We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming from Portsmouth everyday there is no other way of...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Winchester M3
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Coming from Portsmouth everyday there is no other way of getting to this Days Inn other than the motorway which took an hour and a half irritating as of course no accommodation at Winchester North. We probably will not stay here any longer than one night stay.Most other Days Inn offer money off for breakfast at Moto Service Stations this would have helped.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

1. Information did not state that access was ONLY from the southbound carriageway. (Other similar situations have local cross motorway access.) Thus we arrived with negative attitude to Days Inn)
2. The road noise was worse than usual for a motorway stopover.
2. Lavatory cistern did not work properly
3. chipped bath

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I really enjoyed my 2 day stay at the days inn. the staff were exceptional and very accomodating . The proximity of the days Inn to the m3 , Southampton and Winchester was ideal. I would definatly stay in the Hotel if I was in the area again.
Sheila

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We checked in and ten mins later checked out. There was a dreadful stink in the room and the receptionist said it was dog pee - and said it was the same in his room! Shortly after we found the toilet was blocked and unusable. When we checked out the receptionist marked the room as out of order - so why were we given it in the first place? The receptionist tried to book us in another Days Inn hotel but that receptionist would not answer the phone!

I would not dream of booking into a Days Inn hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before an obstacle course competition nearby. We wanted somewhere cheap but decent enough for a good night's sleep. Paid £100 for a room that fits 4 adults (1 queen, 2 single). In summary, the room is good enough for what we wanted it to be.

Pros:
1. Good sized room with TV.
2. No problems with showers and hot water.
3. Comfortable pillows and beds.
4. It was quiet when we were there.
5. Cheap Breakfast at the Services - only £3.99 or £4.99 for full English breakfast.
6. Overall good value I feel.

Cons:
1. It's in a services southbound on the M3, so, if you're staying for a couple of days and want a night out in Winchester, you need to travel north up to Junction 8 then back down again. I didn't have to do this so can't tell you how long it takes, but thought I should mention it. Looks far on the map.

So basically if you're stopping by for a rest before continuing your journey south - fine. If you're staying one night to go somewhere nearby - fine. But not an ideal place I think to use as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay here not realising how far this place was from Winchester. A taxi back after 11pm cost £80 as you have to drive up to a further exit to then come back down the south road to get to the junction turn off. Nightmare!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Unfortunately during some of the hottest days of the year and this hotel doesn't have aircon. What is does have is an arrangement with the services (Eat & Drink Co.) where you get at Traditional Breakfast for £3.99 instead of £6.50 if you show your room key.

The main drawback was the distance you had to travel to get back. If you're just passing through going south then there are no problems but if you leave and want to return it's a 24 mile round trip to Junction 9 then back up to 7 before heading south again as there is no service road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
51 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Winchester M3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Winchester M3

Address: Winchester Motorway Service Area - Winchester Services Shroner Wood | M3, Winchester SO21 1PP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Winchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range: £33 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Winchester M3 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the M3 Southbound Services between junctions 8 and 9, Days Inn Winchester offers free parking and a 24-hour front desk. The hotel is just 6 miles from Winchester, and 12 miles from Southampton. All rooms at Days Inn Winchester feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer and alarm clock. Children under 12 years can stay free at Days Inn. The nearby Costa Coffee, Burger King, and Eat and Drink Company offer guests a wide range of dining within the Moto Services Area. Winchester Cathedral and Winchester Rail Station are 30 minutes' drive away, and Basingstoke can be reached in 20 minutes by car. Marwell Zoo is also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Winchester M3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Winchester m3 Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing