We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pub”
Review of The Cricketers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cricketers Inn
Ranked #14 of 52 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The staff/owners failed to introduce themselves but were very polite and accommodating. The room was nice but freezing even with the heating on full! Beautiful period bay window which was so drafty! There was thick cobwebs around the ceiling and my friend had to get on the table to remove the dead spider for me but the rest was clean. Unfortunately we were in the twin room at the top of the stairs and the kitchen was at the bottom so it very noisey. The pub was heaving with punters which meant that it was extremely loud and there was no chance of an early night after a busy day. Our beds were either side of the covered fireplace in our room. The fireplace rattled all night due to the weather which kept us awake. We had dinner at the pub and could not converse over the table as we just could not hear each other over the noise. The food was average and there was a 'specials' board. Breakfast was great though. Good choice of food beautifully layed out and a 'full' English which was a grilled tomato, mushroom, one sausage, one egg and bacon. I would liked to have seen baked beans with it. The young man that has only been working there a week or so is clearly an asset to the Inn as he was polite, friendly, helpful and considerate. I would not stay overnight in the pub again but it was so charming and the staff were wonderful so I would happily drink there if I was in the area!

Room Tip: Avoid room number 1 as it is too close to the kitchen and the open entrance to the bar!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for The Cricketers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

well what can I say, a perfect place for a relax Sunday lunch. We booked for my husband, myself my parents and my brother and his family, for my Mum's birthday. Everything was lovely, great big spacious table, very attentive service, and very tasty food. Nothing was any trouble, they were fine with doing smaller portions, even for adults, and were very accommodating making a starter into a meal for a child.
I would definitely eat there again, and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ju_ju68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here last Saturday just for the one night, first class location, very friendly staff .
We found the room clean and very cosy, the bathroom was very spacious and also very clean.
Really appreciated the fact that the proprietor ( I didn't catch his name ) calmly accepted the fact that my wife broke the bathroom mirror , as just one of those things,
The menu on Saturday evening was varied , and the food quality very good. The full English on Sunday morning was very nice and I for one will definitely stay again whenever I`m in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62moulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We visited for a late lunch last Sunday, five of us plus dog. From the start to the finish, couldn't fault it. We loved the well kept real ale, the pub was lovely and warm, nicely decorated and with a cosy old feel without being tired or scruffy. The menu was full of pub standards, and a board for specials. Really reasonably priced for the area and standard, lots of home made stuff. Good portions. Oh how I hate it when you to a 'gastro pub' with trendy decor, that seves you food on a board, and limits your chips to ten presented in a little pot. If you're a pub, act like a pub and give the public well cooked and hopefully home made pub grub! Staff were brilliant too. Thinking of moving to Easton so we can go there more frequently.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank babsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Friendly welcome, nice rooms, in a nice village location,, didn't have a cooked breakfast but had everything else tea toast cereal, orange juice, no complaints. Plenty of parking. Would. Would recommend, spot on..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Lovely traditional village pub which has not been spoilt. This is by no means a gastropub but the basis fayre on offer it appeared really good. The party I was with had fish & chips, lasagne & chips & Brie & Redcurrent Tart. The chips, fish, lasagne was very good indeed, however the Brie & Redcurrant was disappointing. Tasteless & sloppy.

The service received and beer on tap very good. Peroni on tap!!!

Nice place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmanBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Located in a lovely village with thatched cottages, this pub/B&B is very comfortable. Stayed one night earlier this week. My room was large and had an en-suite shower. It had two single beds, a large wardrobe and dresser with tea and coffee making facilities. Clean, tidy and very safe. The food in the restaurant is good and the staff are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 271SueC271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,010 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
822 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#11 of 13 in Winchester
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cricketers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cricketers Inn

Address: Easton Lane, Winchester SO21 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cricketers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cricketers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing