We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great All around!! Fantastic turn around!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Gaolhouse

The Old Gaolhouse
Ranked #141 of 197 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A popular split-level pub in the city centre, convenient for most Winchester buses. THe core beers are supplemented by guest ales chosen by the manager, along with a wide selection of Spirits,lagers and guest bottle beers. Food is served all day every day, With a varied menu with a large number of offers spread thoughout the week, Tuesday is the popular Steak club. The pub itself was originally a governor's house, which was the central building in the old debtor's prison, it later become one of the UK's earliest libraries, then a ironmonger's and finally a high class furniture store
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great All around!! Fantastic turn around!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I visited this pub Monday evening, the pub was extremely clean, toilets were fabulous(one of my pet hates I might add) an amazing choice of drink selection! We ordered food and the lady who served us.. Naomi?!? anyway she was lovely, smiles were not forced and extremely helpful when I was selecting my partner an festival ale too go with his meal!! Couldn't of asked for better service! Our food..great and fast as always!! My husband returned too the bar too purchase another ale and was greeted my a female manager, she defiantly knew her stuff and made sure she got my husband the ale he liked the most, giving tasters and even a book which he could use in the future!!!
I shall be returning and defiantly spreading the word! Fantastic staff Thankyou girls, you deserve credit for all the hard work you do!!
Mary

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryG197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager468, Manager at The Old Gaolhouse, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thankyou for your review. We hope you will continue to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    77
    63
    38
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tamworth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cheap and almost cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

With Wetherspoons you usually know what you are getting, but even allowing for that the meal wasn't great. It was fairly cold when served with chilly chips and eggs etc. It's a big barn of a place. beer as ever was ok, but what is this fixation with Dunbar?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad door staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend went into this pub after havin a lovely meal in Winchester. We walked in at 10.50pm and the lady on the door was welcoming.We made our way to the bar which was busy. The very polite barman served us our 2 drinks. We sat in a corner of the pub , there was a very large group of Newcastle fans opposite us who seemed to be having a good night..my Boyfriend got up to go to the gents and within minutes of his return a doorman kept looking at us. We just carried on talking and then my boyfriend went to the bar to get another drink and was refused due to him being drunk..I went to the bar and was also refused when I asked why they said the doorman said not to serve u both..I then asked the doorman he said your boyfriend is drunk I was shocked as we only had a few drinks with our meal.the doorman was very rude and could not explain why he believed we were too drunk just saying u ok his not ..He did not handle the situation well and I said we done nothing only been here 15/20minutes and there is a group over there being loud .The bar staff did not know why we were being refused only he said no so no it meant.No manager came out nothing , he still could not tell me why he believed him to be too drunk to serve.He was not falling asleep falling over shouting at people or getting angry so as far as I concerned this was a case of power and the doorman did not like us.and to refuse me when he said its not you was strange. will be taking it further as this doorman needs training and not let the power go to his head as I am in the hospitality business myself and I will be making sure the word is spread.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“a wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was really disappointed to read so many negative reviews of this pub. My wife and I always seek out a Wetherspoons, mainly for budgetary reasons, and we found this to be one of the best. We arrived mid-week at 5.30pm and it was already filling up with loud 'white-collar' workers keen to enjoy a few drinks before dragging themselves away on their commuter trains. We still had only a short wait to be served. The 3 staff we met were all brilliant - the manager, his deputy, and a young university student helping out temporarily. Attentive to all our needs. I ordered a bottle of Hardy's white, which at £8.39 was not much more expensive than buying it in a supermarket. We then chose our food - starters of skewered chicken and king prawns. Both were excellent value at £2.50 each.The most staggering bit was the steak deal: my wife had the 8oz sirloin with a jacket potato and I pigged out with the 14oz Aberdeen Angus rump and chips. We live in France so were apprehensive about asking for medium and medium rare. Both were cooked to perfection and the quality was second-to-none. We have never had a better steak. The bottle of wine we ordered in the 'deal' was a Hardy's pink. The bill for the 2 steaks and the bottle of rose was £18.09! Amazing. I would defy anyone to better this deal. The whole bill was less than £32. I have to say that the pub was clean, comfortable, and had a 'buzz' that enhanced our overall enjoyment. We felt safe and certainly were not aware of any anti-social 'undesirables'. We'll certainly not hesitate to go back there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Weatherspoons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

it's a weatherspoon - nothing wrong with that - good food, good price fine for a casual meal. Watch the wine list - it's worth paying a little more as the cheaper/cheapest wines are not wonderful

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Gaolhouse also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Gaolhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing