We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

my husband and myself stayed for a night away in April. We checked in at 2pm and room was ready. we were on the ground floor which was a lovely spacious clean room. little cold with air conditioning but sorted by turning off!
The recepionist on checking in was 'in training' and alone on the desk, she didnt really say much and we had to ask about where breakfast was served etc so not a great check in but hotel is lovely and comfy.
we didnt use the pool/spa.
Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it.
we strolled into town for dinner which is a nice stroll and not too far at all,
there was no hotel parking available when we arrived as car park full but this didnt matter at all. we parked directly outside hotel and paid for the remainder of the day £3.50 and then Sunday was free parking so possibly worked out cheaper than using the hotel car park!
great hotel and great place Winchester for a little break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel.

Customer feedback is so important to us and we are very grateful for this.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night over the bank holiday to celebrate our anniversary. We did check in early and reception said that was fine as our room was ready. Our room 1 on the ground floor was very clean and spacious however the location was not great. It was right near the stairs and outside our window was the smoking area so we were woken early with people smoking and chatting. We were also woken by the sound of running water from the upstairs room at 5.30 am. Breakfast is help yourself to fruit, cheese/meats and there is a hot plate for you if you want full English, My husband took advantage of the pool (although small) and steam room which he enjoyed. We did not eat dinner here but went to the local Bangkok Thai which was great. Suggest you park on the public car park at the front of the hotel as cheaper than the hotel parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAFCWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Whilst I am very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay I am very sorry that you were disturbed for part of the evening - and we will of course review how this could have been avoided.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night on the way Brighton. We had a nice size room, comfy bed and large bath which my wife enjoyed.

I thoroughly recommend the Indian (Rimjhim) around the corner. Standing on the pavement and looking in the front of the restaurant doesn't do it justice. Its really nice inside with great food and service.

We had a lovely english breakfast in the morning. It was help yourself with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADR1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed your Breakfast as we take great pride in `setting people up for the day` with a hearty Breakfast,

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night the May bank holiday weekend. When we arrived there was a wedding reception on, we didn't think much of this till the evening when we got back. Our room was obviously right above the dance floor & we could every song word for word. This went on till 11.30. To be fair management did deal with it well & gave us some money of our room. However, I feel they should tell you if there is a wedding. I will in future be asking, as this did ruin our stay somewhat. The room was a good size, very clean with everything you could need. The breakfast was just ok. Also the pool in the spa was very small. Didn't bother me much but if you were coming here just for that it's something to consider!! The location is great for Winchester & although you have to pay to park it isn't a lot. All in all a good stay with some niggles.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ems845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Whilst I am very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay I am very sorry that you were disturbed for part of the evening - and we will of course review how this could have been avoided.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My mum & I stayed her on a 2 night short stay recently and were well impressed with everything about this hotel. I'm not sure if they put us in a room which was obviously suited to anyone with mobility difficulties as they'd seen mum is 90, but we didn't mind one bit (mum is more active than I am by the way!). It was a super room, very spacious and comfortable and the cleaner who we met was lovely and made sure we had everything we needed. The food was excellent, well cooked and HOT, and I've never seen so many staff in a hotel so we were never kept waiting. All the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. An added bonus is the fact that it is within walking distance of the lovely town centre and close enough for a taxi back to cost very little too! We would definitely recommend this hotel and would be more than happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 5. for anyone with disabilities or mobility issues. However this does look directly onto the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeighbOur9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - and hope that you visit us again with your Mum (and all the family !) very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

this was best hotel that we have stayed at in winchester and area,everything was too our satisfaction,service cleanliness food all were excellent,
the room was big and clean and bed was comfortable,
the Spa facilities were excellent

Room Tip: relax and enjoy a good hotel,just a hop and a skip from the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

I am so pleased that you particularly enjoyed our Spa - which we feel is one of the jewels in our crown.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Back again as we did enjoy our stay here last time. Good news, we were greeted with a very professional smiling young lady and check in was smooth and efficient, we didn't eat in last night as we dined at the wonderful "Mr So's Chinese restaurant" breakfast was good with pleasant staff who could not do enough to please us. The rooms are comfortable with efficient temperature control and although the beds are a bit soft for me, I am sure that they are perfect for some people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you chose to revisit us and hope to have the pleasure of your company again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
652 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £79 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing