We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Nearby Hotels
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wykeham Arms(Winchester)
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$109
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$148
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$250
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,950)
Filter reviews
1,950 results
Traveller rating
854
633
283
106
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
633
283
106
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomsauna and steam roomheritage breakcar parkhealth clubsmall poolbottle of proseccopay and displaythird floorhotel parkingreception staffcity centrelovely hotelbuffet styleevening mealleisure facilitiesweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 1,950 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We booked this hotel as a last minute break. Whilst there is really nothing wrong with this hotel, it was not quite what we expected. We had read online it was a 'boutique style hotel in the heart of Winchester'. I would not call 90 odd room hotel boutique, the rooms are standard and a bit functional, and it is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Winchester. It looks like an office block and the front aspect is actually a public car park.

The hotel seems disjointed as we had to walk down many corridors and 2 separate staircases and a lift to get to our room.

For a 4* hotel, the tea/coffee in room and the toiletries were a bit basic. And the letter we got under our door warning us that breakfast would be very busy was also lacking in customer service - we assumed either the dining room was too small or they had a staff crisis. ( which was odd really as we had no problems at breakfast and there was actually plenty of the friendly staff around so what was the purpose of the letter?)

However...good points: hotel very clean, rooms good size and a very comfy bed. Breakfast tasty and a good selection. All staff helpful and polite.

Swimming pool area is nice and relaxing with jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Pool is rather small but it is all worth a visit.

It is actually a nice hotel, as I said the problem was we were expecting something a bit more special. We'd stay again though.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you are disabled as there is no direct lift to all floors.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshtripper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel following your recent visit to us. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Close to town, easy walking for most, and close to train station. Good reception and staff are how they should be really helpful and pleasant. Great food and service. Will deffinately be back again some time soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review, not only of The Winchester Hotel but also of our beautiful City, of which we are very proud !

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Reasonable stay at the Winchester Hotel. Room was clean and furnishings were good. Nothing to complain about there.

Dinner was of a very good standard for a hotel restaurant and not bad value either. Front of house was very well managed by a lady who coped well with different tables' problems, very friendly and efficient approach. Other staff were ok, but she was the only one who stood out, unfortunately.

Had a good night's sleep; some heavy footfall after midnight but that's to be expected. Even with the window open, it wasn't noisy.

Breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast - over-priced and under-hot. Hubby would also add that plates weren't hot, specially ordered eggs took ages to arrive, coffee was weak, and bacon was not turned under grill. For a four star hotel, they would have benefited from a senior member of staff acting as maitre d' in the same way as the they did at dinner.

Parking was good, and free and the hotel was within (fair, if a little long) walking distance from the very attractive city centre of Winchester.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Chissock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review following your visit to the hotel. We are grateful for all customer feedback.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked the "fizz break" which sounded ideal and perfect for our occasion.
Initial reactions on check in were great as the young lady on check in was fantastic and could not have been more helpful.
The room itself was satisfactory and very clean, however our evening meal in Huttons restaurant was disappointing. We were ignored & had to keep attracting the waiting staff over to take our orders.
After dinner we had a drink in the attractive bar which was ruined by a wedding reception party who were using the bar to access the smoking terrace.Having to keep getting up & shut the doors after the smokers was not very relaxing.
I filled out the customer satisfaction form with my views and did not get a response!!!.

To summarize if you want a relaxing weekend for a special occasion DO NOT STAY HERE!!! unless it is your wedding day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am sorry that your stay was marred by sitting in the bar close to the door to our outside terrace, where are guests are able to smoke. We do have lots of other seating througout our bar, well away from this area, and would invite you to use this during any future visits.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel from the outside is not picturesque and looks a bit like an office but inside it is lovely. Contemporary design, comfy reception area, the bar and restuarant were peaceful and calming. The Leisure Club is not huge but is a very good standard and free to hotel guests. The breakfast was delicious. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and we slept really well without any disturbance from other
guests doors etc. The staff were extremely helpful. The hotel location is a 5 minute walk towards town and to plenty of restaurants. We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannaWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Winchester Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments mean a great deal to the team here.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews