We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience with character”
Review of The Westgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westgate
Ranked #12 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent experience with character”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Location at the top of the high street, made really welcome on arrival as if we were frienda rather than guests the bed was comfy and the old furniture sits well with the character of the location. Breakfast was bespoke and well worth waiting for (20 minutes) as you knew it was being cooked to order - will definately stay again - parking across the road in an undeground car park was free as it weas new years eve - very close to the station if you come by train - 400m Service was excellent throughout

Room Tip: keats has an enormous bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolli25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    62
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
21
83
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent a wonderful night at the Westgate. Its location proved to be one of the best in Winchester. We were in town for a night and just wanted to see the sights. The hotel was an easy 3 min. walk to all the restaurants, high street, and cathedral making it perfectly situated for our night out. The staff was also very friendly and welcoming. They instantly made us feel like one of the gang, providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere the second we walked through the door. If your looking for a place that feels homey and unpretentious you'll enjoy the Westgate. We certainly did.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for one night in September - a really great find.
Walkable from the train station.
Friendly staff and a great choice of cooked and cold dishes for a hearty breakfast.
We stayed in the Napoleon room which looked attractive/romantic, although was a little dark, and had a great view over the Westgate.
No noise from the pub but a little from the street, although not really a problem.
No car park on site but nearby pay and display had cheap 24hour rates so not a problem.
Best thing about it is it's very central and easy to walk to nearby shops and restaurants and the cathedral.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

good value, and great location. excellent breakfast. staff very friendly and helpful, especially after car broke down after checking out. Nice clean room and comfy bed. Stairs and landing carpet could do with replacing and is quite narrow .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting some friends in Winchester, it's pretty cheap so wasn't expecting it too much. The room was dated but it wasn't dirty, the bed was comfy and clean. The staff were very friendly, they also include a really good breakfast with the room, I had full english and it was great and the staff serving were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great location within easy walking distance of Winchester town centre. It is on a main road so can be noisy with traffic. Room was fine, clean and comfortable. Hallways could do with new carpets and stairs are narrow and uneven so not suitable for those who are less mobile. The breakfast was a highlight. There was a great choice and the English breakfast was generous and good quality. The price is not excessive given the location.

Room Tip: Napoleon room was large and clean but overlooked the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess_n_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Booked two rooms ,Very shabby for what has a 4 star AA sign outside. Bar area was acceptable Carpet on stairs had hole in , dirty walls , windows. Bedroom was very shabby and dirty, carpet and bed base badly worn. Bed linen was clean and bed comfortable Blinds on window filthy.Wardrobe was falling apart and one door wouldnt shut.Cup and saucer had stain in. The bathroom was clean and plenty of towels, there were opened bottles of shampoo and conditioner left on side. Breakfast was good and kitchen clean. Staff were very good. Overpriced for what it was. Booked and paid on line, if we hadnt we would have walked out im afraid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate

Property: The Westgate
Address: 2 Romsey Road, Winchester SO23 8TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the historic Winchester High Street and a mere stone's throw from the legendary King Arthurs Round Table sits the redeveloped, prestigious and good-looking Westgate Pub with Rooms. Here at The Westgate we have gone further than just giving it a lick of paint... A short trot from the bustling city centre we strive to give every guest that walks through our doors the warm feeling of a home away from home. With a good old fashioned helpful bartender attitude, a funky, modern yet British pub kitchen and a light and airy vibe that continues throughout the pub and rooms. We hope you like what we have done as much as we do. We have created a versatile encompassment, ideal for all sorts of adventures that start, or finish, in Winchester. A place for work, rest, fun or families. Team Westgate really thought about the important things in life. A quiet drink, a good old fashioned knees up, romantic dinners, festive feasts, business trips and quiet getaways. This is a very exciting time in this corner of beautiful Winchester. The buzz surrounding the building during the work has been infectious throughout the city and now that we are open, we hope you feel we got it just right. Team Westgate look forward to seeing you and even more to welcoming you back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing