We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great national trust property.”

Winchester City Mill
Ranked #3 of 68 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winchester City Mill is a working watermill dating back to at least Saxon times; now fully restored by the National Trust, the City Mill is probably the oldest working watermill in the UK. Inside visitors can discover more about the mill’s long and fascinating history as well as see the mill in action and learn how we produce traditional stone-ground wholemeal flour using the power of the River Itchen. Our team of volunteer millers provide flour milling demonstrations every Saturday and Sunday as well as Wednesdays during the summer months. The City Mill is also home to a wide variety of wildlife including kingfishers, grey wagtails, wild trout, water voles and even otters which can be viewed from our on-site observation cameras.
Aspley Guise
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great national trust property.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well cared for mill with enthusiastic staff. Lovely to see the web cam of the Otters and find out about the history of the mill.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAspleyGuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    191
    44
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fun and educational”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

On my first visit to Winchester I was too late, this time we went there first thing after arrival.
I did not expected to see and learn so much :) We got lovely introduction about the mill and making flour from lovely young man. Watch little movies about family of otters visiting the mill, video about the history of the mill. The most exciting thing was that it was working and we could see how the flour is made. The whole mill was making noises and shaking a bit and it was wonderful. Loved the garden and old milling stones as decoration and a little story of the hogshead. We also got some flour and I will be making bread with it.
It was just great experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edyta2013pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

this was well laid out with a film and videos of the otters. Lots and lots of useful information. We loved the garden. Best of all was getting near the water wheel very exciting. We were a little disappointed we were not able to purchase a small bag of flour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank janellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations M, Manager at Winchester City Mill, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. You will be pleased to know that having finished making repairs to the mill machinery following the recent flood damage we are once again busy producing flour. Our stone-ground wholemeal flour is available in 1.5kg and 5kg bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAWLEY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fun easter sunday egg hunt”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we had a really fun time with the egg hunt the boys really enjoyed and wont stop talking about it. well worth a visit when in winchester the flour we got was really nice too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAY123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historic water mill”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

An interesting place to visit if you have a spare hour. Plenty of guides on hand to explain the process of flour milling and an attractive, small garden behind the mill accessed by some steep steps. Not really a place to visit if you are not able to climb stairs/steps easily, as to see the waterwheel in action, you have to go down some stairs, underneath the main level.

A few activities laid on for young children to do and a short film describing the history of the mill for older visitors to watch.

Didn't look around the gift shop, but it appeared to be well stocked with the usual NT stuff and possibly items relating more to the Mill.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolyn JT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winchester City Mill also viewed

 

Been to Winchester City Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing