We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting”
Review of Northbrook Arms

Northbrook Arms
Ranked #35 of 204 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Northbrook Arms - a traditional village pub with letting rooms. We are situated in the idyllic village of East Stratton just minutes from the A33 between Winchester and Basingstoke. The pub boasts two gardens - the green opposite the pub which is perfect for catching the sun all day long, and the pretty country garden to the side of the pub which has an enclosed area at the bottom where children can play safely. We also have a traditional Skittle Alley in the beautiful old stables - with its own bar, space for dining and of course the Skittles - it is the perfect place to have a party or function.
hastings
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely setting on a summers day massive beer garden on one side of road and lovely pub on other side, great choice of real ales, big choice of menu, but all a bit fancy for me. If I was a local this would be my local

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    46
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Scotney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beer festival”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went along late afternoon with grandchildren. Bouncy castle and music - great. Food - nothing available outside, we were advised there would be a long wait for pub menu. Beer - couldn't get any. Very slow moving queue at beer tent. A lot of mess, including glasses, not cleared up. What were staff doing? We went elsewhere.

One of our favourite local pubs, but they did not cope at all well with this event.

Helpful?
Thank Undisclosedforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Love old school with a menu twist”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A really old school pub but actually a nice menu. Great garden out the front in a very pretty village. Sat in the sun late afternoon ....bliss. Really friendly bar staff. Went into the restaurant 20 minutes earlier than booking but no problems. The lamb faggots were really nice and my friends salmon was apparently good too ....both portions were very chunky. The assiete of desserts was interesting, still quite filling - would have liked more chilli in the chocolate fudge but wow the coconut in the snowball!! I actually think you could share one portion. Old school surroundings, mens toilets outside, loads of character - just really good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My friends and I found the Northbrook Arms whilst staying in the local area during March 2014 - it was a great find. We stayed for lunch and sat on the green on the opposite side of the road for the majority of the afternoon. This was a lovely bonus on a sunny afternoon as we were expecting to have to sit inside. Both the food and service were brilliant and we felt very welcome there. We will definitely return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lottie1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Food was great with a good menu selection. Service was spot on and the atmosphere of the pub was lovely. Good for a romantic meal or a family meal out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northbrook Arms also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Micheldever, Hampshire
 

Been to Northbrook Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing