We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to Eat & Stay in Winchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vine
Ranked #2 of 54 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great place to Eat & Stay in Winchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights..Highly recommended.The rooms are very good and the food and staff are excellent.
A very enjoyable Breakfast served to you at your table,which is a nice change from a Buffet.
Very good orange juice,fresh fruit salad,yogurt and a very high quality "full english" cooked breakfast with granary bread toast makes for a good start to the day!
You can see the fresh supplies for the 8 Chefs in the Kitchen, being delivered each day in the morning.Lovely looking leeks,plum tomatoes,salad items,potatoes etc
The Restaurant is very popular with Locals and Visitors, and it is advisable to reserve a table whether you want it in the Bar or Restaurant.
The owners of The Old Vine are on site to ensure that everything runs smoothly,which it did when we were staying there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmandise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks very much! So pleased you enjoyed your visit, thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    63
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
189
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longre, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

From the start of our stay we were well looked after by the staff who couldn't have been more helpful, giving us detailed instructions on where we could park using the parking permit that was issued by the hotel. Our room, Zoffany, was fantastic, so spacious, with lovely bed linen, roomy bathroom and view over the green to the Cathedral. There was a little fridge with soft drinks which were complimentary. We booked into the restaurant for our first night and the food was delicious. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. If ever I was back in Winchester I would be back here like a shot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you! We really appreciate the lovely review, we're delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

OMG. the liver with onion gravy is fabulous. We really recommend this venue. The clientele is very mature 50 + and upwards that has been our observations and we have visited a number of times. We would definitely go again. Great location .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blueskies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the calves' liver, it's certainly a very popular dish at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in the Osbourne and Little room and were really pleased with our choice. The room overlooked the Cathedral close and was very large and elegantly furnished. We had a wonderful breakfast brought to our room by two very polite and pleasnt ladies.
The bar downstairs was really nice and the food in the restaurant excellent.
This is one of the best places we have stayed in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpystickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had already been to the Old Vine for lunch on a few occasions when visiting Winchester and knew how good the food is, but when looking around for a place to stay, and have dinner on my wedding day, i kept seeing The Old Vine repeatedly, and consistantly come up with positive reviews, both online, and through friends. As were getting married in Winchester it was really a no-brainer where we would choose. I am delighted to say i had no regrets, the staff were fabulous, i spoke with Ashton who booked our room for the night, one for our guests, and reserved the courtyard room for our bijou do, (the main restaurant area can be booked for larger event's/parties but as my wedding party was made up of 6 of us including Bride & Groom, the courtyard was more appropriate). Ashton then put me in touch with his events manager Belinda who with her staff decorated The Courtyard Room, and had it all prepared, the chilled champagne and cake on display ready, when we came back from our wedding ceremony, and having all the photo's taken. I had zero stress as everything had been taken out of my hands and i have to say they made the room look lovely. I was really impressed at the effort they made even though they knew it was only a very low key wedding. The meal itself was delicious, 4 of us had the steak which we all wanted different ways and not only were we given what we asked for (2 well done's, i medium, i rare), but it was cooked so we all got our food at the same time. The chicken and mussels dishes got good feedback from two of my guests. The puddings and starter's were also very nice, especially the indulgent chocolate box. The presentation and service were also very good, great selection of wines which we had "a bottle or two" of with dinner. After a a champagne toast, cutting of the cake, and a delightful meal we retired to the rooms we booked. The rooms are elegant, large, and come with very good facilities. We stayed in the Osborne & Little Room, and our two of our guests stayed in the Zimmer & Rhodes Room. Coffee/Latte/Cappuccino machine, selection of quality tea's, fridge stocked with fresh juice, and mineral water, even biscuits. The rooms and the on-suite bathrooms with showers were immaculate and pleasant to look at. The bed was very comfortable, something i always appreciate when away from home. Because we had to leave for the airport the following day for our Honeymoon, we decided to have our breakfast served in out rooms. Again we were not disappointed, a generous, well cooked, clean full English with toast, condiments, and fresh tea, and coffee was brought to us. I really cannot find a single fault with anything, and i am so glad i choice to stay here. Both my Husband and I will be returning in the near future to stay overnight again, and book in for dinner. Anyone visiting Winchester should seriously consider coming here, even if your accommodation is already booked, have a meal, you will not regret it. It is a stones throw from the Cathedral and the museum, literally a 2 minute walk from the high street. Its in a brilliant location, yet peaceful, and quite. Finally huge thank you to The Old Vine, and the staff who really made my little wedding special.

Room Tip: We loved the Osbourne & Little Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Louise, thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments, it was an absolute pleasure to host your special day, we're so pleased you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for one night in this delightful hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were elegant, comfortable and furnished with everything we could need. The staff were helpful, charming and very efficient and we were made to feel very welcome. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. The major advantage of The Old Vine is its central position and the ability to walk to all the main sights. We particularly appreciated the free parking voucher and the excellent directions. We can recommend this hotel highly and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Old Vine is very centrally located, and in fact one of the rooms - The Design House suite - has a cathedral view. We're also close to all the shops, bars and restaurants, as well as tourist attractions such as the Great Hall. It's also the perfect stopover on a walk along the South Downs Way, or for those on their way to Southampton for a cruise. Once again thanks for your comments I'll pass them on to all concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The wife and I could not believe how nice this hotel was.What a surprise we we arrived.it was better than the photos and what a great spot.What a charming hotel.The meals where fantastic and the staff where so friendly and helpfully.we will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you! It's a long way from Australia to Winchester, but we hope you'll be back to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vine

Property: The Old Vine
Address: 8 Great Minster Street, Winchester SO23 9HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vine 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historic Winchester this charming eighteenth-century inn boasts five superbly appointed guest rooms, offering a superior level of comfort in stylish yet warm and restful surroundings. Four AA stars (Highly Commended for 2012); Hampshire Hospitality Award-winners since 2006 for the quality of food and drink; Cask Marque accredited for the quality of real ales. We're also in the Good Beer Guide! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vine Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing