as we were in the area. Had a checklist of animals I wished to photograph but happy to picture anything which will pose for me and a lot which won't.
The problem with a flying visit is that this is a large zoo with large enclosures and takes a lot of walking. Staff are very helpful, answering questions (which they have probably heard many times before) as though it was the first time they have been asked.
There is a large collection of antelope, and a number of lemur species (lots more beside but these are a particular interest of mine)
A great "day" out

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Randoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for your five star review, Randoman1.

We're pleased you were able to pop into the zoo as you were in the area, we hope you managed to get the photos you were hoping for, please make sure you share them on our Flickr page if you did!

The park is rather large being 140 acres, so there is a lot of walking involved. We have a road train that loops around the front half of the park during the day, perfect to get you from stop to stop quickly. It's great to hear how warm and welcoming our staff were during you visit and able to answer any of your questions!

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope to see you around the park in the future if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Marwell for the day and we weren't dissapointed. Reasonable entry price (we paid £17.99 each). Its more like a safari park than a zoo. Lovely wide open spaces, large enclosures, beautiful lawns and picnic areas. The hot house with the amazing butterflies was lovely, we caught a bruef glimpse of the sloth hiding in a tree! The animals appear well cared for with nice enclosures. The rhinos we stunning...as were the zebras....and the giraffes...and the tropical fish...and the marmosettes...and everything else! Brilliant day for young to old. Will visit again.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank angiehanlon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for your five star review, angiehanlon2016.

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to Marwell Zoo so much! We are an action oriented conservation charity so by visiting the Zoo you are contributing to our international work, as well as supporting our wonderful resident animals. We aim to offer good value to our guests and review our prices regularly to ensure we stay in line with other, similar attractions.

It's lovely to hear you liked our newest exhibit, Tropical House, with the latest addition of the postman butterflies it really does feeling like you're walking in a Tropical paradise!

Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope to see you around the park again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Overall we had a really lovely day out, however we felt that maybe some of the enclosures were too small for some of the animals, although understand that some animals may have to be separated..however not sure if this was the case.

Having not visited for about 6 years we were delighted about the Tropical House being changed into a bigger and better space it was the highlight of our day.

Definitely worth a visit for those with smaller children.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank biizcuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for your review, biizcuit.

We're pleased to hear you had a great day out at Marwell! We’re constantly evaluating all of our animal enclosures and feel that they are sufficient in order to provide the animals with opportunities to seek shade, shelter, privacy when they want it, and fulfil their welfare needs. Larger animals, such as our big cats, have naturally planted landscapes, access to height, provision of water and shade. We have a program of enrichment to help stimulate animals within their environments which includes regular evaluation. It may be that the animals were separated, for example our Amur leopards and snow leopards are currently separated and we feed our Amur tigers separately, so this may be what you saw during your visit. We always suggest that if you have any queries you ask a member of staff, they will be able to answer your questions or direct you to another staff member who can!

It's wonderful to know how much you loved the Tropical House and development work that has been happening around the park. Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marwell Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Marwell Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing