We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and quiet 'chambre d'hote' near city...”
other travellers have booked this property
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
The en suite shower room Our dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
The en suite shower room
Our dining area
Typical breakfast at Hardy House
Staircase to the guest room
Breakfast table in the garden, with the park beyond
Entrance to our house
View to the city centre taken from the park, just a few steps from our house
Winchester's medieval high street is car-free
Three of our guests!
Two of our guests travelling by tandem from Australia to France!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchester, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael S
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet 'chambre d'hote' near city centre”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It's a charming room in a new extension to Victorian house: well equipped and with good quality fittings, including fascinating range of pictures. The situation s very quiet, though only a 10/15 minute walk to Winchester centre (takes longer coming back!) The owners were very friendly and welcoming - as were their dogs - and we enjoyed breakfast with quality cereals and fresh fruit and yogurts. Despite the labelling, this is NOT a holiday rental - no possibility for cooking or storing food. And it was strange that in a three day stay our towels were not changed, and we had to ask to have our tea-cups washed! But we enjoyed staying there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. As we are a B&B in a private home - and not a hotel - we unfortunately can't offer towel changes or room service such as washing up cups left in the bedroom! In fact, we respect our guests' privacy, so we never enter their bedroom during their stay unless specifically requested.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skds
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice clean and peaceful”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Good communication before and an easy very pleasant stay. Felice was friendly and nice to chat with. Very well located close to the town. Will recommend to friends and family and hopefully stay again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Light and airy house and bedroom
Liked least: Room had tea but no coffee milk or spoon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
So sorry, but I've only just seen your very nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us - do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica055
Epping Essex
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stylish, comfortable and a great location”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It isn't easy to find good but reasonably priced accommodation in Winchester. I was delighted to come across this recent addition to the owner's property. Inside the main front door but up a separate staircase to a stylish, spacious room with cleverly fitted bathroom. Lovely outlook over the garden from two large windows and a light, comfortable double room. A delicious breakfast and we enjoyed meeting our hosts who described themselves as 'enthusiastic amateurs' at taking paying guests. Makes a nice change from the hardened hostesses you often encounter! The location is great, a quiet area near a path down through the park to the city centre. It would suit most people and is infinitely better than the faded chintz guest houses where you whisper over the toast rack at breakfast. We were made very welcome and it was very relaxed, most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The contemporary comfort and warm welcome
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
It was a pleasure having you both to stay in our house. Do come back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing