We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed one night 2 August 2013. Booked package including breakfast and 3 course dinner and wine. Excellent value for money. From checking in to leaving, all members of staff were efficient, professional and polite.The restaurant service and food was fabulous. Choice on the menu was good, and the presentation and deivery of food was superb. I visited the spa for a massage and a pedicure. I put my shoes on when the nails were not quite dry. went back the nect day for a touch up which was free of charge. The staff could not do enough for you. the room was modern, bed comfortable, all immaculately clean as was the bathroom. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to this hotel. Location was also easy to find, and just round the corner from the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your GREAT review of the hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    570
    239
    86
    54
See reviews for
209
960
43
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked a one night stopover through Late Rooms and got a very good deal. Based on the price I paid this hotel was excellent - modern, very comfortable bedroom and quite close to the historic centre of Winchester.
The breakfast was included in the deal, which is a good job because it wasn't really up to scratch - hot food from a buffet not as good as a Premier Inn.
Overall however we were very happy and would return if we could get a similar deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel following your recent review with us.

I have to confess to being a little surprised that you felt our Breakfast offering could be improved as this is often cited as one of the highlights of our service to guests but In consideration of your enjoyment of the hotel overall I do very much hope that you will choose to stay with us again when next in the Winchester area.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was fairly anxious about this hotel given the mixed reviews, but was incredibly pleasantly surprised. We visited for a hen spa weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well cared for and staff were all pleasant and helpful. The biggest surprise was the restaurant - the food was incredible! And our package proved to be incredibly good value. I have to say the only thing that was mediocre was the spa aspect, the treatment wasn't the best and I felt it was shorter than expected - but then again I didn't have a stop watch!
I would definitely return just for a food and location of the hotel - both of which were top notch!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your recent review of the hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in July and we loved the hotel. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and professional. Our breakfast experience started the day off perfectly, from the warm and friendly hostess, to the amazing food - we loved everything! Overall, very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend the Winchester Hotel.

Tip to the management - the parking isn't included in the hotel price (which we knew about beforehand) and should be since most people would drive there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your GREAT review of the hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Comfortable hotel - well positioned,clean and modern. Parking is cramped and may not be cheaper than the public spaces in front. Pleasant dinner, but the breakfasts.....! First morning was a bomb site but we were found a table and everything was more or less OK. Despite indicating we were leaving early on the second day we were not offered the take-away option - simple fare but it would have been nice. We only realised this upon checkout when we saw the leaflets. Once I can ignore but not twice - do your job please.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation with us I am sorry that you felt our staff could have been more helpful. We do very prominently display our `Breakfast to go` offer at hotel reception - and have not had this questioned before - but will certainly take your feedback on board.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were told that we had a free upgrade, a nice touch and good start to our excellent long weekend. The bedroom was lovely, a modern flat screen TV, excellent bathroom with fantastic shower and the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in for a long time. The air conditioning in the room was also appreciated given the hot and muggy weather. Breakfast was excellent, lovely fresh fruit and a help yourself buffet for hot food. My wife used the spa and had an excellent time. Winchester is a gorgeous city, our visit was to see our youngest son who has recently moved there; we'll undoubtedly be back. The hotel is in a good location and although others have complained about car parking we didn't find it an issue. We would have given 5 stars were it not for a few minor niggles such as milk not being brought to the breakfast table with the tea/coffee (this happened every morning) and our key card not working a couple of times even though we did make sure they were kept far away from mobile phones and credit cards. Overall a great hotel that I would highly recommend. The staff were excellent and very caring, a real credit to the hotel management.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your GREAT review of the hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are very pleased to learn that you found our staff particularly of service to you.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Do ask for a convenient room because there are 2 different elevators and it's a sprawling place
The staff were not very friendly, sadly, especially in the Spa when I arrived to book a treatment they were already fully booked and had not even a smile to welcome me or recommend somewhere else! "We're full today & tomorrow, sorry," was the curt response. It is true I am used to spa'ing in thailand and dubai where everyone is super friendly but also in london and this was below expectation. It was honestly an awful feeling not to be greeted kindly with a welcome. The ambience is nice inside the hotel and free coffee in the lobby is helpful in the morning. The Wifi is strong throughout. Room was just average, same as you would expect from a hilton or holiday inn. Outside is awful in ambience, it's in a huge coach park. But 10 minutes or less walk to the centre of this lovely cathedral town. Parking £7 a day outside the hotel in the car park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your recent review of the hotel.

I have contacted you directly concerning your comments.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing