We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place; minor problems, but professionally resolved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Plus points: an easy walk to the centre, comfortable bed, quiet, decent breakfast, fine food in restaurant, steam room + sauna very relaxing, real rather than 'security' coat hangers. Really enjoyed the stay overall.

Minuses: minor hassle over dinner booking, well sorted out by manager Helen (a customer service pro!); dinner 'inclusive' rate bumped up by supplements on several menu choices.

Verdict on balance: definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure that agent passes on to hotel request for e.g. twin not double bed (apparently HotelShop f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife. Initial experience wasn't good. We were informed the hotel car park was around the back of the hotel through the barrier. But if the car park was full we would have to park our car in the public car park at the front of the hotel and pay for it - not the best way to welcome your guests after a long and frustrating drive around a very busy M25 and M3. And it was said with little sympathy.
However, despite the car park being a tight squeeze for anything bigger than a mini, we found an empty spot and parked up (tip: drop your cases off in the hotel first as it is a long walk back round from the car park to the hotel - there's no back entrance).
Our room was very nice (Diamond Suite). It was quite spacious and quiet. The bathroom was quite small for a suite but served it's purpose.
We had a drink at the hotel bar (served by a very friendly young man) before having an evening meal in the hotel restaurant despite not booking. The menu had a good selection of starters and main courses. The wine selection was reasonable as were the prices. The restaurant was quite full which is always a good sign.
We enjoyed our evening meal, and in the morning, although the breakfast was a buffet style - including the cooked food - it was a very high standard of food eg the bacon was well cooked, the eggs looked and tasted fresh etc. Also impressed with the service - we were very quickly asked what hot drinks we wanted and whether we wanted any toast - and both came quickly despite it being a busy restaurant at the time.
So would recommend a stay here (the town is within easy reach) and we woud certainly return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJMcQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stay at this hotel most weeks and always recieve a very friendly welcome from everyone. Having stayed here for many years, I have seen lots of changes but The Winchester Hotel is currently the best its ever been, The restaurant has a great choice with very competitive prices, and if I have any special requests it is never any trouble to accommodate them. All the rooms I have stayed in are nicely furnished, if possible always get a club double or above as they have plenty of room. Winchester has lots of hotels but this one has a gym, pool, spa, great restaurant and free parking!! With Winchester parking being £10 a day it really adds to the cost of your break if you have to pay that on top of your stay. I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure as nothing is too much trouble for the people working there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer part of the hotel are bigger and better furnished, but always aim for club double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were married and held our reception at The Winchester Hote onFriday, September 21st 2012. The day was just perfect and we could not have asked for more, the wedding team headed up by Helen and Fernando were extremely accomodating and flexible. All staff were polite and very helpful.The food was good and our special day was everything we wished for.
Our photographs were lovely, do not be put off by the lack of grounds, and it was good not to have to worry about whether it was going to be boiling hot or pouring with rain!
This venue ticked all our boxes. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a day to remember.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Travelzoo bargain for under £100 including dinner & bottle of bubbly in room. Who could ask for more, especially with the wonderful City of Winchester to explore. Dinner was very good, but I paid a supplement for each course, but it was worth it. Room was clean and comfortable and not far from reception. No noise at night as it is away from road, shielded by the public car park. Had to pay to use the public carpark on arrival as hotel carpark was full, but moved in the morning and was allowed to stay allday, even though we had checked out. Winchester is a 10 minute walk away, there is a bus stop outside of the hotel if you need a ride into the city. Breakfast buffet was the best I have experienced, good quality sausage & bacon and a tremedous choice of fruits, cheese & meats on the cold buffet. Would return if similar offer was available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Mixed feelings but on the whole favourable, Some points - price (we were on a discounted deal & certainly would not have paid full price). Deal included a upgraded room that was v comfortable and met all reqs - it did take an age to reach it but we are fit people and took it in our stride! Staff were unfailingly polite (Ops Manager was exceptionally so - full marks) but 2 pts worthy of mention. Reception lady was informative but a tad robotic, did not make eye contact and spoke too softly (we could hardly hear her). Also, the dining room waiting staff were cheerful & polite but lacked some training - 3 examples ..(1) at dinner we were asked to choose our table whereas the norm would be to be escorted to specific one ..(2) food was not of a sufficiently high standard for a hotel of this calibre; would rate 3/6 only ..(3) waitress unsure what we could choose from menu and was not aware we were on a T/Zoo package until we pointed it out.
Dining room was decor disappointing & the lighting was inadequate.
Spa was ok, if a wee bit small, but did the job. Overall the layout, furnishings and ambiance were fine. The management has clearly made a big effort on customer service which is commendable but are not quite there yet. Breakfast was excellent. Would we re-visit - yes, but not a full prices. In summary, convenient to town centre (Winchester has a rich history and is deserving of exploration), hotel parking spaces are limited but fine for a short break. On the whole we rated 5/6. Management tip:- When choosing meal or wine the very least a guest should be greeted with is 'good choice Sir/Madam' with maybe 'one of my particular favourites actually, do enjoy' THEN, come back and check later. Attention to detail is so important. ..guests remember!

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room but don't pay over the odds. Be clear what you want and make sure you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deltablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent a night here on a Travelzoo offer which was good value. We upgraded to a superior room which had a huge bed. The only downside was that it was the room that had the furthest walk from Reception (we reckoned we had to pay for booking through Travelzoo!) - probably 5 mins. They have extended the hotel which has made the geography a little odd for some of the rooms. To get to our room on 3rd floor we had to change lifts and rather James Bond like, had to use our key card in order to get lift to third floor to work! It wasn't a problem for us but if you have mobility problems you might rather be closer to Reception. Room was very comfortable and found staff all well trained, helpful and friendly. We had dinner as part of the package and whilst acceptable it wasn't fantastic. We were slightly disappointed to be honest. Meat was very fatty and could have done with having been trimmed and whilst the food sounded good on menu, the reality was that some of the combinations were a bit odd. I wouldn't rush to eat there again. About 10 mins walk from main centre of Winchester but easily accessible and if you are coming from Basingstoke direction you can come along the old road and avoid getting caught in town centre traffic. Parking was fine and we enjoyed visiting Winchester. Nice city with interesting history and fine Cathedral. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
651 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £79 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing