We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, shame about the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

..went for a birthday breakfast, the food was too scrummy for words, but the whole experience was let down by the unfriendly and inattentive service. Shame for a place of this quality and price, - they need to take a trip to Lainston House for some basic front of house lessons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyinwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your honest account of your recent visit to us here at Hotel du Vin.

While pleasing to hear that our breakfast offering exceeded expectations, we thoroughly appreciate your feedback regarding the service you received. we are committed to ensuring our Bistro is staffed by knowledgeable & enthusiastic team members, and will utilise your feedback to further supporting training in this area.

Thank you for helping us to improve,

James Allen
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    165
    113
    61
    22
See reviews for
85
322
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Me and some friends went to the beautiful courtyard for a couple of drinks after work. The setting was beautiful, what was worrying was the cocktail waiter.... it seemed as though he was on some kind of speed drugs and was very over active and to in peoples faces, sweating and looking not quite with it!!!

It made us uncomfortable enough to leave I am afraid!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairemass221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Winchester has a big problem with not enough hotel accommodation, which means really quite average hotels can charge a lot of money and still be full. I have stayed at other HDVs (such as Glasgow) which were much better than this one. HDV Winchester is really well located and has a helpful staff, but I would only stay there as an overnight base, for which it's a very expensive choice! Our standard room was tiny and hot (or with noise air con), dinner was distinctly average, breakfast was served wrongly in our room (half of it was missing), and the room has a massive display of sweets and snacks for sale which is just really not classy and, combined with breakfast being extra on top of the £170 tiny room just made the whole thing feel a bit of a rip off. Definitely punching below it's weight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna_Traveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at Hotel du Vin.

While it is wonderful to hear that throughout your stay you have received a quality service from helpful staff, we are disappointed that you feel the accommodation rate was overpriced in comparison to the value received. We would be delighted if you could contact us directly to further discuss the matter.

James Allen
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
333 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I along with 8 friends booked out 5 rooms here including 1 suite for the night before and after our wedding in Winchester. When we first saw our suite we were quite impressed although it is very small for a suite. But as we settled in we became more and more disappointed. Firstly it was a very muggy weekend, though not hot, and not only did our air con not work properly but one of the two windows had a sign on it saying it was broken and awaiting repair so couldn't be opened. Consequently we had a terrible night's sleep (and I sleep through virtually anything). We were also fed up to discover that the bulb above the bathroom mirror was broken so we couldn't see to shave. The soiled tissue in the wardrobe was another unwelcome find. 3 of our 4 standard rooms (at not much under £200 per night) had very large brown damp patches or water stains on the walls and 2 of these also had air conditioning issues. When we were asked if everything was alright with our rooms we explained the problems Nd there was no apology, just a vaguely empathetic grunt from the receptionist. They did eventually send an engineer to look at the air con but if they'd taken the trouble to find out if it would be convenient we could have told them to leave it til after 1 as we would then be out at the wedding all day. Instead they arrived just as we were getting ready and having our first photos taken. Later,1 of the receptionists did offer to take £100 off our (nearly £1000 for 2 rooms for 2 nights) bill. This was a nice gesture though as it turned out when we checked out, that particular receptionist knew nothing of this offer as no notes had been made on the system. She duly agreed to deduct this but actually only took off £50 (until I corrected her) and also tried to charge us nearly £50 for drinks the day before we couldn't have had as we were out at our wedding! I think a hotel that charges such high room rates ought to provide breakfast without feeling the need to charge £16 a head each. Also, we had a nice time on the Friday afternoon in the courtyard at the rear of the hotel drinking wine with our friends but it took no fewer than 4 attempts to get a white wine they actually had in stock but rather than the waiter being informed in advance, he had to keep going off to check! Really, what's the point of having a sommelier!? I just feel this hotel needs to work much harder for its money or charge much less. Lastly, when your guests are struggling in with a whole lot of bags and cases it would be so much better to offer to help at the outset rather than stand around chatting at reception with your other colleagues also doing nothing and then offer at the very end. As it happens we had an amazing wedding and weekend but it was no thanks to the Hotel Du Vin.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us.

We have carefully read & understood all the challenges highlighted in your visit, and have since implemented a combination of maintenance review & retraining where appropriate to ensure these instances are an isolated occurrence.

We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you will return to visit us soon so we can positively demonstrate the improvements made following your review, in keeping with the consistent & high standard of service & offering we expect at Hotel du Vin.

Thank you for helping us to improve,

James Allen
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a splendid lunch with 20 friends to celebrate my birthday and had a super time. Private dinning room and exclusive use of the hotel garden. Staff were highly attentive, friendly and professional and I would recommend this as a venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Wonderful to hear your birthday celebrations were a roaring success!

We look forward to hosting your next special occasion.

Many thanks for your feedback,

James Allen
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights here and enjoyed it enormously. The staff were outstanding from the moment we arrived to the minute we left, including our second evening when we got very badly delayed by trains and arrived very late in the evening but were still fed in the restaurant. The food and wine were very good and our room was lovely. The outdoor courtyard at the rear is very large and lovely in the evening for a drink or even to eat. We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Taittinger and Courvoisier are nice big rooms and face the rear. The ones at the front might suffer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review,

It is great to hear service during your visit was outstanding throughout. We can't wait to see you all again at Hotel du Vin soon.

Kind regards,

James Allen
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located one block from the High street. The old building looks nice and well maintained. Good car park in the back yard.
However it lacked quality in crucial parts of our stay. Sleep quality, breakfast and wifi. Although room was very nicely decorated the bed was not up to the standards. I felt the springs in the mattress. There was no mattress overlay. Anyway not a quality bed anyhow. Did not sleep well and got back ache. Cost savings in a totally wrong place.
Breakfast was very average if not below taking into consideration the room price.
Wifi did not work properly during the whole of our two nights stay. Internet connection speed extremely slow or non existent. As I had to work in the evenings, it failed badly.
Looks nice, did not deliver what I needed from a good hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaatinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback on you recent stay with us.

It is unfortunate to hear this visit was not a positive experience.
since receiving your review, we have made detailed inquiries into the specific areas highlighted & can assure you that improvements have been made where necessary. We greatly appreciate & value your feedback to help us to maintain quality & consistency in the hotel.
We do hope to see you return to hotel du Vin winchester soon.

With thanks,

James Allen
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 14 Southgate Street, Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing