We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here recently on a overnight stay and could not have been more pleased from the moment we arrived we received a great welcome from the receptionist followed by a cream tea all included in the price, room was perfect. Then had a meal in the restaurant which was superb and could not be faulted along with an excellent waiter who really knew his stuff.

Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our City and our hotel,

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The staff were brilliant could not do anough for us. Had a great time with the staff! like good friends they were. Always helpful very polite and had a laugh with us too stayed from Thursday 21st through to Tuesday26th of August. Right in the heart of the city walking distance to everything If u ever think of going there do not hesitate just go. Thank u to all that made our stay there very enjoyable.
John & Mary Thiele from Australia

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

Your feedback will mean so much to the team and I will be delighted to share it with them.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This break had not been planned and we booked at the last minute. We were lucky enough to get the Platinum Suite which was amazing. Beautiful interior decor of our room with perfect colour coordination leaving a sense of coolness and tranquility.
Our welcome was super after a crazy journey of stop-start in the Bank Holiday traffic from Gatwick. Very helpful and cheery receptionist.
Regarding food we only had breakfast in the hotel due to other commitments. The manager at breakfast was extremely friendly and informative and the cooked breakfast is on par with the best - obviously quality ingredients.
It is worth knowing that this hotel is a little way out of town but I have to say after dining in the city the walk back was very welcome and really helped to walk off dinner.
I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Winchester.

Room Tip: Our room was superb however I would have preferred a bath alongside the shower. There were tea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewKimberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Organised a hen weekend at this hotel and the service was brilliant even from the initial enquiry. We had an amazing deal which included lunch and bubbly, spa and treatment, dinner, room and breakfast. All was of a high standard and the staff went out of their way to ensure we were looked after throughout the weekend. The spa is perfect for a group of friends with large pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. We also used the gym which is far better than your average hotel gym with loads of machines/equipment. The staff at the spa were particularly friendly and helpful. We got taxis to the pubs (which hotel arranged) and was £4-5 each way. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to organise a hen weekend for relaxation, good food and a not to over the top night out!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amybristolBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We do hope to see you at the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Disappointed that they charge you to stay in the hotel car park,would except it from a budget hotel not a 5* hotel, we stayed there the same time last year and there was not charges them.. I feel the car park should be free after all people are spending money in the hotel... very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

I am sorry that you were disappointed by our parking charges.

We do however feel that these are very reasonable - for example a customer choosing to park with us from a typical arrival time of 2.00pm on the day until the latest check out time the following morning (including the whole overnight period) would be charged £8.40 for those 21 hours (so only 40 pence per hour).

Equally from 6.00pm on Saturday until 8.00am on Monday morning our parking is only charged at 15 pence per hour so that same parking period on a Sunday afternoon running into Monday morning would be a nominal £5.70 for 21 hours.

There is of course lots of alternative parking in the area should customers not wish to use the hotels car park and this is by no means mandatory.

However despite our parking charges I am delighted that you found the hotel to be lovely and we do hope to be able to welcome back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here for around 2 months with work. The hotel itself is really nice, staff friendly and the food was excellent (only downside was that the gym is tiny). If I was staying here for a weekend break I probably would have given it 5* but a few improvements are needed for its business customers;
1. Breakfast is slow. I was always waiting to get a table. Not a problem if you have loads of time but I just wanted to get something quick and head to work. There was also no healthy options on the take away option.
2. Dry cleaning was supposed to be same day but on 2 occasions it came back the following day - leaving me nothing clean to wear for work (not good!!!). A small point but I always had to ring reception to see if it had come back rather than it being dropped off to my room - which most business hotels do. I know this is extremely picky but thought I would point it out
3. I stayed here for 2 months 4 night a week, always got checked in by the same people and yet they STILL didn't know my name.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Doplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

Whilst I am delighted at your comments concerning our staff and food, and indeed the hotel in general - I am very sorry to learn that you did not feel that we recognised you as a regular guest and I have addressed this with our Front Desk team. Equally I would like to thank you for your comments concerning our Dry Cleaning and we have changed the way in which we approach this with immediate effect.

We would very much have welcomed any feedback on your frustrations whilst you were actually staying with us in order that we could have taken immediate action - but please do be aware that your comments have now been listened to and acted upon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a two night break at The Winchester. Had a fantastic, relaxing time. The food was great and staff so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and spacious. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your FANTASTIC review of the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
679 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,044 reviews
5.7 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £80 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing