We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Johns Croft B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$108
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$250
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$61
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
59
13
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
13
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful househome from homecity centrevintage furniturest john sguests sitqueen annerooms are hugelovely hostsfellow guestsquiet areabreakfast was deliciouswalking the south downsfresh fruitcomfortable bedsstayed for nightsnight's sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Looking for accommodation in Winchester as we were attending a family celebration at St John's House nearby.
Found this lovely looking house whilst browsing B&Bs on TripAdvisor.
Well, let's just say it did not disappoint! A beautiful old house with a breathtaking wealth of character and tons of original features still in place met our eyes.
Dottie, our hostess met us at the porch, with a very relaxed and welcoming air- almost like an old friend, which was lovely.
We were given a choice of two rooms, which overlooked the lovely garden and each was large and spacious with lovely white walls, white crisp linen on the beds, white china mugs, pots for tea, coffee, etc and stripped wooden floors with sea grass mats. All in all, a very positive first impression- light, clean and airy.
The bed was so comfy and we both had the most fantastic night's sleep- sheer bliss!
The next morning, Dottie made us breakfast in her gorgeous cavernous kitchen on her Aga.
We were met at breakfast by some other guests who were also down for the do at St Jonh's House, so it felt like a truly social occasion all round!

I would not hesitate to recommend Dottie's lovely B&B to all my friends and family and I hope that we can stay again in the not too distant future- hopefully with our little boy, who was being looked after by his godmother this time round!

So.... A great big THANKYOU DOTTIE AND NICK!!!

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms overlooking the tranquil and beautiful garden.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Lovely setting, beautifully appointed, warm and hospitable. Good breakfast in lovely setting. Friendly and relaxed. I recommend this to couples and families alike.... and even doggies. This is the B&B of B&Bs. Enjoy.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all nice. We had the large room at the back of the house overlooking the lovely garden. Good double bed and a single day bed, right next to spacious bathroom with warm towels and big shower. Quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nick welcomed us in to his huge amazing house from the snow and dark. We arrived early but this was not a problem. The house is decorated with contemporary paintings and interesting objects, mainly antique or vintage furniture. Our room was huge with a huge window on one side, and two smaller ones on the other. The curtains were made of French linen bed sheets- something I do myself so I recognised this clever use of beautiful textiles. The orignal fitted cupboards have been painted but otherwise untouched and look very nice, although sadly the fireplace was covered over. The high brass bed was also very like my own, and extremely comfortable. The colour scheme was white, cream and nuetral = very relaxing.

The breakfast was completely delicous, cooked on the Aga and served by Dotty in her vast kitchen. Dotty is great to chat to and I felt as if we had a lot in common. I really enjoyed my breakfast.
It was a special treat to stay in this fabulous house.

I suppose it would have been a bit intrusive but it would have been lovely to be offered a chance to see round the house, or to use one of the sitting rooms while we were there, although since we went out straight away in the evening and didnt get back until quite late it might have been difficult for Nick and Dotty to offer this.

WInchester itself was a pleasant surprise. The centre is very compact and nestles round the massive cathedral. The shops are rather superior and there is a very fast flowing river/canal which you can walk along beside.

It was a great start to us walking the 100 miles of the South Downs Way.

Room Tip: ASk for the room at the back with the windows on two sides
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahk8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We came from France, direct plane from Paris, 1h30 flight and an hour later we arrived at St-John's croft. All very quick and smooth. Then such a warm welcome from our host Dotty and wonderful room overlooking the garden's patio. Super nice deco and breakfast. From the B&B you can walk to the city center in no-time. Everything was great we loved it. Thanks so much Dotty!
We'll come back someday for sure. Lucas & Marie G.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We recently stayed for a hen week-end at St John's and were warmly greated by Dottie who throughout our stay could not do enough for our party of 10. The rooms are veryy large with very comfortable beds and can mostly accommodate up to 4 people. The breakfast was really nice and what a lovely warm family atmosphere. Nick also helped to start our car (flat battery when just about to leave) and Dottie made us coffee while we waited. Altogether an amazing guesthouse and family and we will definately be back. This was my second stay as my family previously stayed for a week-end a few years ago and we were really impressed by this beautifull house and family. Well worth a visit..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews