We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a lunch stop or afternoon coffee”
Review of Tom's Deli

Tom's Deli
Ranked #12 of 204 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Experience the real taste of Italy in the heart of the city for breakfast, lunch, dinner or a quick drink. We also stock a range of traditional Italian specialities, from our deli counter. Take a break from your day with a great atmosphere and great company at Tom's Deli. Our fresh, tasty and flavoursome menu is made from products that come direct from Italy. We're a unique friendly community in the heart of Winchester, where you can meet, network and make friends - echoing the Italian espresso bars of old.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a lunch stop or afternoon coffee”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stumbled on this gem whilst picking up some fish and chips from next door.
A very friendly welcome, lovely ciabattas and a dam good coffee. A great addition to the failing coffee houses of Winchester. My only gripe is it is quite cramped if there are 12 people or so in it. Wouldn't deter me from visiting again. V good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twyfordfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    47
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fab Place”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Three of us read previous reviews so sought out this nice little deli. We had various ciabatta sandwiches which were excellent. The bread in the ciabatta was the best bread I ever had on a sandwich. It was soft but had an excellent light buttery crust on it. Wow. Coffee was excellent too. It's a little gem of a place! I'll go again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pate-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Winchester!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Tom is so welcoming and although there is no hint of an Italian accent, he hasn't lost his Italian charm. We have stopped by for just a coffees and light lunches. Tom serves delicious home made ravioli and pizzas with any chosen toppings. It's good to eat somewhere which isn't part of a huge chain.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MicaelaCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is worth a visit during the day”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely man, the food was great and the company had a lovely local feel. Can not recommend enough !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Italian gem”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this by accident after waiting for service in The Forte Tea Rooms near by, then seeing The Forte's terrible reviews. In contrast, as soon as we walked in to Tom's Deli we were greeted by friendly and knowledgable service. I ordered a double expresso which was excellent whilst my partner ordered a barley coffee which she loved (though I thought it was very odd - no coffee just a barley taste). Although we hadn't intended on eating, the menu looked so appetising that I ordered a Palma ham and mozzarella panini whilst my partner went for minestrone soup. Both were very well presented and extremely tasty. The cafe was buzzing and had lots of entertaining regulars. The staff were perfect. If you're looking for a quick coffee and bite to eat you couldn't get a lot better than this. And you may end up buying a few other bits and pieces from the excellent deli to take away with you too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom's Deli also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Twyford, Winchester
 

Been to Tom's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing