We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dorchester of B&Bs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giffard House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Giffard House
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
la Chartre sur le Loir
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Dorchester of B&Bs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Because I am a bit disabled I need a room with a walk in shower and the only hotel in town that had one wanted £200 oplus breakfast plus vat. Thanks to Trip Advisor I found Giffard House, and what a find! Room 11 was perfect and not as a previous member said "noisy and too small"
Whilst not palatial it had all you could want - great beds (I am an osteopath so know about these things), a small but perfect bathroom with walk in shower, good toiletries and, joy oh joy, huge, soft towels.

Peter was so helpful as we changed the length of our stay several times and provided a couple of large G & Ts within minutes of our arrival after a long journey from central France. Yvonne supplied sandwiches at odd hours and the friend who did breakfast when Peter was away did a sterling job with a smile and amusing quips. The dog and the pet bird were fun, morning papers in the sitting room aand a real English breakfast cooked to perfection and that was a real treat for an ex-pat.

This well restored and comfortable Victorian house is the place to stay in Winchester, walking distance to the shops and historic buildings and minutes from many bars and restaurants.

We were in Winchester for a wedding and stayed for a few extra days of sightseeing and would not stay anywhere else when we return. All this including free wifi, tea and coffee with biscuits and a table laid in the bar if you want to order a take a way meal: the cost? £115 a night with free, secure parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docgarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    56
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
177
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you are visiting Winchester this hotel is a 'gem' we have stayed many times but I feel I must write a review to share the unique experience. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city centre so you can leave you car in the secure car park and explore on foot. The hotel is a wonderful Victorian property with many features bedrooms are extremely comfortable and have all amenities including superb en suites everything is first class and spotless. Breakfast is served in a wonderful room and is amazing you will not need to eat until the evening!!!!! The hotel offers a welcome from all the staff and I can honestly say it is my favourite place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Rocks, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This B&B is truly terrific.
Arrived mid afternoon, room was ready.
Everything was immaculate.
Jumbo sized white fluffy bath sheets.
Everything you could possibly want in the bathroom.
Lovely bed. We knew the Southampton to London mainline was close but were not disturbed by train noise, even with an open window.
The owner recommended a good local restaurant and booked it for us.
Breakfast was just perfect.
Parking is free, unlike several hotels in Winchester.
Allow 15 minutes to stroll up to the centre of town.
If you are planning a stay in Winchester then the Giffard should be you first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

An excellent location just a 10 minute gentle walk to the City Centre and the Cathedral. It has it's own car park which is a bonus so once there you can leave the car where it is. The hotel itself is a bit like a B&B in that you let yourself in and out and the bar is not staffed the whole time but the owners will sell drinks when they are there. You can order a drink if you go out and want one when you get back and they will leave it out for you. We had a standard room which felt a bit small but it was extremely clean and had everything you could wish for including a good rain shower! Coffee and tea facilities were provided in each room and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of freshly prepared food. Tv and wifi worked, in short no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in one of the cheapest double rooms. It was excellent; clean, comfortably furnished, well appointed and quiet. I think the rooms on the rear may have been noisier due to the railway line at the back of the hotel.
The staff were very pleasant and overall the premises were most comfortable.
The breakfasts were well cooked with a good choice of menu. Our only comments are; firstly we felt it a bit strange that no choice of fruit juice was readily available, only apple juice on the tables. We asked for orange juice (which we prefer) both days but it only appeared on our first day! Why not have a choice on a side table/sideboard for guests to help themselves as most B&Bs do? Secondly, the breakfast room contains only 3 small tables (2 person) and 2 large (6 person) tables. As the majority of guests are presumably couples more 2 person tables and less large tables would be preferable. (Small tables can always be moved together for larger groups after all)!
Overall though a very pleasant stay and we would certainly recommend this establishment to others, especially as it provides ample on site parking and is a genuine 10 mins. walk from the centre of the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the hotel if you think the railway at the rear will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genneteil, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

...even when our party arrived after 10-30 at night, the bar was opened especially for us ( after a long journey). Bedrooms are lovely, beds a bit firm for my taste but I can't complain...just be aware; complimentary drinks and biscuits in the rooms with lovely teasets to drink out of.
Breakfast was lovely. It was nice to meet the animals as well as the humans. We spent two nights here and would most definitely return if the occasion arises.
Wifi was good when it worked but several of our party had trouble logging on from time to time.

Room Tip: All good, trains run at the back, but not between 11pm and 7am .... Or at least we didn't hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kangalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was a very pleasant hotel, however, as a solo traveler I was given the smallest room on the very top floor. Although small, the room was well appointed with a great shower. Breakfasts were very good, although the staff seemed a little flustered with my request for a bagged lunch. Very convenient for walking to all of Winchester's main attractions, but on a quiet residential street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giffard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giffard House

Property: Giffard House
Address: 50 Christchurch Road | St Cross, Winchester SO23 9SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Giffard House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Giffard Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing