We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here for a weekend in August 2014 with two other couples. The staff are friendly, the rooms were clean & well kept, the breakfast was well worth having too. It is close to the town centre (5 mins walk max). A very good choice if you are looking for a very good hotel close to town. You do have to pay for parking, which is unusual nowadays, however we already knew this from other reviews, so it wasn't an issue at all. A very good choice if you are looking for a modern, clean, upmarket hotel in walking distance to the town.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimples50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    594
    254
    89
    58
See reviews for
218
1,003
47
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having stayed at this hotel before i thought the high season price would be worth it. Sadly i was wrong. Whilst the evening meal was nice, the breakfast included in the very pricey £160 for the night, was awful. Weak weak coffee and congealed eggs (disgusting) very stressy waiting staff who left one poor solo traveller waiting at her table for 30 minutes!! And such limited selection ..and Shocking Shocking staff attitude :(
My partner and i are looking at wedding venues, so stopped to admire a room that was dressed for a wedding, through the open door!! An incredibly rude and patronising lady member of staff approached us and was very nasty, we were literally in the door way!! What a stupid move on her part as we would now never consider that over priced location for the wedding.
Just because its high season why does service have to go out the window?? I will not go back.

Room Tip: dont choose a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madamebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I have contacted you directly concerning your comments.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for my sons passing out at the local barracks.
We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights and 1 room for 1 night for my son and his girlfriend and baby.
Upon our return after the parade we tried to book my son and his family into their room, the receptionist couldn't find the booking and was matter of fact in telling us there was no booking made, When we showed her the email confirmation she then rang reservations who took a good few mins to check this out only to find they had over looked it? The receptionist came off the phone (at this point we hadn't been informed of the mix up made) While I was at the reception sorting the above out 2 others of our party returned to inform us their keys wouldn't work in the door to their rooms,
My husband went up and tried ours, only to find that wouldn't work. when we asked the receptionist about this she said it was due to us having the cards near our mobiles, seeing that all 3 of us left 1 card in each room in the air con slot and those had also had been stopped this excuse is totally incorrect. they had obviously made a mix up on all our bookings and stopped our cards.Trying to cover the mix up with pathetic excuses was very unprofessional.
Once the room and key error was corrected we was not offered any kind of apology.
My son's room wasn't clean the ripped bedding pubic hairs all-over bathroom floor marks on bath.
At his passing out he proposed to his girlfriend this took the shine from the most amazing day of our lives. The hotel is on a public car park (cheaper to park on that rather then hotel one)however it is full of the local alcoholic tramps who seem to take root in the public toilets also right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Whilst I am pleased that you found our hotel to be lovely (which we think it is also!) I am saddened by your review as a whole.

It is indeed the case that when you first arrived we could not immediately find one of the reserved bedrooms - but this lead to no more than a few minutes delay in checking you in to the hotel with our specific apologies at the time.

Equally I am sorry that you rooms keys stopped working during your stay. I am not sure why this is the case as the issue did not affect any other guests in our very busy hotel but I have asked our engineering department to check this aspect of our building.

Finally - and whilst I fully accept that like any business we do of course get things wrong on occasion - I do not accept your description of your sons bedroom or the area surrounding the hotel. These are both demonstrably not the case.

Equally YOUR OWN description of the hotel as `lovely` would be absolutely at odds with this level of service were it to have been the case.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My other half and I booked a stay at this hotel for our anniversary. The day we were due to arrive at this hotel we received a phone call from the staff to say that there had been a problem with our room because they had double booked it. The lady asked my partner if we were staying for a special occasion and when he told her we were she informed us that we were being upgraded to the Grand Suite free of charge!

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely reception area and polite staff and when we opened the door to our room... wow! I've never stayed in such a beautiful hotel before. It was stunning. Our suite had a living room complete with fresh fruit basket, sofas, 2 arm chairs, a flat screen tv on the wall, a writing desk and a dining area with table and chair. The bedroom was huge and had plenty of storage space and all the amenities and the bathroom was out of this world. It had a massive bath tube with a tv at the end of it in the wall! As well as a separate walk in shower. It was very luxurious. We had breakfast delivered to us by room service the next morning and the lady brought it in and set it up on our table for us.

We enjoyed the spa facilities the next day and both had a massage. This was a first experience for us and to be honest, whilst it was lovely I felt rather odd afterwards, almost panicky but I'm assured that this was the effects of the oil used. But the ladies in the spa were extremely professional and made it a very relaxing experience.

The hotel is ideally located and is in walking distance to the local shopping area. After we had checked out, the reception was kind enough to let us leave our car in the car park for the rest of the day whilst we went shopping.

Overall we had such a wonderful experience in this hotel we will certainly return. Thank you to The Winchester Hotel for making our anniversary very special!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your GREAT review of the hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our third trip to this excellent hotel. The Winchester gets everything right in my opinion even though it cannot be described as the most luxurious nor beautiful location.
The staff are friendly and helpful to a fault and the rooms are kept to a very high standard. The food was outstanding and as part of a 2 day package, was terrific value.
The hotel is extremely well placed for a pleasant walk into the city and is only marginally spoilt by being positioned on the edge of a large municipal car and coach park. There is now a very elegant and comfortable screened terrace to the front of the hotel and the many guests were having a thoroughly good time during our stay. Well done to the management and staff at the Winchester - you deserve every success.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the car and coach park - can be a bit noisy but not especially problematic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your GREAT review of the hotel following your recent return to us once again.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Me and my husband have recently returned after staying at the hotel for one night. The hotel is really nice and close to the main town center of Winchester which is a 15 min walk.

We were upgraded to a club room as we were there for our anniversary which was really nice of them and also had a bottle of prosecco delivered to the room - nice touch.

We didn't get to use the spa facilities but they seemed to be nice enough and I would have used had we had a longer stay.

The hotel has a decent hot and cold breakfast service and a couple of nice restaurants.

There is a charge to park in the car park but it is not very much I think we paid about £7.00 for the one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiesty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your LOVELY review of the hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay - and in particular your Anniversary celebration with us.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well where to start. The hotel was beautiful! I stayed at this hotel for only one night but within my experience I had dinner, breakfast and lunch at the hotel. The service was amazing especially the restaurant staff who went the extra mile! Highly commendable.
If you purchase a deal then you have selected options on the menu though you are able to upgrade if you would like any of the other options.

My booking had a few complications following a miscommunication pertaining to the use of the spa, however these were rectified although we did not experience any therapies in the Spa which we really would have liked to experience.

The downstairs bar was really lovely to have a drink in in the evening and Winchester centre is a short 15 minute pleasurable walk away. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope everyone who visits will also have an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. I only stayed in one room which was lovely, so i do have little to compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -Psycho-Dynamic-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your GREAT review of the hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing