We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night at the Winchester Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I spent 1 night at the Winchester Hotel for business in March.

The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, spacious, very clean and modern. The bed was so comfortable - I've never slept so well in a hotel before!

The gym and spa facilities are good and again the staff were very helpful. The jacuzzi in particular was very relaxing after a long day at work!

Breakfast in the morning was again of a very high quality, with plenty of choice and well cooked.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

I got married nearby and had my reception at this hotel. The staff were friendly, there is parking around and there is a nice swimming pool that some of our guests used although I did not get the chance.

Breakfast was good and there was enough space for all of us to sit together.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

About 20 minutes walk from city centre / Great Hall, clean, nicely decorated, free wifi, limited but adequate free parking round the back (oddly, council pay and display parking at the front), breakfast very good quality and quantity, had dinner there first evening, also good. Didn't get round to trying complimentary spa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Good value, and good location for city. It's got a small car park as well.

Nice room and good self service breakfast.. Very helpful staff.

I couldn't get the temperature right in our room - but that was the only small issue I had.

Only stayed the night so didn't eat at the hotel. Not a lot of character, but it was good value so you can't have everything!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilactash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Enjoyed a very relaxing stay at the Winchester. Staff exceptionally helpful and polite - rooms absolutely perfect - we stayed in adjoining rooms (327 and 328) which were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Handy fridge in room and complimentary bottled water. We stayed on a spa package which represented excellent value for money, including three course dinner both nights and full breakfast both mornings, together with two treatments each and full use of hotel facilities (small pool, steam, jacuzzi, gym etc). I can totally recommend this hotel which is in easy walking distance of the town centre and train station. The only small downside is that the car park is quite small and is on a first come first served basis. There is a pay and display car park in addition, which is right outside the hotel but clearly you do not want to have to park there if you can help it. I would absolutely go back here again any time I visited Winchester and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droid0162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 with a friend in a twin room. The room was fairly compact, usual hotel size but the beds were totally to my taste, eg/ soft and the power shower was one of the best I've experienced in a hotel!! We didn't eat here because we had already booked elsewhere but the menu looked good and the bar ambiance was friendly but professional. Breakfast was just right, buffet style but very well presented. We used the spa, it wasn't huge but the staff were great. The pool is more of a plunge pool but we didn't mind, we weren't there for fitness! At only a ten min walk into town and a short walk from the station, this hotel is was perfect for what we wanted and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kestrelsmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

once again we went on a fizz break at the Winchester. we were treated like family when we arrived even when the staff were busy with a large wedding party.Our room was ,as usual, very clean and comfortable and a bottle of fizz and really lovely welcome letter in the room when we arrived.Throughout our stay, the staff we're always on hand and really pleased to see us back,even to remembering our names and our football clubs!,,,can,t wait for the next offer from this family hotel,oh, and the spa was to dye for!!!!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank joycelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
670 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,033 reviews
5.7 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £80 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing