We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem of a Place”
Review of No.5 Bridge Street

No.5 Bridge Street
Ranked #61 of 227 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: No.5 Bridge Street is a pub/bar & restaurant with rooms in Winchester City Centre. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch & dinner. The restaurant's menu is seasonal & dishes are freshly prepared. The menu is of British influence, based around local, seasonal ingredients, with a superb selection of grazing sharing plates. The bar offers a substantial wine list, traditional cocktail menu, well-kept locally sourced beers & premium lagers.The British tapas 'grazing' items on the bar & restaurant menu are great to share amongst friends with a bottle of wine.No.5's beautiful stable offers private dining & meeting facilities for 16 people.
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We visited No 5 this weekend and absolutely loved it! The room was beautifully furnished and had lots of little touches to help make our stay special - excellent quality toiletries, cafetiere, ground coffee and speciality teas, bottled water etc. The bed was comfortable with feather pillows, crisp sheets and duvet. The towels were fluffy, white and-more importantly-a very generous size.

Breakfast was amazing - worth a visit in itself.

What makes this hotel extra special is the staff. They are friendly, welcoming and genuinely can't do enough for you. If there was one very minor niggle it was the Saturday night DJ but we were aware of this so knew what to expect, and all was done and dusted by decent o'clock.

Looking to book our return visit very soon

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank vitors2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Second time we've stayed here. It's a very friendly place with a laid back atmosphere.

The room had a few issues to be honest, but in fairness the Asst Manager, Stephen, did everything he could to rectify them for us and was very helpful and pleasant throughout our stay.

Breakfast was very good indeed! It's definitely the staff that make this place.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank suethong5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Came in for lunch on Saturday with friends. Super little menu and my wife and her sister really loved the different Gin and tonics on offer. I had the halloumi beetroot wrap and it was delicious. Everyone enjoyed the food and the house bitter was great too. I can't believe this place isn't top 10 in Winchester

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

This sounds ridiculous but if you are going as a group, be very careful on the number you book for and the number who are actually eating within the group... and be sure to precise this with the waiting staff before the food starts to come out as you will be charged per head even if people in the group are not eating.

Obviously you only expect to pay for what you ordered but because we had been booked for the grazing menu (quite steep at £30 pp) we had an issue where not all the group were actually eating but we were charged nonetheless. No one confirmed the numbers of who wanted the grazing menu, even though the waiter was told that not everyone would be, so we were charged a per person fee for everyone who was sat at the table (so for 2 extra meals).

The food was nice and the service was ok but it was difficult to talk because the music was so loud.

I would not go again as there are plenty of better restaurants in Winchester. Management should have accepted some responsibility for the error of staff actually taking an "order" before serving food but were immovable.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethan C, Guest Relations Manager at No.5 Bridge Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi Harriet W

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your experience of No.5 Bridge Street. We’re pleased to read you described the food as delicious and that you enjoyed the dishes. I’m sorry that the live music made it difficult to hold conversation with the other diners. We have live music every Thursday- Saturday, but would be happy to review with the Management Team the volume as it does play through the speakers in order to be less impactful.

The grazing menu is a great way to dine while socialising. As the dishes are made to order based on the party number we do feel clarifying the amount of people eating is the key to ensuring a smooth service between kitchen and front of house. The Management Team had communicated the price per person and the numbers when organising the booking. It was confirmed on arrival the number of people eating, this was to ensure there was no confusion and the charge on the bill was correct. It is in no way the intention of the Management to overcharge customers.

Best Wishes,
Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Second visit to no 5 and will come again.
A varied brunch menu and would highly recommend trying some of them out. Brunch is reasonably priced considering lunch prices at the main "plastic" chains.
A good choice of drinks on offer , don't be put off by the price of the cocktails they are all correctly made using fresh ingredients ( not syrups) and will tailor them to your requirements.
Staff really friendly and will greet you with a big hello

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.5 Bridge Street also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to No.5 Bridge Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing