We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A holiday house that felt like home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Watching the sun go down on your own private terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watching the sun go down on your own private terrace
You've arrived! Morning sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Watching the sun go down on your own private terrace
You've arrived!
Morning sun
Heavenly relaxation with an open fire.
Fully equipped, oak and granite kitchen.
At the end of the day.
Everything you need
Shower and steam room
Candle lit steam room to indulge in
Fine linen and towels to Hang Your Hat with
Relaxation is key
Through the looking glass
Browse in the study
Interesting features
A historical relic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Winchester, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A holiday house that felt like home!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage was perfectly located to explore Winchester. Mike was very helpful in supplying directions, parking permits and recommendations for pubs/restaurants. The cottage itself was very well equipped with everything from kitchen staples to a Christmas tree and a bottle of bubbly to see in the new year! We totally relaxed and we were able to enjoy our sight seeing knowing that we had a cosy base to return to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
7
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonathan...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
4
people found this review helpful

This is my second time booking Hang Your Hat. The property is very well appointed and the owner is very helpful and keen to receive constructive feedback. First time I stayed there was no vegetable steamer but it had arrived by the second time! Little extras make it a luxurious place to stay.

Very convenient for central Winchester and a nice quiet location with charming back garden. Whilst it is permit parking, I have never had a problem getting a space in the three weeks I've spent here in total.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
A fine review from a fine guest. Always happy to hear about things that can improve the experience of guests at Hang Your Hat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8tystar
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perfect Wknd escape”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Great host and cottage. Easy parking, and didnt touch the car all wknd. So close to town with great chilled places for drinks brunch lunch & dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howesbets...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy, tranquil place near the city center”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This really is a special place, tastefully furnished and fully equipped, on a charming street an easy walk from the heart of beautiful Winchester. Definitely recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you Betsy, delightful guests. Hang Your Hat would be most happy to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack D
1 review
“A cottage with style”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

My wife and I throughly enjoyed our stay at hang your hat.It is set in a fantastic position for the town centre with its great choice of restaurants and bars.The welcome we received from the owner was very good and Nigel was in no rush to get away and ran through the history of the cottage.
On departure I left my iPad behind and Nigel very kindly sent this on to me very swiftly.
Thanks Nigel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieandC...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top quality holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A really lovely cottage, high quality fixtures and fittings. Lot's of care and attention has been given to make your stay feel special. Steam room was really good, and a splendid open fire with plenty of wood, particularly in November.The owner Nigel kept in touch before we travelled and met us on arrival, he is easy going and welcoming. Great location in a quiet street close to the centre of Winchester. Parking is the only issue, but you get given a permit and can find a spot not too far away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious comfort.
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing