We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend”

31 Queens Road - Winchester
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
31 Queens Road - Winchester
Ranked #26 of 54 Winchester B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed in the twin room with my daughter for 2 nights so we could visit the Christmas market.
We arrived earlier than planned but Kate the housekeeper was in and happy for us to park and leave our car.
Our room was small but big enough for what we needed, tea/coffee making facilities in room with plenty to last. We had TV which gave us decent channels and also WiFi, our bathroom was across the landing but as other 2 rooms had en-suite it was only us using it.
Breakfast was continental style with plenty to choose and the house was decorated for Christmas which was lovely.
Both the owner Richard and housekeeper Kate were friendly and helpful giving us information on getting into town and nice places to shop. Thank you for a very friendly welcome, hope to be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've been staying at 31 Queens Road on & off for 12 weeks as I've been in between lodgings and moving south to Winchester. This B&B was perfect for me, great value for money, well decorated and spotlessly clean. As other reviewers say Richard is a great host, welcoming, friendly & there when you need him! I preferred the front double as the largest room but the back double can be a little quieter during 'term time' as sometimes the students can be a little boisterous down this road! Overall I thoroughly recommend this B&B in Winchester, the hotels can be so expensive and when this level of accommodation is on offer - no need.

Room Tip: Front double bigger but can be noisy, back double smaller but quieter, both have ensuite. The twin d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Drove straight to the house after a few frustrating hours trying to park in Winchester on a Saturday afternoon - we'd started from Wolverhampton and I didn't use a map, just a mental note to head for the Hospital and University. The cathedral was OK, as cathedrals always are but we escaped from our 1/2 hour guided tour after an hour(!) and it still hadn't finished. Strolled up the hill to see the Round Table and castle remains and then drove out of the City to Romsey. Even at 5 pm we were greeted enthusiastically by a 'Friend' at The Abbey and invited to take our time and explore. What a lovely, peaceful place to quietly stroll around a 1,000 year old church. It is large and impressive - and then we came across Earl Mountbatten's grave and I knew why I remembered Romsey, A few minutes respect around the grave and we went back to No.31.
The Pub at the top of the road was bedlam but we enjoyed a noisy meal there - Tip, try to avoid the day when all the students come to University after their Hols! We recommend No.31as a comfortable base with a friendly, efficient host and a great breakfast.

Room Tip: The double room at the front isn't noisy despite a view of the Hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolverhamptonVideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed at 31 Queens Road in December as a group of 6 for a Christmas weekend break.

We had all 3 rooms, all of which were immaculate and very clean. The breakfasts were lovely with a good selection of cereals, toast and croissants etc.

A lovely weekend away and thanks again to Richard for making us feel so welcome and relaxed, we will hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandDave25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were warmly welcomed to this very clean and brightly lit guesthouse. The small double room was excellent for our two night stay and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was a good and varied continental style; help yourself from the fridge to cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc.

Although a 15 minute walk to the centre of Winchester, there are plenty of buses if necessary.

To sum up : the atmosphere was very easygoing and relaxed and yet it is professionally run by Richard. If we have the pleasure of staying in Winchester in the future we would choose this guesthouse again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOUCHWOOD05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I was in Winchester for a week doing some work and found 31 Queen's Road a comfortable and welcome place to stay. I wasn't able to get the internet reliably in my room and some of the tv channels were a bit patchy, but it was a comfortable room and a good, basic breakfast. Richard was also very kind about letting me use his microwave and gave me some LemSip when I came down with a bit of a head cold. He also recommended some touristy things to do in Winchester.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atallyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My sister and I stayed there for 3 nights, and the service could not have been better. Our room was really tiny, but the place was spotless, and Jill's breakfast was really good. The place was a few blocks from the bus stop, and a 20 minute walk to the train station. It felt like we were staying with relatives. Relatives that we liked!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabnougat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#10 of 54 in Winchester
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Northbrook Arms
Northbrook Arms
#8 of 54 in Winchester
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cricketers Inn
The Cricketers Inn
#13 of 54 in Winchester
93 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Itchen Abbas
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 31 Queens Road - Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 31 Queens Road - Winchester

Property: 31 Queens Road - Winchester
Address: 31 Queens Road, Winchester SO22 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 31 Queens Road - Winchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 31 Queens Road - Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing