We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never return or recommend”
Review of No.5 Bridge Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
No.5 Bridge Street
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed on a sat nite. First impression of room was fab was modern yet homely. However after returning to the room after dinner could not sleep until the early hours of the mornig. I can usually handle noise yet the constant noise from the dj aswel as voices trying to talk over the music was to much. If I could have left at 23:00 I would have. Would not recommend to others

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miserable98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for No.5 Bridge Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We came here for a friends party & decided to stay. We stayed in room No. 6 which is was nicely decorated & spacious with a great shower. We had a tasty meal in the restaurant downstairs & drinks in the bar. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our impromtu stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 was spacious & quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flash1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I spent the night here on 30 December and the room (number 6) was clean, large and with an amazing shower. In fact it was all good, aside from the expensive off-site parking and the noise from another guest and downstairs in the bar - we were woken up and kept awake on several occasions between 3 and 6am. One of these was just a drunk guest who had been locked out of his room, presumably by his wife, but there were no staff around to assist, so the noise lasted for a long time. I presume the other door slamming was from staff downstairs but impossible to know. Overall its a nice place - but use the ear plugs they provide - you will need them!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Really good location and general vibe, friendly and attentive staff helped make this stay a memorable one. The room was lovely and suited our needs perfectly. Would stay again if ever needing to be in Winchester.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil62j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed one night in the hotel. The room was small but comfortable, and exceptionally clean. The staff (especially Nathan) were very courteous and welcoming, and the food was very good quality. I would definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have never been driven to write a review whilst still staying in a hotel. However I have been driven to pen this at midnight whilst still here because it is impossible to sleep.

I will firstly acknowledge that the quality of the accommodation is excellent. Our Room (3) was recently decorated and very comfortable. But it was impossible to enjoy because of the noise.

We returned to our room at 11:00am on a Saturday evening. The bar was busy and noisy. Our room upstairs was no less noisy. The volume of the music coming through the floor to our room was louder than I would play music at home! I went downstairs to complain and ask how long the music would last. The barman immediately referred me to the manager - it was clearly a common conversation! The manager apologised but said that there was nothing he could do and that they made every effort to warn customers about the noise on all booking sites. I have checked the exact wording on booking.com. Whilst there is reference to live music / DJ until 1:00am the words 'noise' or 'warning' do not appear.

Ultimately this establishment must decide whether it wants to be a hotel (or more accurately restaurant with rooms) or a nightclub. It is currently trying to be both and inevitably fails with disastrous results for overnight guests.

Such a shame........................

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunpaddlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Was a bit hesitant upon my arrival as I expected a "proper" hotel as booking.com didnt say anything about specialty lodging. Anyway was met by Helen who by the was is a precious gift to the place. Spent 2 nights there. Was warned about Friday night noise which ended around 11pm. The room was clean, spacious and all members of staff were friendly.
Having read other reviews, Food a bit pricey but food quality well my breakfast was really good..

Room Tip: I stayed in 105 I think we got an upgrade and I didn't want to leave the room even when I initia...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shade481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
647 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.5 Bridge Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.5 Bridge Street

Address: 5 Bridge Street, Winchester SO23 0HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Winchester
Price Range: £88 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No.5 Bridge Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 500 metres from Winchester’s historic city centre, No 5 Bridge Street offers free Wi-Fi access throughout. Locally sourced, fresh ingredients are used to create the classic British dishes that are served in the restaurant.Winchester Rail Station can be reached after 15 minutes’ walk. The Great Hall, the last remaining part of Winchester Castle, is also within a 15-minute walk of No 5 Bridge Street. The M3 motorway is less than 5 minutes’ drive away and Southampton is 20 minutes’ drive away.Each spacious, en suite room has a flat-screen TV with a DVD player and contemporary furnishings. A large walk-in shower and free toiletries feature in each bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your No.5 Bridge Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing