We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Winnall Moors Nature Reserve
Ranked #16 of 70 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
512 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A unique place to visit. Peaceful nature reserve which offers quite walks and some very special nature study. In the Summer this reserve become very busy with people but remains a truely magical area to explore.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful nature reserve”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Very peaceful and picturesque walking through the reserve, and moments away from the city centre.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank KFF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“a pleasant stroll on a sunny day”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I recently saw the entrance to Winnal Moors but had never been and was pleasantly surprised by the walk. The are lots of small paths alongside the river bank which made a refreshing change of scenery from the city centre. It is easy to walk to from the city centre, on the road out of winchester opposite the Willow Tree pub.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ktee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyThingie
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Have lived in Winchester for ages but had never been before. I went because I'd heard you could see water voles. My partner was very dubious! However, shortly after he admitted he thought we had zero chance, we did see one. Then another! Then another! And properly, with them swimming about just a few feet away and sitting about doing stuff. Oh, and a water-shrew too. I'd give the reserve 3* apart from the fact we saw voles! If you don't see voles, then it's just a nice walk along rivery and marshy bits. Not hugely secluded as you can hear music from the pubs around, but a pleasant surprise given its city-centre location.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank DrJennyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winnall Moors Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Winnall Moors Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing