We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catch

Catch
Ranked #113 of 200 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Came by yesterday lunchtime and enjoyed a great portion of f&c, large portions and HOT and CRISPY. Had to mention It being hot and crispy as so so many chippies fall short at this point but not at 'Caught'.Very friendly staff and service and PROPER cutlery, not 'yer piddly plastic' that snaps on the first chip or bit of batter it encounters, and if ever a portion of f&c was to test plastic cutlery, this would be it. Eatery of choice in Winchester? Caught everytime!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    7
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Ever Fishh & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

When it comes to Fish and Chips at "CAUGHT" in Winchester UK, it is the Best Ever. None can compare to the preparation and the fine taste of their Fish and Chips. Added to the fine taste, one gets another perk which is the friendly atmosphere of the people. The way the F&C is served adds to the experience. The people have a special good attitude and sincerity which creates a true comfort level.
We went to Winchester with another American couple since there was a ship's cruise tour to Winchester Cathedral. It was easy to walk to from the Cathedral and opens at 12 noon.
I recommend this wonderful treat to anyone who wants to enjoy a delightful lunch of Fish and Chips. Please note that they have a daily Senior Citizen special as On a scale of 10 (being the best), CAUGHT qualifies for an "11" !
They are located at 66 St Georges Street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Fish and Chips plus warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited Winchester on a cruise tour, and my wife and i and our friends wanted fish and chips.
We saw the review here, and made a bee line for Caught. We were not disappointed.
The fish and chips were wonderful, and the staff was most delightful. Two thumbs up from the four Floridians. This place was fantastic!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“YOU CAN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN BEST!....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

....... and that is what Caught is. Fresh fish in a crisp and golden batter, twice fried fluffy centred chips done to perfection. I have fish and chips, mainly in sometimes expensive restaurants about once a month. Never have I had them anywhere near the perfection of Caught's. All topped with excellent and cheerful service. 11 out of 10

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waysider321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely food, awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Went on reccomendation of a friend and although the food was lovely the server was rude and dismissive. Won't be going back after being ignored and rudely spoken to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank readyornot2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHCaught, Owner at Catch, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Sorry to hear that you received poor service on your recent visit to our Winchester branch. We are conducting an investigation into this matter and would appreciate it if you would be able to help by letting us know the date/day of your visit and, if possible, a brief descripion of the staff member in question.

Good customer service is something we take pride in and anything less is unacceptable to us. We very much appreciate you bringing it to our attention and will strive to ensure there will not be any repeats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing