We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of our holiday”
Review of Northbrook Arms

Northbrook Arms
Ranked #39 of 207 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Northbrook Arms - a traditional village pub with letting rooms. We are situated in the idyllic village of East Stratton just minutes from the A33 between Winchester and Basingstoke. The pub boasts two gardens - the green opposite the pub which is perfect for catching the sun all day long, and the pretty country garden to the side of the pub which has an enclosed area at the bottom where children can play safely. We also have a traditional Skittle Alley in the beautiful old stables - with its own bar, space for dining and of course the Skittles - it is the perfect place to have a party or function.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“End of our holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place, staff are amazing, the beer is amazing and the food simple yet brilliant. The weather added value, sitting outside on the rickerty picnic tables getting slowly sozzled, we will definitely be back

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    46
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Village Pub”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We're reasonably regular visitors to this attractive, welcoming and especially child friendly pub with its beautiful green across the road. We've eaten there a few times and our experience has been varied. Never bad but sometimes underwhelming, though our evening meal this week was excellent! The beers are superb! Regularly 5 or 6 local ales so if that's your thing you'll be spoiled for choice. Aside from the beer, the best thing about the pub is the green where children can run around and play whilst the adults can enjoy a drink or two. Lovely village pub in a pictuesque setting. The annual beer festiival is also worth going to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely setting on a summers day massive beer garden on one side of road and lovely pub on other side, great choice of real ales, big choice of menu, but all a bit fancy for me. If I was a local this would be my local

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Scotney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beer festival”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went along late afternoon with grandchildren. Bouncy castle and music - great. Food - nothing available outside, we were advised there would be a long wait for pub menu. Beer - couldn't get any. Very slow moving queue at beer tent. A lot of mess, including glasses, not cleared up. What were staff doing? We went elsewhere.

One of our favourite local pubs, but they did not cope at all well with this event.

Helpful?
Thank Undisclosedforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Love old school with a menu twist”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A really old school pub but actually a nice menu. Great garden out the front in a very pretty village. Sat in the sun late afternoon ....bliss. Really friendly bar staff. Went into the restaurant 20 minutes earlier than booking but no problems. The lamb faggots were really nice and my friends salmon was apparently good too ....both portions were very chunky. The assiete of desserts was interesting, still quite filling - would have liked more chilli in the chocolate fudge but wow the coconut in the snowball!! I actually think you could share one portion. Old school surroundings, mens toilets outside, loads of character - just really good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northbrook Arms also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Micheldever, Hampshire
 

Been to Northbrook Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing