We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over substance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsbottom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Style over substance!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from a short two night Heritage Break at this hotel it included tickets to the cathedral breakfast on each morning and diner on the first night. The hotel is modern and clean but it just 'lacks something' along the way.

Positives: rooms, if a little dark, were well presented and kept very clean. The spa had a very small pool but had a Jacuzzi along with steam and sauna rooms, and was very clean.

Negatives: We were not impressed with the food. Breakfast had a very wide variety of food but the hot food was cool and had been out a long time so was not very appetizing. The staff did not clear the tables efficiently or replenish things when they had run out. The evening meal was okay but nothing special and again cool food.
The bar prices were very expensive so although there is a lovely terrace to sit on it was empty because people obviously found this a put off.

The staff on the whole were friendly. It takes about ten minutes to walk to the centre of Winchester.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneRamsbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I am very sorry to learn that we did not exceed your expectations in all areas.

Your key criticisms appear to concern food and breakfast and dinner which was not as hot as you would have liked. Whilst I cannot understand why this would be the case (and we have not had any other guest comments of this nature at all) I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this feedback with you further.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    565
    239
    84
    54
See reviews for
203
955
42
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a real find for us. We had a two night visit to Winchester and stayed here B&B. From the start the staff were friendly and attentive. The room was very clean, well decorated and had a fridge. There is a small pool and spa area, which was great at the end of a day sightseeing. There is a small terrace by the bar and you can have breakfast outside as well. We would certainly go again.

Room Tip: You can cut through side streets to get into town rather than walk the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRSbroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

On behalf of the whole hotel team I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon for a return visit.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The receptionist was very unwelcoming! Our suite had been used for a wedding event before hand and was not cleaned at all for our arrival! We were on a fizz break but didn't have the champagne on arrival in our room! We also didn't receive It when we had our evening meal!! The meals were frankly VERY disappointing for a 4* restaurant!! Our meals were included in the price but we ended up eating else where as the meals were appalling! Would definitely NOT recommend to anyone and will NOT be visiting again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us. I have e mailed you directly with a view to discussing your comments in more detail as it is very rare that we receive comments such as these and I would like to understand them in more detail.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel recently for a well deserved break & it certainly didn't disappoint! The staff are incredibly friendly & attentive, the food is excellent & the whole hotel is fresh, clean & modern. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a decent break with a touch of class but not the price!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dontlikemoaningbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The reception was efficient but cold and reflected the corporate nature of the hotel as a whole.
Our room was located close to the spa and this may explain why the room was so hot and airless despite the day not being particularly warm and the air con working overtime. So sticky that a shower necessitated another shower.
Breakfast was a buffet which was ok.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am of course very sorry that you had a less than enjoyable stay with us - which is very rare for any guest and one which I would like to discuss with you further. To this end I have e mailed you directly under seperate cover.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Was served a while back. And received excellent customer service by a young woman with brown hair who showed excellent customer skills as well communication. The food was lovely and will definatetly recommend people to go. I would like to come back and show appreciating back to you young girl again and thank her for really looking after me.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

On behalf of the whole hotel team we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to be able to welcome back to stay with us again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Modern hotel about 10 minute walk from the center.
Room was adequate size but only had a small window and was rather dark. Typically furnished for corporate hotel.
Bar area OK for a quick drink but lacked character
Large selection of food for breakfast buffet - some people ended eating it in the bar area as hotel restaurant is unable to accommodate everyone when busy.
Hotel staff were efficient and friendly
Car parking is expensive - about £7 a day
Horrid faded plastic flowers on trellis outside the hotel mars the appearance of an otherwise perfectly satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5*Hotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing